Posted

May takes Naughton.

Should Tomlinson take Bruce or should it be Lever?

Both Tomlinson and Bruce haven't been in form but Bruce does have the ability to turn it on against us.

What should we do?

If Wallis plays out of the square May might go to him. Lever is prob better for Naughton. Gotta make sure they can’t move it as easily as they did into their f50 and hopefully that negates most of the difficulties our defence will have.

1 hour ago, Gorgoroth said:

If Wallis plays out of the square May might go to him. Lever is prob better for Naughton. Gotta make sure they can’t move it as easily as they did into their f50 and hopefully that negates most of the difficulties our defence will have.

May to Naughton, Tomo to Bruce and I reckon Pig will get Wallis mate.

2 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

I'd say May would go to Naughton.  He is their number one forward and May is our number one backman.  

Tomlinson would then go to Bruce, and then Lever can zone off from there.  

Their forward line certainly looked more potent on the weekend, but that can be attributed to the massive turd the Crows dumped up there more than anything else.  Naughton certainly helps but our defence has been sublime for quite some time now.  I think we can more than handle them.

Doubt Bruce comes in, he's been pretty ordinary and a week off would not seem enough. Unless they bring him in to make our defenders defend.

Naughton is a beauty. May will have the speed, but not sure we have anyone who has the aerial agility for him.

Not sure the dogs will play like they did two weeks in a row

41 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Be that as it may Bruce always kicks a couple of goals on us. 

2015: 1.1 & 1.0

2016: 3.0 & 2.0

2017: 1.0 & 1.1

2019: 2.0 & 4.0

their version of Daryl Sutton

Edited by chook fowler

Wouldn't be playing Tomlinson. 

I think Bruce will come back. They didn't have a second ruck yesterday, rucking Dunkley and Macrae at times.

There was a report English rolled his ankle. If he's not 100% fit, they're taking a big risk rucking him and some midfielders against Preuss or, worse for them, Gawn.

Bruce has looked slow, disinterested and out of shape this season...probably pencil him in for a bag a 6 this week then

Aside from one six goal game against the struggling Kangas, Bruce has been dreadful this year. You wouldn't think there'd be much chance of Bruce coming into a team that kicked 110+ points yesterday.

His only shot might depend on the fitness of English who rolled his ankle at the end of yesterday's game and may not be 100% for this weekend. I think Macrae was rucking for them at times yesterday, so they could definitely use some extra assistance in that department.

Wallis is one who is having a small purple patch. Plays like Hunt.. in front and chest marks with decent accuracy.

Best prevention strategy.... good zone defence at 35 -45 metre mark.

2 hours ago, Demonland said:

Be that as it may Bruce always kicks a couple of goals on us. 

2015: 1.1 & 1.0

2016: 3.0 & 2.0

2017: 1.0 & 1.1

2019: 2.0 & 4.0

That was my recollection as well.

4 hours ago, ErmieJones said:

May to Naughton, Tomo to Bruce and I reckon Pig will get Wallis mate.

Forgot about Hibberd.

4 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

I'd say May would go to Naughton.  He is their number one forward and May is our number one backman.  

Tomlinson would then go to Bruce, and then Lever can zone off from there.  

Their forward line certainly looked more potent on the weekend, but that can be attributed to the massive turd the Crows dumped up there more than anything else.  Naughton certainly helps but our defence has been sublime for quite some time now.  I think we can more than handle them.

Until yesterday Wallis has been their best forward, and watching it and hearing what they were saying May certainly would suit but I reckon he will play further up than May would want. I’d be happy with May on either as I think both are dangerous. Wallis should have had 3-5 yesterday

May has to take Naughton.

Bruce is terrible. If he plays, I'd suggest Hibbert.

Wallace is more problematic. Perhaps Lockart would get the first crack at him. If he gets off the leash, then perhaps Harmes, then Hibbert?

since when did Tomlinson become a defender? not sure why his name is even being mentioned to be honest.

There are players that just like playing against us and Bruce has been that in the past, having said that the defensive structure is working at the moment so I think you back Tomlinson in. 

Maybe instead of one of their cutting us to shreds it’ll be one of our big lads getting a bag. 

19 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

since when did Tomlinson become a defender? not sure why his name is even being mentioned to be honest.

Do you watch the games? He’s played CHB for the last 3 games.