Matsuo Basho 1,053 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 (edited) ... would complete the humiliation. Preliminary finalists to bottom 2 just 15 games later. If you can find a worse capitulation by any club in the AFL era of the past 30 years please let us know. I can’t recall one. Heads must roll if we lose this and begin competing for the wooden spoon with the Bad News Suns. If not Goodwin then a slew of names within the footy department responsible for the debacle. This situation is a disgrace to the Melbourne Football Club. To its history, to those who once toiled to make it great and to the loyal members and supporters who help fill its coffers. The people responsible for this disgrace are not fit to represent the jumper. They should hand in their resignation papers tomorrow. This is as bad as it gets people. Wake up. Edited June 30, 2019 by Matsuo Basho Quote
whatwhat say what 23,862 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 it doesn't matter it's no different to our recent history under northey is the only time we were a consistently good side, and even then it was only for five seasons we've been a routinely appalling side for coming up six decades; it's hardly inconsistent 4 Quote
At the break of Gawn 4,514 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 Carlton are playing a no nonsense style of footy and it’s working for them. We’ll lose by 4 goals. 1 Quote
John Demonic 5,988 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 (edited) Carlton should've beaten us in 2017 when Lewis threw a punch at Cripps and shifted the momentum. The year before in 2016, we had a chance to make finals and Carlton smashed us in round 21. We've never really been as far ahead of them as we all would've liked to think. It all clicked last year against weaker teams, but the weaker teams have improved far more this year. Preliminary Finals, yeah we caught a break with a month of footy with two dead-rubbers and games against two stale old champion sides that needed a hard reset because they lost to a team like us. Heck, even 2017 had better wins against Adel, WCE & Collingwood. 2018 we actually slid against the best teams if you look at how we played v Collingwood and couldnt beat a top 8 team all year. So I really don't think a loss to Carlton takes us back any further than we are. We already know that Carlton have been able to take it up to us in all but 1 year of the past 5. We've always played dumb chaotic footy, nothing changes with a loss to the Blues. Edited June 30, 2019 by John Demonic 1 Quote
M_9 2,216 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 I'm only repeating what's already been said numerous times: how can so many of our players have gone backward 're their 'ability'. TMac, Gus, Viney, Trac, Fritta, Weird, ANB, ... Not one player who was on our list last year is playing better footy this year (save for Max who should win the Bluey Truscott in a canter). Keep Goody by all means, but sack all bar Rawlings. And we'll be worse next year regardless of any changes - there's zip coming through. I'm gutted (50 year member). 2 Quote
praha 11,267 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 Mark my words, Carlton will absolutely pummel us. I'm talking 10+ goals. They are due. And so are we. You can just smell it in the air. They are playing confident football and have played good footy at times this year. We are uninspired, down on confidence, poorly coached, and inept. Jumanji drums will be beating for Goodwin this time next week. 1 Quote
Big Carl 333 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 MFC players...overpaid and underwhelming. Quote
Lord Travis 10,819 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 Carlton will be without Cripps and C Curnow. If we lose to them it will be up there as one of our worst losses in decades. Absolutely gutting how this year has turned out for us. Pathetic. 4 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 A loss to Carlton and this will be a couple of posters on Demonland: Quote
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 Sometimes a situation is too nuanced and complicated for some to be able to 'chew' it properly and digest it, and so they just throw up straight away. Looks like it's 'Hyperbole Round' on Demonland this week. Gee these theme rounds are getting very specific now hey? 1 3 Quote
jumbo returns 6,745 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 No, no, this is good! Maintain the insignificance so we get Sunday arvo games on Mother’s Day against GCS Yep, I love no queues at the gate or at the beer counters, sleepy security staff paying more attention to the one - legged seagull than the bag they’re checking The rostering of footy commentators that lament getting Dees’ games, knowing full well they’ve got to trump up the excitement through their calling for the 25 people watching at home No, a loss against Carlton wouldn’t matter....why would anyone want to disrupt this serene, idyllic picture of mediocrity? 4 2 Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 10 hours ago, Matsuo Basho said: Preliminary finalists to bottom 2 just 15 games later. If you can find a worse capitulation by any club in the AFL era of the past 30 years please let us know. I can’t recall one. Grand Finalists 2000 to 11th in 2001. Problem was it was still us. Quote
poita 3,945 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 I'd be more concerned if we have a narrow, uninspiring victory over Carlton that allows Goodwin to keep on pretending that all is well (see wins over Hawthorn, GC17 and Fremantle for precedents). At least there is no sugar coating the result when we lose. 2 Quote
pitmaster 3,592 Posted June 30, 2019 Posted June 30, 2019 Hoping for a big rebound from our mids. Tim Smith...take the shot within 35 metres please. Angus...forget the overhead handballs into contests. Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted July 1, 2019 Posted July 1, 2019 18 minutes ago, pitmaster said: Hoping for a big rebound from our mids. Tim Smith...take the shot within 35 metres please. Angus...forget the overhead handballs into contests. TMac .... Hold your forken marks. 1 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,458 Posted July 1, 2019 Posted July 1, 2019 Carlscum will rip us apart next weekend.... Goody has his Gameplan. We all know what it is Quote
chook fowler 19,778 Posted July 1, 2019 Posted July 1, 2019 as a football club we will learn from it and get better! 1 3 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,458 Posted July 1, 2019 Posted July 1, 2019 11 minutes ago, chook fowler said: as a football club we will learn from it and get better! Thanks Goody we are all 100% behind you... Quote
loges 6,767 Posted July 1, 2019 Posted July 1, 2019 Unfortunately, this is just the type of game we will lose. Load up on Carlton at the head to head. Quote
Dee Zephyr 19,311 Posted July 1, 2019 Posted July 1, 2019 It’s ok, we’re red-hot favourites. What could possibly go wrong? 1 Quote
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,829 Posted July 1, 2019 Posted July 1, 2019 (edited) 6 hours ago, praha said: Mark my words, Carlton will absolutely pummel us. I'm talking 10+ goals. They are due. And so are we. You can just smell it in the air. They are playing confident football and have played good footy at times this year. We are uninspired, down on confidence, poorly coached, and inept. Jumanji drums will be beating for Goodwin this time next week. We beat them by 109 points last year, they wouldn't have forgotten that. If they beat us by more than 5 goals i will unleash. We have by far the worst coaching panel in the AFL alongside the Phoenix Suns. Spend some [censored] money Pert and Co. Why do we sell these game to the NT for then. Edited July 1, 2019 by Win4theAges Quote
Dee Watcher 71 Posted July 1, 2019 Posted July 1, 2019 we loose to Carlton and the assistant coaches simply shouldn't bother coming in on Monday. I'd say we'd sack Goodwin to but can't see the club doing that this season. I assume we'll start booking blokes in my surgery so we might start as underdogs in this game if thats the case. Quote