Posted

The full article can be found here, if you can get past the paywall:

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/more-news/herald-sun-chief-football-writer-mark-robinsons-likes-and-dislikes-for-every-club-ahead-of-2019/news-story/7c961ae2e16f60396d97c18a6068e4d7

For those that can't, here is his short take on the Dees and the season ahead for us, which I think is relatively spot on, especially his verdict on where we'll finish:

WHAT I LIKE

They are the classic, if not the cliche — driven by the previous year’s disappointment. Won 14 games and two finals, and had the football world buzzing before West Coast gave them the dagger. Wonder how coach Simon Goodwin reviewed it — watched it with the players with the remote in his hand to highlight the jumpy moments?

Or simply move on? It has to be used as a lesson learnt, because they will be thereabouts again. How can they not be? Well-resourced midfield, averaged 101 points in offence and 79 defensively, secured Steven May in the off-season and Jake Lever will be back from injury. No excuses, barring savage injury.

WHAT I DON’T LIKE

The preliminary final losers get scant attention because Grand Final week is all about the teams competing.

The loss to West Coast was shameful, not because they lost, but how they lost. Fumbled when under pressure, they succumbed in the first half and it was game over. It was a performance that lives with them until they get back there again. As said, it should be some sort of motivation.

Jesse Hogan will hardly be missed, and he’s probably already been forgotten, and Tom McDonald and Sam Weideman will be one-two up forward. It’s difficult to find fault with the style of play and personnel under Goodwin, so it might be a test of nerve deep in September.

VERDICT

Top four

Posted

I like the way Robbo doesn't read anyone else's work. Goodwin has clearly said that they decided not to review the Preliminary Final. And he can't stick to a theme, either. His third paragraph in the section described as "What I Don't Like" clearly reads as something he likes. I give him a D- for Comprehension. 

• Haha 6

Posted
40 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I like the way Robbo doesn't read anyone else's work. Goodwin has clearly said that they decided not to review the Preliminary Final. And he can't stick to a theme, either. His third paragraph in the section described as "What I Don't Like" clearly reads as something he likes. I give him a D- for Comprehension. 

Glad I wasn't the only was confused.

Posted

We have to remember that we have a responsibility to the Media to not ever put in a bad performance. Its bad for sport on Fox generally....pffff!!. Nothing about "young forward line" line, which could just ring more true, down the line.........

Posted
12 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

have you found out who ita barracks for, wyl?

No. I have retired from that institution dc

”I know Nothing....”

Posted
5 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Including his own drafts.

• Haha 5

Posted

I notice that Rohan Connolly will be back on 3AW for the footy season. If Mark Robinson continues on 3AW (as he was last year), I fear my ears may be permanently damaged from an overdose of ocker English (using that last word rather loosely).

(Note: I actually like Rohan Connolly's commentary.  Not so Robbo's.) 

Posted
6 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

WHAT I LIKE

They are the classic, if not the cliche — driven by the previous year’s disappointment. Won 14 games and two finals, and had the football world buzzing before West Coast gave them the dagger. Wonder how coach Simon Goodwin reviewed it — watched it with the players with the remote in his hand to highlight the jumpy moments?

Or simply move on? It has to be used as a lesson learnt, because they will be thereabouts again. How can they not be? Well-resourced midfield, averaged 101 points in offence and 79 defensively, secured Steven May in the off-season and Jake Lever will be back from injury. No excuses, barring savage injury.

WHAT I DON’T LIKE

The preliminary final losers get scant attention because Grand Final week is all about the teams competing.

The loss to West Coast was shameful, not because they lost, but how they lost. Fumbled when under pressure, they succumbed in the first half and it was game over. It was a performance that lives with them until they get back there again. As said, it should be some sort of motivation.

Jesse Hogan will hardly be missed, and he’s probably already been forgotten, and Tom McDonald and Sam Weideman will be one-two up forward. It’s difficult to find fault with the style of play and personnel under Goodwin, so it might be a test of nerve deep in September.

VERDICT

Top four

5 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

35 minutes ago, Skuit said:

Including his own drafts.

Did he forget about the article that he wrote on February 12, 2019?

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/melbourne/simon-goodwin-opens-up-on-melbournes-shocking-2018-preliminary-final-and-his-eye-on-the-future/news-story/a747f87037c2f001c67464d513756f06

The last time we saw Simon Goodwin, he was a forlorn figure behind the microphones in the press room at Subiaco.

His team had been crunched by West Coast in the preliminary final, diabolically and shockingly bounced out of September.

That was almost five months ago, so long ago that Goodwin has consigned it to that bountiful box of shameful football matches that are never to be watched again, and largely never spoken of again.

Goodwin has not watched the game. and he did not read any critique of it.

Posted

The content for the magazine (released on Saturday) had to be submitted by Feb 1 - hence why the Feb 12 interview with Simon Goodwin answered Robbo's question - Wonder how coach Simon Goodwin reviewed it — watched it with the players with the remote in his hand to highlight the jumpy moments?

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, Deespicable said:

The content for the magazine (released on Saturday) had to be submitted by Feb 1 - hence why the Feb 12 interview with Simon Goodwin answered Robbo's question - Wonder how coach Simon Goodwin reviewed it — watched it with the players with the remote in his hand to highlight the jumpy moments?

OK. Robbo's excused. But someone else at the Hun should probably get a kick up the backside for poor quality control and effectively hanging out their Chief Football Writer to dry.

Edited by La Dee-vina Comedia
fix typo
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Demonland said:

Did he forget about the article that he wrote on February 12, 2019?

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/melbourne/simon-goodwin-opens-up-on-melbournes-shocking-2018-preliminary-final-and-his-eye-on-the-future/news-story/a747f87037c2f001c67464d513756f06

The last time we saw Simon Goodwin, he was a forlorn figure behind the microphones in the press room at Subiaco.

His team had been crunched by West Coast in the preliminary final, diabolically and shockingly bounced out of September.

That was almost five months ago, so long ago that Goodwin has consigned it to that bountiful box of shameful football matches that are never to be watched again, and largely never spoken of again.

Goodwin has not watched the game. and he did not read any critique of it.

Looking at the quote from slobbo’s article it refers to “Subiaco“ ??? I thought it was played at Optus stadium 

do jounalists actually proof read anything they write nowadays or did he just limit it to wiping away the beer spill on his note pad when he drafted this gem at 3am one Sunday morning 

Edited by Delusional demon 82
Fixing typo from proof reading my post ?
Posted

like: beer

dislike: is that like not liking something? it is? in that case i dislike not having beer

like: drinking

dislike: not drinking. unless it's eating nuts or chips in which case i start drinking

like: getting drunk

dislike: not getting drunk

like: being drunk

dislike: getting .... what's the opposite of being drunk? disdrunk? undrunk? i don't know. whatever it is-- no ... no .. whatever it is ... i don't like it. i even dislike it.

like: footy

dislike: uvver sports. unless it's footy. then i like it. but this is about things i dislike. running out of beer, not having any beer. you know. things like that.

like: beer. did i say that already? you sure, mate?

another like: essadan. and james hird. by jeez, james hird. now i feel like another beer.

like: writing about footy. except the writing part. that should be a dislike thing. except i get paid. that's the bit i do like.

dislike: not having money. you ever wake up and you've got no money but lots of empties and old betting tickets?  i have. and i dislike that. then i have to write some more. and i dislike that too. it's enough to drive a man to drink. oh, and i like james hird too. put that in. whose shout is it? yours? thought so.

Posted

Rohan Connolly hates Melbourne. he was hoping we were going to fold 7 years ago and he couldnt have been happier.

Posted
19 minutes ago, Damo said:

Rohan Connolly hates Melbourne. he was hoping we were going to fold 7 years ago and he couldnt have been happier.

He is a dropkick. I would call him much worse but the censors wouldn't be happy.

Posted

I actually Like Robbo... his passion for the game and in spite of his Essendrug allegiance find him both entertaining and interesting!

Posted
On 3/4/2019 at 7:43 PM, Mazer Rackham said:

like: beer

dislike: is that like not liking something? it is? in that case i dislike not having beer

like: drinking

dislike: not drinking. unless it's eating nuts or chips in which case i start drinking

like: getting drunk

dislike: not getting drunk

like: being drunk

dislike: getting .... what's the opposite of being drunk? disdrunk? undrunk? i don't know. whatever it is-- no ... no .. whatever it is ... i don't like it. i even dislike it.

like: footy

dislike: uvver sports. unless it's footy. then i like it. but this is about things i dislike. running out of beer, not having any beer. you know. things like that.

like: beer. did i say that already? you sure, mate?

another like: essadan. and james hird. by jeez, james hird. now i feel like another beer.

like: writing about footy. except the writing part. that should be a dislike thing. except i get paid. that's the bit i do like.

dislike: not having money. you ever wake up and you've got no money but lots of empties and old betting tickets?  i have. and i dislike that. then i have to write some more. and i dislike that too. it's enough to drive a man to drink. oh, and i like james hird too. put that in. whose shout is it? yours? thought so.

Me too.

Posted
On 3/4/2019 at 8:25 PM, jnrmac said:

He is a dropkick. I would call him much worse but the censors wouldn't be happy.

Hopefully, ina footy forum, dropkick will be permitted by the censor, even if not by any modern day coach. 

Posted

I had to laugh last year when, at the start of the finals series, he picked Melbourne to finish runners up for the flag, but also tipped Geelong (on the same page) to beat us in the elimination final.

Posted
21 minutes ago, In Harmes Way said:

I had to laugh last year when, at the start of the finals series, he picked Melbourne to finish runners up for the flag, but also tipped Geelong (on the same page) to beat us in the elimination final.

?????

Posted

Robbo i dont mind at all actually. Means well and him and Gerard play the odd couple well on 360.

Rohan on the other hand is a [censored]