Posted
38 minutes ago, The Chazz said:

It is without doubt that the "compromised" draw has helped even up the competition.  We should've made the most of our draw this year, but failed (enter the 4 x consecutive 6 day break arguments).  Fortunately we are in the middle group of teams that really do have no excuse to aim for top 4.

Our draw will be significantly easier than the likes of Geelong.  I bet we don't hear them whinge as much as what some on here are/will.

It's the money mate ... we can't and never will catch up financially under this system

Posted

Simple fact is ,if we are good enough we can win anywhere. If you all think we are good enough then winning in Alice and Darwin is a good possibiilty.

Posted
Just now, Diamond_Jim said:

It's the money mate ... we can't and never will catch up financially under this system

Don't blame the system, it's an unaccountable way of looking at it, and just adds to the soft culture that many supporters create.  Truth is, we will never catch up if we can't consistently start beating the teams below us on the ladder.

Posted
8 minutes ago, The Chazz said:

Don't blame the system, it's an unaccountable way of looking at it, and just adds to the soft culture that many supporters create.  Truth is, we will never catch up if we can't consistently start beating the teams below us on the ladder.

we could win for years but the money deals are stacked against us ... time for a new pack of cards

Posted
1 hour ago, Petraccattack said:

Two more 'home games' in NT.

Ridiculous.  We are still not a serious football club.

From memory the "deal" was signed last year or the year before, and was for something like 3 years. I recall P.J talking about it prior to one of our games there.

That means at least 1 more year after this. Lets see if we get smashed yet again with no bye, and a short break after the Darwin game.

Yuck.

Posted
52 minutes ago, ÆNIMIST said:

I'm excited about the Dees V Geelong opener.

It is time for us to start beating Geelong. If we are to be serious contenders in 2018, these are the sorts of huge games we need to win in order for a young side to have belief that anything is possible.

Bring it on.

Good point from a first time poster. 

Welcome to the asylum and good luck. 

Posted
55 minutes ago, ÆNIMIST said:

I'm excited about the Dees V Geelong opener.

It is time for us to start beating Geelong. If we are to be serious contenders in 2018, these are the sorts of huge games we need to win in order for a young side to have belief that anything is possible.

Bring it on.

Been said plenty of times over the past decade, and we have fallen flat every time.

You are absolutely correct however. I think our footy department sees us as being in with a shot at the flag in the next couple of years. Can't do that unless we start winning these games routinely.

Need a full list, and we are in with a shot. Big game, big crowd, big test.

Posted
5 minutes ago, faultydet said:

Been said plenty of times over the past decade, and we have fallen flat every time.

You are absolutely correct however. I think our footy department sees us as being in with a shot at the flag in the next couple of years. Can't do that unless we start winning these games routinely.

Need a full list, and we are in with a shot. Big game, big crowd, big test.

Sorry Faulty, but according to some, our premiership chances are determined by how many games Essendon play against this year's finalists, how many Sunday twilight games we play, and if we play interstate teams in the NT instead of Vic teams.

Our supporters need to HTFU.  We have a list full of quality, and should demand more of them, rather than sweating the small stuff over our game being on Fox Footy instead of Channel 7.

Posted
1 hour ago, Docs Demons said:

Simple fact is ,if we are good enough we can win anywhere. If you all think we are good enough then winning in Alice and Darwin is a good possibiilty.

the other simple fact is that any Team wins more often when playing at home. So by selling the games to NT, we are tangibly hurting our chances of on-field success. and depriving us loyal fans of being able to see the team play 2 games per year live

Posted
1 hour ago, The Chazz said:

Here's a simple way of looking at it.  We have 12 games of 22 against sides that we finished above of in 2017.  It can be argued that we are developing better than all of those sides below us.  If we want to be a serious finals contender, there is no reason why we shouldn't win each of these games.

Of the remaining 10 games, we would need to win a minimum of 2.  14 wins and % had you in the Top 4 this year.

Edit - we won 4 games this year against sides that finished above us.

we have struggled winning the "easy" games since Roosy came (there were no easy games before he came!)

im usually just as confident going in against a good team than a poor one.  Saying we should win those 12 games doesn't carry much weight. especially with an even comp

Posted
7 hours ago, ProDee said:

Horrible time.

I HATE 3.20pm starts.

Me too, especially on a Sunday.

Posted
8 minutes ago, DubDee said:

we have struggled winning the "easy" games since Roosy came (there were no easy games before he came!)

im usually just as confident going in against a good team than a poor one.  Saying we should win those 12 games doesn't carry much weight. especially with an even comp

Carry much weight?  What are you talking about?  Those opponents are of lesser quality to us, we should expect to win those games.  Do you think top sides don't expect to win those sort of games?  Of course they expect to beat sides worse than them.

We still weren't a top side in Roos' time.  We don't have any excuses now.

Posted
4 hours ago, Satyriconhome said:

Whinge whine carp complain   the whole fixture isn't out yet   wait for the Home game at Etihad

Didn't realise Hillsong was 3.20 on a Sunday and it clashes

May even go to Alice this year, done Darwin 3 times

As a loyal paid up member of the Dee's Diaspora based at Darwin. I'm perfectly at ease with the round 16 fixture  (must be the territory life style).  Shall be in attendance at the match  v the shockers basking in the 'Dry' season climes again for a 9th consecutive time god willing!  Encourage some of the more financial melbournecentric followers to support the club by putting their money where their mouth is by purchasing fly in package. You never never know? Its a great footy experience here in the top end. :huh:

Posted

Anzac Eve Toiges

QB Pies 

Supposedly both good

Posted
10 hours ago, MudDogs Gawn Win.. someday said:

Playing Adel and Freo In NT is a [censored] joke. We should be playing another Victorian team otherwise what’s the advantage?

The club needs to end this stupid sponsorship ASAP!! 

No, we should be playing any if dockers/suns/gws as they're the ones with no supporters in Melbourne that cost us $$ when we play at the G. We should be playing crows at the G as they have decent support here

Posted
9 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

Two more 'home games' in NT.

Ridiculous.  We are still not a serious football club.

Hawks play home games in Tas are they a serious football club?

Posted
7 hours ago, The Chazz said:

Carry much weight?  What are you talking about?  Those opponents are of lesser quality to us, we should expect to win those games.  Do you think top sides don't expect to win those sort of games?  Of course they expect to beat sides worse than them.

We still weren't a top side in Roos' time.  We don't have any excuses now.

You said There is no reason we shouldn't win those games against lower opposition and I replied saying we've never proved we can do that over a season in recent years. 

Once we prove we have the mental strength and consistency to beat the easy teams and be consist I'll expect to beat teams below but I certainly don't expect it right now

Posted
8 hours ago, The Chazz said:

Our supporters need to HTFU.  We have a list full of quality, and should demand more of them, rather than sweating the small stuff over our game being on Fox Footy instead of Channel 7.

You can do both

Posted

Our game against Sydney has probably put the AFL off giving us Friday nights. If we're definitely not playing Essendon twice (huge surprise) I guess it'll just be their home game again. There must be elements of copying and pasting in the fixture making

Posted
On 26/10/2017 at 10:31 PM, dl4e said:

Hope we kick better this time around than last time. 

Yes good test for the boys and the FD given we gave away our best kick at the trade. He was BOG for us last time we played the moggies.

Posted
19 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

The alternative view is that games against interstate clubs played at the MCG draw smaller crowds than games played there against Victorian teams. Smaller crowds means less revenue and a worse atmosphere which discourages the Free-to-Air broadcaster from wanting to broadcast such games in prime time.

So, if you look at the bigger picture, the commercial value of the NT deal (direct revenue plus the commercial advantage of playing Victorian teams at the MCG) may be more valuable to the club overall than the alternative.

Of course I would prefer not having to play home games away from the MCG, but reality bites.   

I would rather 4pts

Posted

Im sorry but why do the scum get a friday night game first up and against Adelaide. Surely Adelaide deserve the right to play a home game r1. 

Gee suns v nth as well that will be  a huge hit. 

I really hope we dont play nth in tassie. and for once it would be nice to actually play wc at the mcg.