Posted

Hey Guys

Here is the follow up to the 50 Greatest Goals, I've done the 70 best marks.

Again, I was a bit limited to what I actually had access to in the way of footage. And like the goals, a lot of decent marks didn't make the cut.

But I reckon I have included most of the greatest and most memorable grabs in MFC history.

Enjoy.

• Like 21

Posted

Cheers Ash. A great reminder of Robbo's aerial talents (Jeremy Who?). Robbo always reminded me of a kid playing 'classic catches' into the pool - leapt early and threw his body in all directions to exaggerate the effect. But kept his eye on the ball.

Missing: Liam Jurrah's one-handed grab in the air in the middle of a couple Cats. Always sticks in the mind. Took a couple seconds to work out what had happened. Freakish talent.

Great work.

Posted

Ash, you're killing me. Loving this stuff.

Gary Hardeman - close to my favourite Dees player ever, only eclipsed by Robbie and maybe the Ox. Class, skill, courage. And the long years sometimes make me forget some of his great moments.

Robbie Flower, mark of the day, so often. But I love the one where big Wacko Jacko gives Billy Picken a smack in the head during the mark.

Yze's kicking.

Some people think Robbo was selfish, I just thought he loved the game and had great timing. 

Posted

Hardeman was always a favourite, I remember that first mark and it sticks in my memory as one of the best I've seen.

Unfortunately the footage wasn't great but the hang time he got was unbelievable.

Posted
28 minutes ago, Skuit said:

Cheers Ash. A great reminder of Robbo's aerial talents (Jeremy Who?). Robbo always reminded me of a kid playing 'classic catches' into the pool - leapt early and threw his body in all directions to exaggerate the effect. But kept his eye on the ball.

Missing: Liam Jurrah's one-handed grab in the air in the middle of a couple Cats. Always sticks in the mind. Took a couple seconds to work out what had happened. Freakish talent.

Great work.

Interesting Robbo never took a technical high mark, they all seemed to be high flying chest marks. No one else did that so often I think. Although Shaun Smith was similar, especially the mark of the century against the Lions. And how often were Lyon or Neitz the step ladders? I still think Howe's running with the flight of the ball high mark over a 6'4" Embley at the G is an extraordinary example of AFL aerial athleticism and unique amongst the 70 highlights, 

I think Jurrah's amazing one handed pluck from mid air was against the Saints. And yes it was mesmerising. 

Posted (edited)
48 minutes ago, Earl Hood said:

I think Jurrah's amazing one handed pluck from mid air was against the Saints. And yes it was mesmerising. 

That was his other one-hander. The one I'm referring to was at CHF - leapt for the ball, it got past him a bit, and he stuck out a hand and took it as clean as you like.

Edit: Found it in this package. (His 5th game).

Edited by Skuit

Posted

As good as those marks are, the commentary in the old days really did them justice. Today you'd just get Baz 3 seconds behind the play or BT screaming OH BOY WOWEE!!!

Posted
2 hours ago, Skuit said:

I was at that game, at the northern end. We couldn't figure out what had happened to the ball. Liam threw up his hand and the ball just stuck. You really needed to see it in slomo to see where the ball 'disappeared' to.

Posted

Great work again Ash. Love it. 

Love that Yze one v Geelong. Forgot about that Carroll mark, brave as [censored]  

Only one I'd add (besides the Jurrah mitt) is Junior nearly killing himself v Hawthorn. I think it's when we went on to win by that Brad Green kick on the siren. 

Posted

Thanks for the input guys.

The best mark that didn't make it was David Schwarz against St Kilda at Waverley in 1994. I couldn't find any decent footage of it.

I love that you guys aren't just talking about the usual suspects (Farmer 1998 vs Tigers, Jurrah 2010 vs Port, Smith 1995 vs Brisbane etc)

Highest mark is not always best, I love Stephen TIngays effort against the Crows in 1996, skill and courage.

Greg Healy incredibly courageous in the 1990 Elimination Final against Hawthorn with Chris Langford coming the other way.

Jared Rivers against my Bombers in 2004 - amazing stuff.

Russell Robertson was spectacular with his grab against WCE in the Pre-season, doesn't get much publicity as it was Wizard Cup, but what a hanger.

Posted

Pic of the Schwarz mark I was talking about from 1994.

Wasn't a TV covered game, so no real footage of the mark.

1410606523570.jpg

Posted

Ash35 is a superstar and we're lucky to have him.

An Essendon supporter for the newbies.

I can't remember the first Ash 'number' incarnation (his age), but others will.

The stuff he's done on Robbie is legendary and I can't thank him enough.

Posted

Feels like we haven't had a really big one for a while. Watts has been threatening some massive grabs the past two seasons but takes his eyes off it at the point of contact (ball not man). Jeff was getting up a bit in his first year with us but doesn't fly anymore. Hannan looks a likely sort and Hunt could pull off a ripper. Harmes has courage in the air. Joel Smith?

Posted

Sugar Healy's mark at 3.10 is one of the guttiest marks you will ever see. It was a Brutal Final and he went back and kicked the goal

i have heard people call Sugar soft. 

He was Tough as....

Posted
3 hours ago, Skuit said:

That was his other one-hander. The one I'm referring to was at CHF - leapt for the ball, it got past him a bit, and he stuck out a hand and took it as clean as you like.

Edit: Found it in this package. (His 5th game).

Liam Jurrah was just unbelievable and footy is so much the poorer for him leaving.

Posted
1 hour ago, Skuit said:

Feels like we haven't had a really big one for a while. Watts has been threatening some massive grabs the past two seasons but takes his eyes off it at the point of contact (ball not man). Jeff was getting up a bit in his first year with us but doesn't fly anymore. Hannan looks a likely sort and Hunt could pull off a ripper. Harmes has courage in the air. Joel Smith?

If Hunt holds on to one it'll win a car, or weet bix. 

Not spectacular but I love Hogan's contested clunks. 

Pedo took a nice one last year, v Carlton?

Joel has taken a ripper in the VFL, surely he'll add to the family reel. 

Posted
3 hours ago, Chook said:

Liam Jurrah was just unbelievable and footy is so much the poorer for him leaving.

It leaves me with a heavy heart that I'm not sure I will ever shake.

Does anyone know if he dropped by to watch our Alice match?

Posted
11 hours ago, ProDee said:

Ash35 is a superstar and we're lucky to have him.

An Essendon supporter for the newbies.

I can't remember the first Ash 'number' incarnation (his age), but others will.

The stuff he's done on Robbie is legendary and I can't thank him enough.

Thanks for the kind words.

Yep, reckon I started as Ash23, gave up at Ash35.

I do watch the Robbie tribute video I did with pride. He was one of my all time favourites.

For those who haven't seen it :

Posted

Great marks, but I couldn't help wincing at some of the olden day grabs, when after landing the opposition players simply drop their knees into the back of the player on the ground. I know the 'gotta make 'em earn it' mantra, but I always hated that as much as I hated the faux 'tryin' to spoil' smack in the head.

Posted

Man what a celebration of brilliance! Great work Ash . Robbo!!!!