Posted
5 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

If Kent's dropped it'll need a miracle ( or more injuries  ? ) for him to get back in. These lads really can't be that bright  if they can't understand how this is going to play out.

Dean, pick your socks up or you'll be packed off to wherever come seasons end. 

That depends on his replacement and his response at Casey.  It's not as if Harmes and JKH have set the world alight in the small forward role, while others like ANB are far more suited to playing midfield with a short stint at half forward than the other way around.  He will get another chance this year but those chances are beginning to wear a little thin.  He's just lucky everyone else outside of Garlett are out of form at the minute.

Posted (edited)
36 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

That depends on his replacement and his response at Casey.  It's not as if Harmes and JKH have set the world alight in the small forward role, while others like ANB are far more suited to playing midfield with a short stint at half forward than the other way around.  He will get another chance this year but those chances are beginning to wear a little thin.  He's just lucky everyone else outside of Garlett are out of form at the minute.

WB ..the first one to hit their straps and perform ought to nail this gig.

I agree no one is setting the world on fire but i can't see Goody &Co giving unlimited chances.

Many are getting gift games but this can't last forever.

If Kent crashes we might start seeing the FD getting 'creative'

There would have to be a number of players on borrowed time.

Edited by beelzebub

Posted
22 hours ago, Fifty-5 said:

How many HBs is enough?

We've had, Jones, Salem, Lewis, Hibberd, Melksham, Vince, Hunt, Jetta, Wagner and J.Smith play there so far and White and McKenna at Casey.

Just the principle of making sure you tick a few boxes before writing off a player:

4.  Is there any more upside or development left in him...

9. Have we tried him in position/role a/b/c.  Daniher or Roos for instance, may never have ticked this box; whereas a Bevo/Sheedy would have I think.

10. Psychobabble (how is his private-life and headspace)

Posted (edited)
On 24 May 2017 at 1:31 PM, Dappa Dan said:

Yeah. For all those times an AFL player has to deal with me on the G.

Before you get your panties in a bunch, I'm not attacking Kent. Just questioning the OP.

He's just not a big guy as far as AFL goes. The old looks like Tarzan plays like Jane cliche applies to guys like Sylvia. Ferocious looking unit. Only played well a handful of times.

Kent's quick, good on a lead, and is a better kick than people think. I like him as a football player. But does he strike fear into other players' hearts? I dunno. He's not Barry Hall is he.

I think you will find his speed to weight ratio is more significant that your average footballer.

Anthony Tip-Woody from Essendon....ditto squared.

Edited by TGR
Tip Wood
Posted
5 minutes ago, TGR said:

I think you will find his speed to weight ratio is more significant that your average footballer.

Anthony Tip-Woody from Essendon....ditto squared.

Yeah I don't see any comparison at all between Tippa and Kent. Completely different players, who play the game in a contrasted style.

And thanks for your help, but I'm familiar with Kent. Watched every game he's played at AFL level. Doesn't look like superman, doesn't play like superman.

They said the same about Brad Green though, and he turned into a super courageous player. Kent still has time.

Posted
1 minute ago, Dappa Dan said:

Yeah I don't see any comparison at all between Tippa and Kent. Completely different players, who play the game in a contrasted style.

And thanks for your help, but I'm familiar with Kent. Watched every game he's played at AFL level. Doesn't look like superman, doesn't play like superman.

They said the same about Brad Green though, and he turned into a super courageous player. Kent still has time.

dont really ever recall Brad have a 'flat period" ...might just be my fuzzy grey cells granted.

Brad could be OK... Brad could be Brilliant.

Kent can turn it on for 5 mins at a time...Kent can stink it up big time with a twist of "squib"

Would love to have Tippa...dare I say , could there be such a thing..a fav EFC player ( I need a shower now )

Posted
Just now, beelzebub said:

dont really ever recall Brad have a 'flat period" ...might just be my fuzzy grey cells granted.

Brad could be OK... Brad could be Brilliant.

Kent can turn it on for 5 mins at a time...Kent can stink it up big time with a twist of "squib"

Would love to have Tippa...dare I say , could there be such a thing..a fav EFC player ( I need a shower now )

lol For shame, bub. 24 hour ban from the mods is in order I feel.

I remember my early days on 'land was midway through Brad's career. He still had a soft tag people had put on him after the GF in 2000. Some posters thought he was hard, some thought he'd always be flakey. The last few years of his career were some of his best. Kept going back with the flight of the ball. He was a beauty Brad Green. How good would he be in the current side.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Dappa Dan said:

I remember my early days on 'land was midway through Brad's career. He still had a soft tag people had put on him after the GF in 2000. Some posters thought he was hard, some thought he'd always be flakey. The last few years of his career were some of his best. Kept going back with the flight of the ball. He was a beauty Brad Green. How good would he be in the current side.

Brad in ths fwd pocket,flank.. Ooooooooh noice ^_^ he did wax and wane til he 'grew up' but never the 'where has he gone, is he still on ths field' impression Kent offers.

Am just popping of to the naughty cnr :unsure:

Posted
1 minute ago, beelzebub said:

Brad in ths fwd pocket,flank.. Ooooooooh noice ^_^ he did wax and wane til he 'grew up' but never the 'where has he gone, is he still on ths field' impression Kent offers.

Am just popping of to the naughty cnr :unsure:

Yeah. Sometimes it's worth it.

Looking at how the Hawks became as good as what they are through kicking skill, and how important that facet's become. Brad would be even better if he started now. Kicked 55 goals in a bad side. That takes some doing.

Posted
8 minutes ago, Dappa Dan said:

Green was in his first year. Kicked 28 goals Pretty good return. As for the GF he was pole-axed in the throat by the thug Wallis who was brought back especially to play in the GF and didn't care whether he got suspended. Very unfair on Brad.

Posted
Just now, jnrmac said:

Green was in his first year. Kicked 28 goals Pretty good return. As for the GF he was pole-axed in the throat by the thug Wallis who was brought back especially to play in the GF and didn't care whether he got suspended. Very unfair on Brad.

Yeah I was in the "leave him alone he'll come good" camp. But the soft thing followed him for his first few years. Back in the early land vs ology days. I love to use him as an example that it is possible to get better as a player in some areas. Like toughness. Would love if a bit of it transferred to Watts. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

who's louis lane?

Lois's cousin...... can't play footy for shlt apparently ^_^

Posted
2 hours ago, Dappa Dan said:

We gave that bloke way too much crap in his last couple of years. I still feel bad about that. He did what he could as captain too, in a time when nobody could do much...

Posted
3 minutes ago, Chook said:

We gave that bloke way too much crap in his last couple of years. I still feel bad about that. He did what he could as captain too, in a time when nobody could do much...

And he's been forgotten. Never spoken about as a great servant cos he was fairly meek media wise. Good to see there's people here who still appreciate him though.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Diamond said:

In the selection news on the MFC website they refer to 'tough-nut Dean Kent'.

Reminds me of a great C& W song,

"If ya gonna be dumb ya gotta be tough"

Posted
1 hour ago, Diamond said:

That's what they used to call Tapscott and it didn't do him much good.

Seems to be a similarly limited footballer.

Posted (edited)

I'd like to see Hunt started at Half Forward.. 

He like Kent is quick (er)

Plays tall. 

Takes the game on.

But Hunt is better by hand. Not limited to one side. A better kick and applies more defensive pressure.

Edited by Mud Dogs Gonna Win

Posted
37 minutes ago, Mud Dogs Gonna Win said:

But Hunt is better by hand. Not limited to one side. A better kick and applies more defensive pressure.

And doesn't mind getting in and under or taking a hit

Posted
4 hours ago, Biffen said:

Reminds me of a great C& W song,

Oxymoron of the week.

Posted
1 hour ago, Mud Dogs Gonna Win said:

I'd like to see Hunt started at Half Forward.. 

He like Kent is quick (er)

Plays tall. 

Takes the game on.

I'd like to see Hunt started at half back. Let him work himself into the game and if he can't, then try a wing or half forward. Without Salem, I reckon we'll need more half back run, so he'll play mostly off half back.

Posted
13 hours ago, Diamond said:

It's the "reverse compliment". Phrases like that are generally used to hide weaknesses, not promote strengths. "Tough-nut" is usually code for "not very skilled".