Brendan McCartney on list update

Brayshaw - "pure football brilliance." 

36 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Brayshaw - "pure football brilliance." 

Agree - have been watching some highlights of games from the past 2 seasons and he seems to glide ala Pendlebury and his kicking to position is elite - also knows where the goals are.

I put this in an earlier training thread, I asked Macca for an early tip for a great year before Xmas, without hesitation 'Brayshaw', he had a little hiccup a couple of weeks ago, but looked sharp yesterday

It's really encouraging to hear someone as tough as McCartney give such high praise. Brayshaw's photo of the 100 x 100m on 35 degree Christmas Day goes to show how serious he is.

I was a bit concerned with some of the Skwosh club party photos and rumours that the Melbourne boys are very happy with themselves, that Brayshaw was one whose opinion of himself far outweighed his output from the past 2 years. Really needs to stamp himself on the comp next year as a pick 3 and currently he looks set to give himself every chance. Fingers crossed he can stay on the park. 

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

Agree - have been watching some highlights of games from the past 2 seasons and he seems to glide ala Pendlebury and his kicking to position is elite - also knows where the goals are.

Its funny you mention Pendlebury - I was talking to a very knowledgeable mate yesterday (Saints supporter) who also compared him to Pendlebury. Reckons he will be the best of the lot: the 'pure football brilliance' and impact he has had on some games in 2015 in particular is remarkable for first year player.

5 minutes ago, Thrice said:

Its funny you mention Pendlebury - I was talking to a very knowledgeable mate yesterday (Saints supporter) who also compared him to Pendlebury. Reckons he will be the best of the lot: the 'pure football brilliance' and impact he has had on some games in 2015 in particular is remarkable for first year player.

talking of pendlebury, i thought his 2016 was not up to his usual standards despite winning another copeland. maybe it's just me.

pendlebury had busted ribs for the rest third of the season. his back half of the year was top notch.

brayshaw i still have queries on. his inability to hit short range kicks - which should be a doddle for someone as skilled as he clearly is - are about the biggest q's on him at the moment, and i think it should be super easy for him to clean that up and hit those short passes.

he's got a head for football.

28 minutes ago, DemonAndrew said:

pendlebury had busted ribs for the rest third of the season. his back half of the year was top notch.

brayshaw i still have queries on. his inability to hit short range kicks - which should be a doddle for someone as skilled as he clearly is - are about the biggest q's on him at the moment, and i think it should be super easy for him to clean that up and hit those short passes.

he's got a head for football.

He just needs to keep it out of the way.

If there are some of our "kids" (i.e. Petracca, Oliver, Hunt, et al) that turn out to be better players than Brayshaw, this footy club will be in a position that I have never seen.  He will be a bloody beauty, and it will take a high quality player/s to be better than him.

As McCartney indicated if Bugg can improve his consistency, he is a very good player to have as our 15th-22nd best player each week.  Very underrated in my opinion.

I prefer not to comment on rookies that I wouldn't know if I fell over them.

2 hours ago, hemingway said:

And anyone who does not agree is a bum!

Im necking an ale as i read...ok ?

I for one am excited to see the development of flippers "infectious smile". 

5 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

BM will provide a list update of all the players and he's started off with Brayshaw, Bugg and Filipovic.

http://m.melbournefc.com.au/news/2017-01-06/list-update-brayshaw-bugg-and-filipovic

We are used to regular mis-spelling of players' names on Demonland, but the club should make sure to get it right on its own website - see the 'Latest DeeTV' heading regarding Filipovic.

Can anyone take a guess what Bugg can bring to the table this year.

What are his strengths and his best position?

Sounds like he's had a fantastic pre season so far and is giving himself the best chance of cementing a best 22 spot.

29 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Can anyone take a guess what Bugg can bring to the table this year.

What are his strengths and his best position?

Sounds like he's had a fantastic pre season so far and is giving himself the best chance of cementing a best 22 spot.

They have had him in the stoppages and midfield drills at training, so assume if he gets a gig that will be his role, he can play up forward as well because he is good at one on one as we have seen.

He hasn't missed a beat all pre season.

I would think his role would be in the engine room, but he has a lot of mates all competing for spots, which is what he is going to bring   competition  which can only benefit the team

6 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Im necking an ale as i read...ok ?

T'would be 15 to be authentic.

21 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Brayshaw drops the ball from too high, very similar to Cameron Bruce.

Agree. Does the odd helicopter punt which he needs to tidy up.

Macca notes that they are going to settle Frost in defence.

What I can't work out is that 80% of supporters worked out very quickly that Frost was a natural defender yet the highly paid Brains Trust took most of the season to work out that Frost was not a forward !!

I like what Macca had to say about Jeffy - no doubt his second half of the year was not up to his usual standard, but he made a point of mentioning that he will benefit from others such as Kent, JKH and Kennedy improving their ability to open up the forward line as well so we aren't just relying on Jeffy to do the bulk of this work.

29 minutes ago, Cranky Franky said:

Macca notes that they are going to settle Frost in defence.

What I can't work out is that 80% of supporters worked out very quickly that Frost was a natural defender yet the highly paid Brains Trust took most of the season to work out that Frost was not a forward !!

They were trying to find a short term solution to the 2nd key forward/ruck whilst Pedda built his fitness, Dawes recovered from injury etc etc. Also the idea of the combined kicking and decision making skills of Frost, Oscar and Tom McDonald wasn't all that appealing, it should be more so as they get more experience. 

It was a good way to get Frost some game time at AFL level and hardly a big disruption to his career, plus the team wasn't really any better or worse off from it last year. We still haven't solved the forward/ruck spot but at least we have some other options in Watts, Weed, maybe even Keilty now.