Posted (edited)

Ironically, I now lay here in my bed after having knee surgery yesterday.

I feel sorry for Christian but I know he has the determination and desire to totally recover.

I ruptured my ACL in my right knee playing AFL Super League in the middle of last year. After being on the public waiting list I finally had my operation yesterday. My knee is very swollen and sore. I cannot drive my car for 2 weeks and have no idea when I will be back at work again. I am also currently on 3 types of painkillers until I can get some sleep and the swelling goes down.

Christian has the support of his strongly close knit Italian family, his friends and an entire AFL Club. Not only that, but he has his operation booked in for next Tuesday. He will also be having one of the finest surgeons in Australia operate on his knee. As much as it is a blow for him individually I'm sure he will recover. Just as I will eventually. He is fortune enough to be an AFL player though, whereas I am not even close! Plus I am alot older at 34 years of age. Nevertheless, this bit of bad luck will be a mere tiny obstacle in Christian's AFL career at the Demons. In the long run the bigger picture which Paul Roos and Simon Goodwin are trying to paint must be remembered. One individual player will not change this entire club. It is all about team culture and team leadership. I am disappointed about what has happened to Christian. I am sure he is very frustrated at the moment. However, I'm certain he will overcome this hiccup in his career and life though. We as Demons supporters will just have to wait until 2015 to see Christian play though. A real Demon never gives in!

I wish him all the best with his surgery and his rehab. I may even come along to Demons training myself and support him while he is doing rehab too. I won't be doing much for a few weeks anyways. I can always catch the train and hobble over to watch Demons training at Gosch's Paddock while on my crutches perhaps?

Overall, the only way to get out of this mentality of self-pity is by being determined and having single-mindedness to succeed. Under Paul Roos I am more confident of a fundamental culture change than I have ever before. Christian will be part of a successful Demons Premiership side in the future. We just need to be patient and stay the course.

Go Demons in 2015 and beyond!☺

Edited by Supreme_Demon
  • Like 16

Posted

All the best supreme being! I'm sure at 34 +you will bounce back very well!

Remember "Pain is temporary, but glory is forever"

Nice touch!

"Fence"

Posted (edited)
Interesting study (picked up via Twitter). Looking at incidence of injury amongst first year and emerging players:
" Emerging players were significantly less likely to remain injury free in games than established players ... A similar outcome was seen in training sessions, although to a lesser degree"
You'd have to wonder whether we're not going to start to see young players really eased into it for their first season or two.

They should be eased in. Perhaps young Stretch might be ok (considering he was basically eased in), but the others should've been eased in.

But that is the AFL environment, they'll only stop expecting so much when the trend continues to get bigger.

Personally I think clubs should be putting a full year of strength work into draftees legs before they put heavy running workloads on them.

Edited by KingDingAling
Posted
Interesting study (picked up via Twitter). Looking at incidence of injury amongst first year and emerging players:
" Emerging players were significantly less likely to remain injury free in games than established players ... A similar outcome was seen in training sessions, although to a lesser degree"
You'd have to wonder whether we're not going to start to see young players really eased into it for their first season or two.

Well thats what Roosey was trying to do.....

Didn't quite turn out eh?

Posted

Very impressive presser from Petracca, and Brayshaw was very well spoken in his little piece as well. We've picked up two gems here. Sad that Christian will need to wait an extra year to debut, but there's plenty he can do in the interim to motivate teammates and push the club forward.

Anyway, everyone seems to have forgotten Roos' core message of "stop putting our draftees on a pedestal." This injury isn't the end of the world and, as Christian himself said, we shouldn't be expecting first year players to be match-winners.

Posted

Geeeezzz. First time I heard this. Sucks big time.

But I'm hoping it's all just a dream. I'm only up to page 7 of the thread so far, and OD has already had at least 5 positive and upbeat posts. Surely that proves I'm in a parallel universe and the real Petracca I know is doing fine.

Posted

Geeeezzz. First time I heard this. Sucks big time.

But I'm hoping it's all just a dream. I'm only up to page 7 of the thread so far, and OD has already had at least 5 positive and upbeat posts. Surely that proves I'm in a parallel universe and the real Petracca I know is doing fine.

Nope. :-(
Posted

We are fortunate as a club we have other exciting young players who might get the opportunity now that Petracca is down, Toumpas, Salem, Brayshaw, Kent, JKH after all.....

EVERYTHING HAPPENS FOR A REASON

Posted

Gutted for the lad.

In a perverse way I think it will be great for Jack Trengove to have a focus on someone else. He will take CP under his wing and help him through it. Which will be great for JT as well. If it works out it will create a very strong team bond. And we might look back on this as the cementing of a real team bond that is the beginning of a team that grows together.....maybe a bit far fetched but already I sense this pre-season here is more cameraderie than we have had in a number of years......

Posted

Nah, spot on. I still think back to those photos of Trenners on his scooter at training with nobody around him, looking totally depressed.

I reckon he'll take CP under his wing and they'll get through the season as brothers-in-arms. Jack's an inspiring influence, especially for a kid like Christian.

Posted

This sucks the more i try to come to terms with it

Was absolutely salivating at the Hogan-Petracca combo terrorizing backlines this season.

Ah well, will have to make do with just Jesse :)

Posted (edited)

So you're upset, and you come to this board hoping to find other upset people crying about it

instead you find a few level-headed folks pointing out that the facts of the matter are really not all that bad, in attempt to make you less upset

and that just upsets you more

so you like being upset basically

Way to completely misinterpret what I said. I don't give a stuff what anyone's feelings are but to put down others because they are understandably upset at the news is ridiculous.

Have to laugh at your "level-headed" comment as well considering your posting history on here, you'd have to be one of the more bipolar posters on the site.

Posted

Wow, I am not sure that I understand your computer generated opinion but gee it is an impressive one. Why is it that your description makes me feel more concerned about this injury despite the fact that "the outcome is as if the ACL had never been damaged". Perhaps I should simply be content that we have a young gun that has an injury that will repair as if it had never been damaged.

What? Computer generated? What's your point?
Posted

http://www.jsams.org/article/S1440-2440(14)00640-9/abstract

It's something that will become a key factor in managing player loads. Skeletal maturity, muscle strength and the balance of function between those muscles grows through to your mid twenties, where injuries become less frequent. It's a pretty wide spectrum of variation to that generality though, such as Nat Jones, Ollie Wines. What we need are physiological markers that identify those predispositions to injury as a general group. There are no markers to indicate predisposition to ACL rupture, despite years of looking for them, so it remains a bit of a raffle.
Posted

It's something that will become a key factor in managing player loads. Skeletal maturity, muscle strength and the balance of function between those muscles grows through to your mid twenties, where injuries become less frequent. It's a pretty wide spectrum of variation to that generality though, such as Nat Jones, Ollie Wines. What we need are physiological markers that identify those predispositions to injury as a general group. There are no markers to indicate predisposition to ACL rupture, despite years of looking for them, so it remains a bit of a raffle.

goes to that great idea.....lift the draft age...but hey ....

Posted (edited)

Spot on bb but good luck with the idea.

I wonder how much of the resistance to this idea is fear of talented sporty types (who are thinking becoming pros) deserting AFL for basketball, soccer etc. so they can start earning dosh earlier. Anyone know what draft ages those sports have?

Edited by sue

Posted

Really appreciate all the information you've provided on this so far, mate.

Posted

Had to go to a Funeral yesterday to farewell one of my best mates.

Now i log on here and see this news.

Damit.

What a shite week this has become!!!

And within this post should be a reality check for all Deelanders

Sure it's bad news and unfortunate for Christian and us as supporters but there could be far worse things happen to him

Dedicated young man as he showed last season and the ACL'S aren't as devastating as they used to be

For all those feeling devastated and gutted and the world is ending, you woke up this morning and took a breath = it's a good day

Posted

Really appreciate all the information you've provided on this so far, mate.

I second that, fascinating insight and i've learnt a lot fro your posts. I also second the idea of raising the draft age. For me its a no brainer.

However for many reasons it may never happen (though it is interesting hat it has happened in the NBL) so perhaps an alternative is drafted players are not allowed to play an AFL game 'till their second year and their training loads are modified (as i guess they are to an extent already but if there would be limit to how much you could modify it currently where there there is an expectation they'l play AFL footy).

Webber i'd be interested to know if doing the above would decrease the likelihood of injuries such as ligament damage, ACLs, PCLs, osteo pubis etc.

Posted

What? Computer generated? What's your point?

Sorry Webber no insult or innuendo intended. As a man of simple words lets just say that i am not sure that I understand your opinion but gee its an impressive one.

Posted

Thanks for all your comments Webber as others say it is fantastic.

As for age related. I have always played sports never at elite level, in fact never above ordinary, but have always enjoyed them .

I dont do as much as I used to but play squash 2 nights and tennis 1 night at the moment.

Keep flexible with poolercises and push the pedals more and more occasionally.

Went to a "Barefoot Bowls" introductory evening with friends for an enjoyable night out.

Couldnt walk the next day. Pain in foot from the bare foot on concrete based synthetic grass+ tendon and muscle strain from stance and balance variation from normal + hyperextension (poor technique).

Was back on the court but restricted due to pain and now extending plaudits to those old buggers who regularly play lawn bowls. They are extreme sport athletes.

I think there is no doubt that physical conditioning is a most significant factor and activity needs to be careful matched to physical state.