Cascade Beer

DEE fence

If you want a good beer head to the Mountain Goat Brewery in Richmond on a Friday evening. Otherwise my beer of choice is Stone & Wood Pacific Ale from Byron Bay.

Great to see Cascade honour a Melbourne legend. Having said that Boags do produce much better beer, but the Moo Brew Brewery just outside Hobart is fantastic. $30 will buy you 8 stubbies from their collection of 6 (the hef was my favourite), an hour long tour and shoot some hoops at the end!

I reckon you and I would enjoy a beer together.

I first got on the Stone and Wood PA when in Newcastle a few months ago. It was coupled with one of the most delightful 7+ marble Wagyu steak I've ever had.

If you're ever in Newcastle, get to the Burwood Inn.

My favourite beer is Duvel followed by Pilsner Urquell, both of which I've had in their country of origin, but one of the best beers I've ever had was a Cascade Pale Ale in the Cascade Gardens in Hobart. Unbelievably fresh. Combined with the picturesque surrounds, it sticks out in the memory.

Little Creatures Brewery in Freo is another great option.

Saturday night at McQueen's.

83c08c6af9b70fd843322d657d2c1096_zps7352

I think the emphasis should be on the person honored by the brewery and not on beer in general, so here goes:-

Runner-up Cheel Medal 1923, 1924

Latrobe premiership captain-coach 1922, 1924

Melbourne premiership player 1926

Brownlow Medal 1926, 1928

Runner-up Brownlow Medal 1929 (equal)

Melbourne Team of the Century

Tasmanian Team of the Century

I reckon you and I would enjoy a beer together.

I first got on the Stone and Wood PA when in Newcastle a few months ago. It was coupled with one of the most delightful 7+ marble Wagyu steak I've ever had.

If you're ever in Newcastle, get to the Burwood Inn.

Looks like the perfect venue for a beer!

I got onto it early 2013 at a Craft Beer night in the eastern suburbs where they were doing a tasting of the top ten Australian beers from 2012. Could have drunk it all night long. Whenever I see it at a bottle shop or pub I'm always eager to get onto it!

Knappstein reserve lager would have to be a Demons supporters beer - made by a winery in the Clare Valley.

it doesn't get any more posh than that - would be oerfect with Wagu or Lobster at a pinch.

Had one of those the same night and had one about 45min ago tonight. Very good beer nd think it was ranked around number 7 on that beer night. I'm not a huge Lager drinker normally, but it is a good one. Best South Australian beer I've had for some time.

I think the emphasis should be on the person honored by the brewery and not on beer in general, so here goes:-

Runner-up Cheel Medal 1923, 1924

Latrobe premiership captain-coach 1922, 1924

Melbourne premiership player 1926

Brownlow Medal 1926, 1928

Runner-up Brownlow Medal 1929 (equal)

Melbourne Team of the Century

Tasmanian Team of the Century

Thankyou for reminding us what the orig post was actually about WJ.

My favourite beer is Duvel followed by Pilsner Urquell, both of which I've had in their country of origin, but one of the best beers I've ever had was a Cascade Pale Ale in the Cascade Gardens in Hobart. Unbelievably fresh. Combined with the picturesque surrounds, it sticks out in the memory.

Little Creatures Brewery in Freo is another great option.

If you like the European styles, as I do, Tumer Pils is well worth a sip.

Many good points all, I've had beer from about 50 different countries, Australian, Belgian, and Japanese varieties still stand out for me (and even with all the craft brewing, USA still generally sucks (except for a couple from Vermont). And Tassie remains one of my all time best places to take a holiday. Big shout out re Mountain Goat on a Friday in Richmond, that was always a hill of fun. The description of all these ales is killing me though, as I'm stuck with Becks or Carlsberg for the next 4 months (Sierra Leone beer is worse than Bud), anyway enjoy your bbq's.

BTW my understanding is that North Tassie drinks Boags and the South, Cascade, once again demonstrating that people from everywhere appreciated his footy as he was definitely a northerner.

Anybody who rates SA beer has no taste whatsoever.

Tassie beer is by far miles in front of any other.Boags probably being the best.

The trouble with coopers fans is they forget the below average beers most SA s drink.

Spot on..........SA is the driest state and they are often forced to use Murray water that is part polluted with agricultural chemicals and salinity . The water for their beer has to be excessively filtered and chlorine treated .

Many good points all, I've had beer from about 50 different countries, Australian, Belgian, and Japanese varieties still stand out for me (and even with all the craft brewing, USA still generally sucks (except for a couple from Vermont). And Tassie remains one of my all time best places to take a holiday. Big shout out re Mountain Goat on a Friday in Richmond, that was always a hill of fun. The description of all these ales is killing me though, as I'm stuck with Becks or Carlsberg for the next 4 months (Sierra Leone beer is worse than Bud), anyway enjoy your bbq's.

BTW my understanding is that North Tassie drinks Boags and the South, Cascade, once again demonstrating that people from everywhere appreciated his footy as he was definitely a northerner.

Gutsy effort being in Sierra Leone. Keep safe.

As a matter of interest is the epidemic slowing down. We don't hear as much about it on the news these days?

Gutsy effort being in Sierra Leone. Keep safe.

As a matter of interest is the epidemic slowing down. We don't hear as much about it on the news these days?

I'm safe as houses, don't do any medical stuff (its high risk procedures like intubation that gets ex pat staff sick) and I'd sooner cut a leg off than wash a dead body (which is chief method of transmission here for locals).

The numbers are not going to be disastrous, like the worst case scenario going around 3 months ago, but we haven't broken the transmission chain yet, still undocumented/untracked infections so probably take a year to get zero, been described as a bumpy tail off. There is a danger of it becoming endemic, so we can't take the foot off the pedal yet, so we work xmas, NYD etc which is a bit of a bore.

What I do is build stuff, move stuff, and run a few ops for the WFP Logistics Cluster (got to play with the UK navy which was a hill of fun - best time work wise in last 8 years (at least up there with young maronite christian ladies (colleagues) belly dancing on our dinner table in Lebanon). So if Dr's need a place to live in the bush we build it, food needed in affected areas we get it there, organize all the logs for the NGO's and partners and a few other bits and pieces.

What I can't get my head around is the orphans, team found a 9mth old baby trying to suckle on her dead mum, we sent UNICEF a message to collect kid were told they'd sent a care team up the next day (baby was with two older siblings <9yo). Anyway turned out they lied, baby died without care about a week later, only found this out because i'd returned to this village. Angry doesn't describe it, keeps me fired up.

Can't really load all the pics easily on this site, and it's about footy anyway, PM if you want a link to my pictures - they are happy no sad shots.

post-5907-0-90489800-1419696106_thumb.jp

Ahh the off season, I love beer unfortunately can't drink it anymore not sure why but after I drink 3 or more I get the worst headache no idea why never used too, so these days I have the odd Apple cider which are lovely on a nice day but I do miss having a beer :(

You need to have an invitation day.Well for the good posters anyway,maybe after the middle of the season bye.,

You could invite,Biff{supplier of everything}

Froggy{photography specialist}

DC{procurer of females over 65}

Ingeniokenektikey{beer wholesaler}

BBO{supplier of cheap sth american steaks}

Ethan Tremblay{supplier of discussion ideas}

Edited by jazza

I am a Carlton Draught man myself. Anything craft beerish wouldn't fit with the Colin B. Flaubert persona.
Generally though I live by the following axiom:

Edited by Colin B. Flaubert

Carlton draught is not beer.

Coopers was great during the beer dark ages. It's been left in the past and that is a good thing for everybody.

Mountain Goat risks being the Coopers equivalent of the 2000's. Respect is due to them given their innovation and main-stream success in a market dominated by shocking beer + cartels.

Best beer - Kooinda Estate american ale (the green) and the black IPA. Awesome. Just awesome.

I'm a big fan of Thunder Road's beers. Most likely because they're close to where I live and I'm a very lazy person. They won best medium sized brewer at the Aussie beer awards this year knocking off Mountain Goat. We just knocked off a barrel of (dare I say it) Collingwood Draught at home yesterday

Edited by Redbeard

I'm safe as houses, don't do any medical stuff (its high risk procedures like intubation that gets ex pat staff sick) and I'd sooner cut a leg off than wash a dead body (which is chief method of transmission here for locals).

The numbers are not going to be disastrous, like the worst case scenario going around 3 months ago, but we haven't broken the transmission chain yet, still undocumented/untracked infections so probably take a year to get zero, been described as a bumpy tail off. There is a danger of it becoming endemic, so we can't take the foot off the pedal yet, so we work xmas, NYD etc which is a bit of a bore.

What I do is build stuff, move stuff, and run a few ops for the WFP Logistics Cluster (got to play with the UK navy which was a hill of fun - best time work wise in last 8 years (at least up there with young maronite christian ladies (colleagues) belly dancing on our dinner table in Lebanon). So if Dr's need a place to live in the bush we build it, food needed in affected areas we get it there, organize all the logs for the NGO's and partners and a few other bits and pieces.

What I can't get my head around is the orphans, team found a 9mth old baby trying to suckle on her dead mum, we sent UNICEF a message to collect kid were told they'd sent a care team up the next day (baby was with two older siblings <9yo). Anyway turned out they lied, baby died without care about a week later, only found this out because i'd returned to this village. Angry doesn't describe it, keeps me fired up.

Can't really load all the pics easily on this site, and it's about footy anyway, PM if you want a link to my pictures - they are happy no sad shots.

Puts everything into perspective. Thanks for the report and the work you are doing.

Hope the Dees give you some joy in 2015.

Carlton draught is not beer.

Coopers was great during the beer dark ages. It's been left in the past and that is a good thing for everybody.

Mountain Goat risks being the Coopers equivalent of the 2000's. Respect is due to them given their innovation and main-stream success in a market dominated by shocking beer + cartels.

Best beer - Kooinda Estate american ale (the green) and the black IPA. Awesome. Just awesome.

Millions of Aussies seem to disagree with your assessment of Carlton draught.

The guys who owned little creatures sold it not too long ago.

They purchased a little wine/beer bar in Margaret River and now brew their own beer and wine (red and white), all on tap.

It is reasonably priced and all very good. If you're ever down south in WA, I suggest a visit to Swing's Taphouse.

Always looking for new beers to try, some good suggestions so far, keep them flowing.

I'm with The Ox ...Coopers Pale Ale all the way..Outstanding drop.

Done the Taswegian beers & they rate ok but not outstanding IMO.

Done the WA beers...Little creatures is very good, also Redback I think it was.. nice direct from Little Creatures brewery which was a nice place in Freo.

As for Vic beers..

Melbourne Bitter at No 1 for me & then Stone & wood.

I don't touch VB as its just bloody terrible. Worst beer by far IMO.