Posted

Cant put the link up but a good piece about Joel Macdonald. Says he wants to be remembered as a dee admits he isn't the best but just to have a real crack!!

Don't mind J Mac, he had a fairly good 2010 with out starring he disposal could have a bit of work done to it but a bloke who will go out with the right attitude to the contest!

Posted

Always rated him highly, was surprised to see him come in 6th place in our latest time trial, that's a great effort.

Have to wonder about the quote though "I do feel like a Melbourne person … I’m proud to say I play for Melbourne" How can anyone have anything even close to pride after years of getting smashed and now universally labelled as cheats...shame or embarrassment would be a more accurate feeling for mine

Posted
Always rated him highly, was surprised to see him come in 6th place in our latest time trial, that's a great effort.

Have to wonder about the quote though "I do feel like a Melbourne person … I’m proud to say I play for Melbourne" How can anyone have anything even close to pride after years of getting smashed and now universally labelled as cheats...shame or embarrassment would be a more accurate feeling for mine

i'm sure robbie flower wouldn't agree with you c&b

i'd give my lefty to play afl win, lose or draw as most punters on here would

Posted

Probably his personal pride C & B, pretty sure the young guys of 84-86 copped plenty of hammerings which made them enjoy the years after 86 that little bit more.

Posted

Its not the missing targets that frustrates me the most about Joel Mac. Its his over zealous tackles that seem to always land high. His mate Bail suffers from a similar problem. Hopefully the preseason tackling coaching helps in this area.

I wont write him off though, a years a long time in footy, and with the right attitude there is no reason tha he cant continue to improve aspects of his game.

Posted
As much as Joel tries, I reckon Neeld likes players that can hit targets...

He does seem to like Joel though, and so do I. Not saying he's our best kick, not even saying he should be picked every game, but one thing I've missed about our team for a long time is players who have "spirit", and he certainly plays like he does.

Posted

Over the years there have been a few players like Joel at the club, not great talents but 100% effort players who will never flinch or take a backward step, unfortunately, in the main, they have all come to us from other clubs. I'd like to think we can develop our own and maybe they will have the skill set to match.

He is an interesting one, not great skills wise but the sort of player that will show the younger players what they need to do.

Posted
As much as Joel tries, I reckon Neeld likes players that can hit targets...

and catch footballs

Posted

Don't understand the weather reference. I am under the impression Joel went to my school, Ivanhoe Grammar. Which would make him a Melburnian. Am I wrong?

Posted
Don't understand the weather reference. I am under the impression Joel went to my school, Ivanhoe Grammar. Which would make him a Melburnian. Am I wrong?

Originally came from Mt. Gravatt FC in Qld

Posted

With Morton and Bartram gone I reckon he could become one of the top whipping boys. I do admire parts of his game, he has good courage and aggression, but at times his disposal and decision making has made him a bit of a liability on the field.

Hopefully there will start to be more players on the list that can deliver the ball well so he can look to them once he's won the ball.

I'm trying to figure out whether there's anyone nipping at his heels for his spot.

Posted
Always loved this bloke.

Every AFL club needs a few guys like this on the list.

Agreed, Ron. Always admired the way Joel goes about his business. Not the classiest guy going around. But, always gives his all, and can be relied upon to be there when he's needed.

I was very pleased when he crossed to us from the Lions, and have not changed my opinion.

Posted
Still could be a really solid player...i sure hope so. His attitude is great.

He's a stock, ordinary player who has forged out a career out through competitiveness and mental strength. I admire this sort of player greatly, more than any other sort of player really, but I wouldn't go expecting any more than what we get now.

Posted
Its not the missing targets that frustrates me the most about Joel Mac. Its his over zealous tackles that seem to always land high. His mate Bail suffers from a similar problem. Hopefully the preseason tackling coaching helps in this area.

I wont write him off though, a years a long time in footy, and with the right attitude there is no reason tha he cant continue to improve aspects of his game.

And we perpetuate another myth, how many weeks has Joel missed, suspended for high tackles?, same with Bail.......I am with VAGG on Joel Mac

Posted
And we perpetuate another myth, how many weeks has Joel missed, suspended for high tackles?, same with Bail.......I am with VAGG on Joel Mac

In a game last year I saw him miss two targets by 10 mtrs when he was under no pressure, both times the ball went oob and that's what my concern is. He can win the ball, he has the heart of a Demon, but his disposal and decision making sometimes makes you cringe.

I hope they have fixed that problem and that he gets a regular game as a fit, confident and firing JMac could be a real asset.

Posted
In a game last year I saw him miss two targets by 10 mtrs when he was under no pressure, both times the ball went oob and that's what my concern is. He can win the ball, he has the heart of a Demon, but his disposal and decision making sometimes makes you cringe.

I hope they have fixed that problem and that he gets a regular game as a fit, confident and firing JMac could be a real asset.

Geez Rob....You could say that about 70% of our list last year..Just watched the Rich game from last year....Trengove oob on the full under no pressure....McKenzie great short pass to a rich player.....and it went on and on.......I really believe that confidence was a major problem last year.....We now have a forward line which can compete in the air....I really felt for Rivers and Garland in this game...

Posted
Geez Rob....You could say that about 70% of our list last year..Just watched the Rich game from last year....Trengove oob on the full under no pressure....McKenzie great short pass to a rich player.....and it went on and on.......I really believe that confidence was a major problem last year.....We now have a forward line which can compete in the air....I really felt for Rivers and Garland in this game...

He has specialised in that Boss dog but I am hoping that will change in 2013.

The one thing that Mckenzie, Trengove and Joel can do is get the ball that is one hell of a start .

Surely it is possible to modify their behaviour from that point on.

Well I am praying that is the case.

Posted

Would much rather a year where one of our depth players gets rubbed out occasionally for going too hard than a year where we have very little aggression, tackling, and spirit.