Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Casey Scorpions v Williamstown

Thanks for the updates guys, not often I turn off the football on TV but the game was so boring and the commentary average at best.

Watts and Gysberts, that's good to hear.

I noticed at one point Sheahan was moved on to Skinner, how did he go?

Great effort by all in bringing this game to us tonight and very much appreciated.Great to get us over the line.

Hope it is a great tonic for KC being away.I am sure he'd be rapped in beating Willie.

Edited by jayceebee31

Saw the first half. Gys involved in a lot. Seemed to win ball around contests and get it moving quickly. Watts just did a lot of nice stuff and was the classiest user on the field by some margin. In the first half did lots of little things BUT a few pieces of play stood out on the back flank and deep in the forward pocket - beat multiple opponents, gave himself time and hit up targets well. Strauss worked himself into the game. Tapscott was strong in contests and kicked two goals by taking gutsy marks at about 50, went back and slotted the damn thing. Bail engaged and aggressive. Tom mcdonald involved when the ball went forward but "not quite" a lot, if you know what I mean.

Morton disappoints me constantly, and then does something really nicely and I remember that I shouldn't damn him. I did not notice grimes much, but one instance where he straightened his run at the ball to put off the opponent led to him winning the contest and clearing the ball.

All in all willy got a lot if free kicks. I think 4 or 5 of their first 6 goal came from dubious frees or a chain of dubious frees. A number of their players looked more skilled and less willing to scrap than the Casey counterparts. They caught casey napping a few times: If casey had the ball in dispute and in their forward line, a player for willy would lurk at abotu hbf (for willy) on the opposite side to where the play was. If willy won the ball, this playe would stay wide and run towards the forward line. Casey got caught out by this a few times and did not seem to realise that they were done by by being outnumbered, not overlap and superior running.

I believe Jack Grimes only played the first half. Wondering if anyone knows whether that was planned or if he had any problems.

Very interesting post - can we get some sort of response re Grimes please? He is a very important cog in our team and I'm sure we all would like to gain feedback.Thanks in anticipation.

Also really looking forward to Diablo's report and summary.

Got out to Casey , bloody cold night tbh , game was really close and pretty good standard , when willy had the ball they used it better running through the mid field , but casey were more determined,

Watts - got better has the game went on , played in a number roles and should def play round one after that performance

Gysberts - very good in the midfield , missed a running goal late , clearance specialist and looks a bit bigger, will go close to round one selection

Grimes - didn't star but vey solid and will def play round one if match fit

Tapscott - tough and hard , skillful , neeld will love tappy, was very good tonight, prob needs another vfl match to be fit for senior footy , but shouldn't be far away

Morton - played a good second half I thought , such a confidence player , if he gets this right will be much better this year I reckon.

Fitzy - kicking still a concern , but improving all the time , starting to crash packs and took some good marks.

Grimes was rested more in the second half but still played , def not injured , although Strauss copped a nasty hit and was a bit dazed for a bit , but he did manage to walk off unaided after been down for a while

Thanks JA for your comments etc

Fitzy - Played forward and relieved in the ruck he takes a good mark and competed well. I don't think he will play round 1. Still has to work on his decision making at times looks like a lost deer.

Sheehan - Played full back most of the game and competed really well. He will be good competition for the backline

Strauss - saw him take a couple of kick-ins he got a few possessions reckon he is 3-4 weeks away needs to get his touch back.

Couch - Would be surprised if he isn't promoted for round 1 I had him best on ground his contested and clearance work was first rate.

Tapscott - played on the wing to start with. Then after about 2nd qtr moved forward kicked 2.2 for the night was a strong presence and tackled strong in the 50m. He showed no signs of having trouble picking up the tempo after time off with injury. He has staked a claim for round 1 depends on his match fitness though.

Watts - First quarter he was looking a little lost played predominantly on the wing in first quarter and followed the ball around and competed at stoppages seem to be given a license to follow the ball around. Although he didn't impact much in the first I think it helped establish the tempo of the game for him. After the first quarter he played high half forward and started to come into the game and bring others into the game. I think he had about 4 direct goal assists over the game and after half time he played up on the 50 and stayed there for the rest of the game. I had him kicking 2 goals for the night. Rightly amongst the best tonight. 3rd best on field. He was good in a congested 50 and helped win the game in the last quarter.

Morton - Played half back and as many good things he did, he also did bad. Please someone tell him not to kick the footy off one step. The ball has no penetration and is often intercepted. However he was solid without being spectacular. I know he is much maligned but he didn't perform too badly tonight and he did kick an important goal to start the last quarter.

Gysberts - was on the ball most of the night. He laid some real strong tackles and won a lot of clearances 2nd best on ground. Has put his hand up for round 1. I couldn't see any signs of poor endurance as he contested the first and last center square ball ups.

Bail - Played really well as a tagger for most of the night he did his job and worked hard all night.

Tynan - huge raps for the kid he started down back and then went forward kicked a nice goal and missed a shot after the siren on half time. I think i'll claim this kid he looks the goods.

Grimes - i think he only played a half? not sure he marshaled the troops down back I think he might play another week at Casey and miss round one to get more game time.

Mcdonald - was the most damaging forward think he was involved in 3 or 4 goals and he just loves the hard stuff. Can he stand up in a tackle or what he is very strong through the hips.

Not sure who I have missed but apologies.

We a playing the full ground press which seemed to be the same for Willy a couple of times Willy got over the back of the press and scored 2-3 goals out the back.

In the first quarter the ball was 54% in our forward half 2nd quarter was around the 30% mark and about 25% in the 3rd. I had about 60% in the final quarter. (saw the board at 3qtr time)

We played the boundary line all night I saw one kick for the night that centered the ball into the middle from the backline for the entire night. We were well down on Willy for possessions for night but this is more to

do with the game plan. The contested ball after half time was great! not that good to watch but its so far removed from the way we used to play. Casey was murdered by the umps down field

free kicks and 50m were heavily weighted against Casey. Overall it was an even contest by looking Casey had a lot more MFC players than Willy had bulldogs I think we had double.

Casey was lucky to win inaccurate kicking cost Willy. I would have been happy to loose we are playing in way which has a defensive mindset first. You hear players shouting instruction to ensure that the structures are maintained at ball ups, kick ins. Structure is first, we get the defense right and I think the game plan will allow for more attack when we get our basics right first.

good news MFC players all appeared injury free - YAY

Kyle Matthews did hurt a shoulder and was subbed off early.

That's about it all i can come up with.

Edited by Diablo Deemon

I must watch footy differently to everyone else.

I found Watts disappointing. He's a 196cm outside mid. We know that he's classy when the ball is free and wide, but he didn't do any key position stuff tonight. Yes, I know he played off a wing, yes he did some nice goal assists, but he had plenty of opportunities to impact marking contests, but he still spectates. So many Melbourne supporters are beguiled by some skill, but they're clearly easily pleased. The guy is entering his 4th year and isn't a key forward. He's not what we thought we were drafting. He may become a key forward, but he's not even close right now. Just keeping it real people.

My standouts were Gysberts and Couch. Gysberts tried hard last week, but it didn't really work for him. He was in much better touch tonight. He got plenty of inside ball and worked really hard. A really good game.

Couch got leather poisoning in the first half. He gets that quick clearance kick, or handball, he's as tough as nails and tackles heaps. He'll turn the odd one over, but he also had plenty of really nice disposals. I liked his game.

Fitzy is really improving. He was a presence tonight and took some nice contested marks.

I love Tapscott. He was a forward tonight (despite reports at the beginning of this thread) and took 3 excellent marks. His tackling was also ferocious.

A special mention to Tynan. I really like him as a footballer. He's got class, he's tough, and a beautiful size. He'll play more than 200 games for the MFC,

EDIT: I left at 3/4 time and Grimes played in the third quarter, but was quiet. Also, Tapscott never started on a wing (or down back), he started and stayed on a HFF.

Edited by Ben-Hur

Grimes was rested more in the second half but still played , def not injured , although Strauss copped a nasty hit and was a bit dazed for a bit , but he did manage to walk off unaided after been down for a while

Strauss good up until he took a late hit. Looked very sore around the neck area when he walked off. The player that got him off the ball was No.43 Redpath. Not even a free kick. Funny thing was the ump paid dubious 50m penalties an frees for late tackles to WIlly all night but an obvious free to Casey was not seen.

Watts definitely looked a class above but still does not impact enough. Although he definitely was better in the second half especially last quarter - did some nice turns

Tappy - loved his intent. Hurled himself on to a Willy player to run him down. Cant wait for him to be back in the seniors. Loved his kicking and run. Wont be surprised if he is in the 22 especially if he has a good week at training and pulls up all right after tonight.

Bails - did some good in and under but to me he is one that could miss out.

Josh Tynan - is definitely a senior prospect. Has good hands.

Grimes - as reported came off at half time but has definitely a quality about him.

McDonald - was a little disappointed with him tonight although kicked a nice goal.

Couch - did nothing wrong but not in the first 22 yet

Gysberts - definitely a better game this week

Morton what can I say. He is really frustrating to watch

Fitzgerald - needs to hold those marks.

Kelvin Lawrence apparently did not have a good afternoon.

Casey had a lot more MFC players than Willy had bulldogs I think we had double.

Funny. The team lists showed more doggies than demons. Must have been a few late changes.

Good to hear that some of our boys are finding touch and confidence. We'll need both if we want to get a decent start to the season.

Strauss copped an albow to the face. Lay on the turf for a couple of mins before walking off dazed. He didn't return to the field, so hope it's nothing more than minor concussion. Mark Neeld left the balcony immediately to join him in the rooms.

Watts came off the ground with about 4-5 mins to go with what looked like some minor knee soreness. The doctor was checking him over but I don't think it's anything to worry about. Started the game on the wing and moved forward before half time. Got better and better as the game went on. Was involved in a lot of the forward plays and finished with a couple of goals and a handful of assists.

Loved watchin Tappy out there. Couple of big hits/tackles as you'd come to expect and spent most of the time around half forward. Had plenty of bench time but played the game out. 2 goals and can tell has trimmed down a little similar to Jonesy.

Morton, not a lot to cheer about. Still frustrates me how long he takes to put boot to ball. Was involved now and then but nothing special.

After a slowish pre season, Gys looked good tonight I thought. Defintely Knows how to find the ball around the stoppages.

Didn't get a great look at Grimes as I spent most of the night switching ends to be around the forward 50. Played the game out but like Tappy, had a fair amount of bench time.

First VFL game and didn't mind headin out to Casey. A bit chilly, but a good atmosphere and a good contest. You could feel the crowd hanging onto every Watts moment. Should play round 1.

I noticed as well Gysberts was hardly off the ground before he was on again. Obviously trying to get as much game time as possible.

I forgot Jai Sheahan. He was more noticeable last week but defiitely a possibility.

Tappy is a definite to go forward this year. I love the way he plays but I also think that he has to manage the aggression or he will be targeted by the umps.

I was talking with a number of the Casey second players and they were saying that this year there is definitely more interaction with the MFC that there was last year. That the coaching staff have been down there. They are definitley following MFC game plan much more so than last year. Lovett is a much harder at training than last year. Very positive about the MFC connection.

Judging by the reports I think the role of the development coaches in each position - Nicholls, Greaves and Satterley came into fruition tonight. Good to see our reserves in Casey play the same way as the seniors, it might mean short term pain for both but in the end will help.

Re: Casey vs. Williamstown, Sat 6pm

Pretty good crowd out there tonight considering Casey were complete underdogs going in to the game. I must say I was glad I went out there, as it was a very good game to watch (apart from being distracted having to type in to a stupid phone).

Players;

McDonald

He tried hard all night but it didn't seem to happen for him tonight, he spent most of the night down back, but had no influence on the game.

Strauss

He went ok tonight but didn't seem to have as much clear, clean possession as in the pre season games. Played all 4 quarters but with limited time in each. Still a few weeks away from a call up.

Fitzpatrick

This guy has a [censored] load of potential, the way he moves around the ground when he is on the ball is very impressive. He has ability in ruck work & is very athletic & his kicking & decision making is improving quickly. The problems occur when he is moved forward, but I reckon it would be hard for any key forward to have an influence with the way the ball is delivered in to the forward line.

Tynan

This kid is a gun, he is gutsy, can take a contested mark, can play forward, back or midfield, makes good decisions, delivers the ball well & can kick a goal... He will play quite a few games this year in the 1sts... I can't wait until he gets a couple of pre seasons under his belt.

Sheehan

Started a bit slow tonight but he got the feel for the pace of the game & was extremely solid. I beleive he was moved on to Skinner ( who was a danger against us) & he beat him. I think, once again that there would be another big tick put against his name.

Couch

He is one tough nut. I'm not sure he will get a call up yet but he sure will pile the pressure on to the other midfielders to not drop their guard. he won a lot of ball both inside & outside.

Morton

I have been a supporter of this kid for awhile but he just doesn't seem to get it !!!!!! He should dominate at this level, but he just seems to drift along, doing things every now & then, looking good doing it & in between all of that he has quite a few clangers... Not good enough

Bail

One tough nut, I would have him in my team as one of the 1st picked...

I mentioned earlier tonight that I reckon he should be our small forward option. Very good tonight.

Grimes. He should be better than his opposition tonight & he was. Very clever & controlled the backline. he didn't have a heap of possessions but I don't think that was an issue.

Gysberts

Tough, strong, clever & good ball user. he did another great job tonight & will get a call up next week.

Tapscott

He probably got a bit tired towards the end, but it was bloody great to see him take strong contested marks, crunch blokes in tackles, kick long goals & forgive him for giving 50 metre penalties for hurting players with solid hits. I would love to say he will play next week but it ain't going to happen...

Watts

He started on the wing (1st qtr), played deep forward (2nd qtr), a bit of everything in the 3rd & deep forward in the last. This kid showed enough today to impress the coaching panel & demand a spot in the team...

It appeared to be a full contingent of the hierarchy there tonight, so they will get a clear idea of who did what (probably totally opposite to my opinion). It was also really nice to see that a FULL minutes slience was given, in respect of Jim by ALL at the ground.

I hope all you guys enjoyed kicking back at home tonight, but you missed a really good game tonight, especially you Stretch...

PS, I had a really good chat to Jack Fitzpatrick's mum & dad tonight & got another really good insight to the vibe down there at the moment. It re-instilled my belief in what is happening at MFC... Bring on next week.

I found Watts disappointing.

2 Goals, 26 possessions (that's 26 ...) and named in the best. Think I could live with that.

There's only one Jack Watts. If he becomes the first 196 cm small forward, so be it. So much of the criticism of him comes from expectations of what he should be. Perhaps we should just give him a chance to be what he is.

The way footy is played these days I wonder if there's room for 2 Mitch Clark's in the one team? If you're expecting Watts to be a Mitch Clark at this stage of his development you're going to be disappointed. I think he'll fit in very nicely at AFL level if he gets 26 disposals, 2 goals and 2 goal assists every week.

The hun has JW as BOG last night.

Can he do more than that?

Also said Grimes only had 4 possesions in the first half.

After that and comments on here it is hard to see him in the team next Saturday.

I think there are a few more weeks at Casey for him yet.

He took on some responsability tonight to make things happen, and was good to see him back himself on occassion instead of looking to give it off everytime. Was a very good standard match and I'm very glad I went along to Casey instead of watching the Sydney-v-GWS match.

Hallelujah to that! Standard was very good, it was a close contest and it was good win By Casey even if they had a few more Melbourne listed players on the park. Williamstown are a flag favourite and they really were outplayed when it mattered.

Raspberries to the AFL, their split round and single game slopfest. I can understand them wanting all the media attention in Sydney but I'm in Melbourne so this game for me was a non-event and of no interest. Perhaps it's the fact I'm a club watcher, not a game watcher.

Much to like about the games of some MFC players last night and it is predictable that the focus of attention is Watts. His game was solid without being spectacular. The overhead snap through traffic even missing would have had some commentators jubilating had it been pulled off by a 7 foot Fijian. Simple fact is that Watts does not have the agro, pack crashing body or mentality as yet. Hopefully it comes soon and people will get off is back.

Just a comment on the way Casey played yesterday. There are signs that it is closely aligned to the way Melbourne has in pre-season. They moved the ball mainly up the wings and with success. Switches were quick as well as most F50 entries. It wasn't just a case of bombing it in but there were occasions when it worked such as with Watts one out. Casey were also able to mount some good attack from turnovers through the centre where Willy preferred to run.

Edited by diesel

Tim, I didn't hate your post until I read this line. Now I've got flashbacks of Neale Daniher selling us his vision of Paul Johnson. Argh.

I know, I know! The big difference is that Watts is good.