Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

PREGAME: Rd 03 vs Carlton

20 hours ago, bluey said:

Out L. PICKET, CULLY, both hopeless.

In MAC DONALD, AMW

Give Latrelle some slack.

He showed a flash of brilliance v the Saints.

It's his second game.

In all honesty you could drag at least half the team after our last game.

7 hours ago, Maldonboy38 said:

TMac in for Turner.

AMW, although short of a gallop, in for Latrelle who needs 1 year minimum at Casey. I know it is a forward for a backman, but we can shuffle players to accommodate. Try Lindsay at half forward maybe.

Tholstrup to Sam Walsh.

The hysteria!! a first year player has one bad game after strong preseason form and decent debut game and now he needs a year in casey because his second match was poor when the whole team got smashed. hysterical fans means footy is back!

3 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Alright I’ll spell it out. We do need run and good quality disposal from our backline. Lindsay isn’t showing much as a defender. Max is tired and Heath dominated the ruck at Casey. Can’t see what I said was so implausible.

Max has had two games beat both opponents convincingly, Petty is there to give a chop out like he was against the Saints and lst night before Turner went down. Tmac comes in for Turner, we need run, if Heath comes in one of your forwards comes out, who is it JVR, Miochek or Fritsch

1 hour ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Max has had two games beat both opponents convincingly, Petty is there to give a chop out like he was against the Saints and lst night before Turner went down. Tmac comes in for Turner, we need run, if Heath comes in one of your forwards comes out, who is it JVR, Miochek or Fritsch

Too much logic.

Possible Team

B: Lever, McDonald, Salem

HB: Rivers, Petty, Jiath

C: Windsor, Langford, Lindsay

HF: Chandler, van Rooyen, K.Pickett

F: Fritsch, Mihocek, L.Pickett

FOLL: Gawn, Steele, Tholstrup

IC: Howes, Langdon, Sharp, Culley, Heath

EMERG: Moniz-Wakefield, Taylor, Sparrow

3 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

I wouldn't say he beat Jackson convincingly. He was good but not great. I think he is tiring he's not a machine. He needs a rest shortly. Time to see how Heath goes. I'd like to know why Sparrow should keep his spot when he hasn't had a kick for 4 years. He's been gifted games far too often. We do lose run a bit but to keep giving Sparrow games when he doesn't deserve it is detrimental to the side.

I'd use Langdon, Culley and Sharp more in the middle to give them more run. I wouldn't use Heath as a forward unless Roo, Fritta or Checkers are getting a bath to see if he can make a difference, you can also use T.Mac or Petty up forward and Roo down back. 10 minutes a quarter for Heath in the ruck then the rest is Gawn's.

Edited by WERRIDEE

It's Max's 250th. The players need to have an extra lift for their warrior of a captain who has guided this team brilliantly

The easy option for the coaching staff is to drop Sparrow but the real challenge lies in coaching him through increasing his production.

9 minutes ago, Dannyz said:

The easy option for the coaching staff is to drop Sparrow but the real challenge lies in coaching him through increasing his production.

He certainly must be doing stuff that coaches ask of him that supporters don’t see or appreciate.

I look at him and think, he is a good size, seems powerful, is reasonably quick, good runner, good above head and has neat skills. But I just don’t get why he can’t put it all together. Athletically he is miles above Viney. But when the ball is bounced- couldn’t be further from him.

It must just be an attitude thing.

8 hours ago, Don24 said:

The hysteria!! a first year player has one bad game after strong preseason form and decent debut game and now he needs a year in casey because his second match was poor when the whole team got smashed. hysterical fans means footy is back!

No hysteria here. I thought it during preseason, and it has been confirmed in the first 2 rounds. His top 10% of play is mercurial and brilliant, but his body is not yet large enough and his general kicking skills fall to pieces under pressure. I reckon he was a great pick up and will be something special for us. Just not yet.

16 hours ago, DubDee said:

The overreaction on here is crazy

Last week Latrelle and Culley are champs

This week they should be dropped

The answer is somewhere in-betweeni just want to beat the sides that are our equal or worse.

1 hour ago, Dannyz said:

Sparrow is never going to do more than what he already does.
Goodwin made the wrong call replacing Jordon with Sparrow, Jordon would be a much better help to our team (and would have been the last 4 years) over Sparrow.
Has Sparrow been dropped? I cant remember him being dropped. But he hasn't warranted a spot in the side many times.

Sometimes the easy option is easy because its the right option.

19 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

TMac for Turner.

I’d consider Heath, but not necessarily this week vs Carlton.

I’d prefer Lindsay up the ground more and AMW coming in may help with that. Latrelle is fun but also not ready IMO for the pace of AFL level football, so I’d make that swap.

Sounds like youre piling on Latrelle.

10 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

McDonald will come in.

I think Moose should come in to give the tired Gawn a chop out. Sparrow is the one I'm looking at to replace. He hasn't had a kick since 2021. It shows just how bad we have become to allow a player to continually get games when he hasn't had a kick for 4 years. Moniz another week at VFL level for me isn't ready yet. Jiath deserves another chance or 2.

Latrelle was great against St.Kilda now people want him dropped must keep for mine along with Culley.

Sparrow had 9 tackles. Will not be dropped

Sparrow has become the next gen ANB for the hand wringing fans.

Clearly a coachable guy who sticks to task

32 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Sparrow had 9 tackles. Will not be dropped

As Paul Roos used to say you can't win games of footy if you don't tackle. He can tackle, and well.

On 21/03/2026 at 22:56, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

If we had defensive depth Jake Lever would be in real trouble.

Lever should be looking at the game passing him by. Increasingly injury prone, he has lost any semblance of pace.

Supporters of his talk of intercept marking, but that is an error. Previously, he could play centre-half-loose because someone else would be accountable. But with the speed and accuracy of the modern game an intercept mark is most likely only coming about as the result of an opposition error. Let's face it, he would have had a million intercepts playing against a Goodwin coached offence.

And the Freo game's reversion to old habits, kicking across goal inside 50 is just simply asking for a turnover. His distribution by hand and foot is unsafe. And standing, waving and pointing like peak Jack Watts leaves his teammates one short.

Sorry Jake; good servant; premiership player; use by date.

50 minutes ago, Bowserpower said:

Sounds like youre piling on Latrelle.

He was a romantic drafting, but is a flashy player, only had five kicks each game, can’t afford to carry a poor performance player in an ordinary team.

6 minutes ago, bluey said:

He was a romantic drafting, but is a flashy player, only had five kicks each game, can’t afford to carry a poor performance player in an ordinary team.

We were hammered and he plays in a position that is hit or miss. The bloke is 2 games into a career, give him time to find his feet

24 minutes ago, KoltTheRam said:

As Paul Roos used to say you can't win games of footy if you don't tackle. He can tackle, and well.

Sure, but he should have progressed from just a tackler to someone who actually influences games with ball in hand. He has been on the list for, 7 years?
Maybe I am being harsh but I expected more and he has shown glimpses of what he can do but seems like he wont ever take the next step of becoming a mid, or a 20 possessions per game sort of player.

21 hours ago, Fat Tony said:

CJ did a silly play where he ran too far but was solid otherwise I thought.

I think we are a better side with Melksham in it if he is fit.

I wouldn’t pick Heath. We should only play one ruck.

Latrelle needs to practice running at the goal and kicking a drop punt from 45m. You can’t plan to walk it in every time.

I want Rivers to play back and Lindsay on a wing.

How bout the handball into open space on the wing?

The sensible thing would have been to get tackled over the line and get a throw in but no lets panic handball into open space into 2 waiting Freo players and cough up a certain goal on turnover.

#FML

2 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

I’ll be just plain disappointed if we can win in Gawn’s 250th against very beatable opposition

I hope that's a typo and you mean "can't win".

I'm not fussed about who we play from week to week. It's more about getting games into the young talent so by this time in 2028 we are a formidable team to play against.

22 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

I’ll be just plain disappointed if we can win in Gawn’s 250th against very beatable opposition

Also Tom McDonald's 250 game if he is selected.