View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

The obsession with a roof. But then again it's tassie. One way to get money external money for the project. They can boors against docklands.

It's not dead in the water. It's a recommendation from the Tasmanian planning commission who do not make the decision. The outcome is not a shock at all.

It does give parliamentary members a solid reason to vote no that they can hang their hat on without commiting political suicide. That's about it. I doubt there would be anyone in Tasmanian parliament who would change their vote based on it. Their minds would have been made up by now.

Was just thinking about what an incredible job Andrew Dillon is doing since taking the reins. It seems everything he touches turns to gold.

1. Umpiring - top notch

2. Free agency - every club benefits, especially the bottom ones

3. Expansion - oh my, love how he's navigating this one

4. The draw - how the hell does he get it so even.

5. Academies - Wow, equalization at it's fairest

6. The Tribunal - gets it right every single time. No fear. No favour.

Not sure why I've watched more local footy this year, what with the future looking so bright.

1 hour ago, BDA said:

Probably impacts dog walkers as well

13 minutes ago, Return to Glory said:

Was just thinking about what an incredible job Andrew Dillon is doing since taking the reins. It seems everything he touches turns to gold.

1. Umpiring - top notch

Not sure why I've watched more local footy this year, what with the future looking so bright.

Haha and a Snoop extravaganza still to come.

28 minutes ago, Return to Glory said:

1. Umpiring - top notch

It’s an absolute clusterf&)k - AFL is a laughing stock. And add in the biased MRO under “magpie “ Christian

2 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

AFL shot themselves in the foot buying Docklands for some astronomical amount, when if they waited another year they’d only need to buy with $1.

this x 1,000,000,000. N one held accountable for the most obvious grift of all time.

Not that anyone with a political / corporate / financial / self interest will be listening, but...

A hundred mill., say, on 'UTAS' (Launie) stadium, then what wouldn't the remaining billion-odd do, in real public infrastructure, on Tassie's road spine, the Commonwealth's Highway 1 (the Midlands Hwy), to smooth / shorten / make safer, the match-day commute from Hobart to Launie (not to mention the boost to the struggling towns on the way...). Combine it with 'commute-friendly' match times (1 o'clock Saturdays and Sundays) and do we have a plan?

I don't understand what's wrong with the ovals that have been hosting AFL games for decades. The AFL is extorting the Tassie public, $1bn(++) for a stadium that isn't necessary is utterly deplorable. If the AFL want the stadium that bad, pay for it yourself.

3 hours ago, Robbie57 said:

Jeepers the report suggests it will cost every household in Tas (not on Govt benefits for income) $5900 and require new state taxes of $50M per annum. Brave State Government to push that through in such a small state and their supporting legislation may fail in their upper house because the Govt doesnt have the numbers there. All that before any AFL subsidies for the team itself. Albo will be getting a lot of calls for help.

Does sound very Utopia.

Has to be considerable doubt on the timetable now.

Unconscionable and not viable, when you crystallise the cost per head like that! So many basic things, like easy access to schools, are already unavailable to the everyday Taswegian. Any dosh should be spent on improving that, rather than an AFL rort.

12 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I don't understand what's wrong with the ovals that have been hosting AFL games for decades. The AFL is extorting the Tassie public, $1bn(++) for a stadium that isn't necessary is utterly deplorable. If the AFL want the stadium that bad, pay for it yourself.

Nothing.... so what's the real story 🤔 👀 😏

If they can play games at a half demolished 5,000 capacity Mars Stadium in the depths of a Ballarat winter then they can play them anywhere.

2 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

If they can play games at a half demolished 5,000 capacity Mars Stadium in the depths of a Ballarat winter then they can play them anywhere.

This.

The AFL is one heapin' helpin' of hypocrisy.

Remind me; how many other stadiums have rooves?

Remind me; which capitals are actually drier than Hobart?

43 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Can the powers that be now take a moment to realise that this competition can’t sustain any more teams.

I’m not saying you're wrong and the reported lack of quality in this year’s draft might suggest you’re right. But the population will have grown over 25% and 5 million people from when the Suns joined to when Tassie is due to come in.

If the comp can’t sustain another team then the AFL really needs to look at how it’s growing the game.

53 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Can the powers that be now take a moment to realise that this competition can’t sustain any more teams.

Gold Coast folds and becomes Tasmania.

GWS relocates to Canberra and play a handful of games in Sydney every season.

1 hour ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I am not sure the AFL actually want the Devils, hence putting a crazy stipulation on the stadium that they thought would probably never get built.

6 hours ago, darkhorse72 said:

The obsession with a roof.

The AFL’s product is at stake here - and we’ve all seen a windy and cold Tassie makes their product look extraordinarily worse on national TV

In fact, AFL games in Tassie have been some of the worst conditions we’ve seen our top-tier national game played in.

The competition doesn’t need Tassie so if they want in, they need to chip in.

If they’re not up for it, let’s carry on as we have for the last ~150,years.