Posted
1 hour ago, Lil_red_fire_engine said:

AMW injury aside that’s what you want from an initial hit out. We rolled over them the longer  the game went and with 50% of our best 18 watching on. Sharp and Langford I suggest stepped closest to a round 1 lock. Laurie (lacks pressure), Jefferson (lacks any ability to contest) and likely controversially TMac (cost us 3 goals in the first half) all stepped further away from a round 1 chance. Plenty of others were in between. Our backline lacks structure without May to Marshall it. Sharp aside our speed forwards were invisible. Koz good when in midfield and a fair effort cameo from Kynan in the last was the next best. Van Rooyens 4 goals and AJ’s cameo in the last really wants me to see us play AJ forward and as relief ruck again Freo. The man loves contact and looks like he has mobility and ball smarts to go with it. Roo can negate in the middle but we lack inside forward 50 once he relieves,  

Someone said Adams did well, but I didn’t really notice him.

Thoughts?

Posted

I've read two comments indicating Harvey Langford may lack pace. I'm a wrap for Harvey but is this a genuine concern or about adjusting to a quicker pace?

Posted
2 minutes ago, Return to Glory said:

I've read two comments indicating Harvey Langford may lack pace. I'm a wrap for Harvey but is this a genuine concern or about adjusting to a quicker pace?

He isn't overly quick, but should still be a champion!

Posted
1 minute ago, Return to Glory said:

I personally didn’t see his pace as an issue at all

He’s not quick but he’s got high footy IQ and great positioning - it’s almost like he knows he’s not quick but can use his smarts find space 

Had an absolutely beautiful lace out kick inside 50 at one point too

• Like 16
Posted
5 minutes ago, Return to Glory said:

He’s an inside mid with great IQ, excellent kick and quick hands. Strong at the contest and tackles.  Sure he’s not got that Judd like burst but his acceleration will get worked on with the athletic development.  He’s a ripper kid and I’m glad he’s in red & blue.  

• Like 15
Posted
2 hours ago, bush demon said:

Who was the guy who always had a "foreign object" in his hand?

Maybe Killer Carl Cox or Bulldog Brewer, but let’s face it, heaps of the ‘bad guys’ used the foreign objects which could range from some small concealed mystery item that was never fully revealed to a folding chair.

Posted
12 minutes ago, adonski said:

He isn't overly quick, but should still be a champion!

Agree. Reckon he is quick enough for AFL. Has excellent vision and can dispose well. Crippa and the Bont aren't the quickest around and there not too shabby.

Posted

I see in the Casey match report that Mentha came off with a minor ankle injury… hopefully that initial opinion of the observer is accurate and that it’s not more serious.

Who said MFCSS is dead?

Posted
1 hour ago, george_on_the_outer said:

...Brute Bernard?

I just did some online research, and it seems it was Killer Carl Cox who partook in the "surreptitious use of foreign objects", not to mention the brain buster.

Posted (edited)

Who took their chance? Sharp, Sparrow, AJ, Billings, Langford, Lindsay, McDonald, Campbell, Woewodin. AMW (until injured!!!)

Who Didn't? Laurie, Chandler.

Marginal with good signs: Jefferson, Turner, Adams, Howes

Edited by waynewussell
Posted
3 minutes ago, waynewussell said:

Who took their chance? Sharp, Sparrow, AJ, Billings, Langford, Lindsay, McDonald, Campbell, Woewodin. AMW (until injured!!!)

Thought Howes was pretty ordinary but agree with the rest

Posted
2 hours ago, bush demon said:

Who was the guy who always had a "foreign object" in his hand?

There was no "one guy" who used foreign objects.

Nearly all the "bad guy" wrestlers used foreign objects at different times.

Posted
32 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

He’s an inside mid with great IQ, excellent kick and quick hands. Strong at the contest and tackles.  Sure he’s not got that Judd like burst but his acceleration will get worked on with the athletic development.  He’s a ripper kid and I’m glad he’s in red & blue.  

Sounds like you're describing the next Dusty 😌

Posted
46 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Someone said Adams did well, but I didn’t really notice him.

Thoughts?

Adams showed some really well timed spoils (has good closing speed). Gave away a silly fifty. He was only noticeably beaten once that I saw. I think he will develop further this year as the key back at VFL but did not look out of p[lace today.  

Posted
3 hours ago, forever demons said:

was not skull doing the  sleeper hold it was a bloke with dark hair cant remember his name

Was it Mario Milano?

Posted

Good signs apart from the AMW injury.

Hard to take too much out of it though. I was surprised how bad North played. No better than a possibles vs probables club hit out.

Posted
38 minutes ago, waynewussell said:

Given our injury list, Billings is a lock for rd 1, but his disposal hasn't improved from last year. Under limited pressure he kicks the ball to the opposition far too often. And Woey was pretty quiet for mine.

Turner is well ahead of Jefferson at this stage.

I'd love to see a forward structure with Fritsch, JVR and Turner as leading forwards, and maybe use AJ as a 2nd ruck and a bash and crash forward.

Posted

Did Pup Brown do much?  Much game time?

Or just another last minute game time v North

Posted
14 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Did Pup Brown do much?  Much game time?

Or just another last minute game time v North

Came on in the last quarter and laid some strong tackles. Kicked a great goal as well. I think he played out the Casey match.

Posted
1 hour ago, Return to Glory said:

Gee I remember when they said that about Greg Williams and he went alright.