Clintosaurus 7,953 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Best to Gus. Can we sign someone else to the list or too late? 1 Quote
I'va Worn Smith 996 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Devastating news. The Norm Smith curse is well and truly back. Best for Angus I suppose, but the AFL will now be quivering through their lack of duty of care. There is ample precedent on concussion injuries. The AFL were warned. 3 Quote
Little Goffy 14,963 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 My all-time favourite player taken out of the game by condoned thuggery. The sadness and anger is beyond words. Brayshaw will be all right because he is a champion human being as well as footballer, but he deserved so much more luck than he had. 24 5 1 Quote
Satan 2,921 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Sad day for a great player . Stay healthy Gus 1 Quote
binman 44,824 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Heart break for Gus. His teammates too. Super brave decision - but obviously the right thing for him though. CTE is a nightmare. Hard not think it will ultimately change the sport. Fir one thing, I'd go with goody's take, and flat out ban the bump. People will say it would change footy too much - but would it really? I mean how often does a bump actually achieve something other than rattling someone's cage? Tackling is almost always the better option than a bump in terms of say winning the ball back and/or preventing an opponent disposing of the ball. Thanks Gus for all you've given the club and fans. 25 2 2 1 Quote
Deevout 534 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 😭 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭 Goodluck for your future after football Gus. 🏆 You are always a Premiership player ❤️💙 As for most things Collingwood 😡 1 1 Quote
Roost it far 10,137 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 The preseason that just keeps on giving. Hope his health remains strong, all the best! 3 Quote
RedLegs23 1,139 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 That 3rd Qtr in the 21 GF from Gus will live on in hearts for eternity. We love you Gussy boy Sink or swim kinda stuff now from our club. QB is gonna get ugly 13 2 Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Hang your heads Maynard and the AFL. Shameful. 18 2 1 Quote
jane02 3,795 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 I hope the karma bus runs that thug Maynard over this year. I’m still beyond angry about what happened last season. I will never, ever forget what he did.😡😡 26 Quote
Die Hard Demon 1,224 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Absolutely gutted. Feeling hollow about this year ahead. 5 Quote
Edward Langdon 96 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 4 minutes ago, Bates Mate said: Best call for his long term health. But really sucks from a team perspective. In our top 5-6 must important and best players. Dark day for the the Dee's and the AFL in general. That Magyars Maynard hit had ended his career and the AFL ticked it off as ok. In fairness Laura Kane stepped in and initially had Maynard suspended. 2 1 1 Quote
Young Blood 2,642 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Too upset to comment properly at the moment. Had to remove myself from the office at work as was tearing up. My favorite player just retired too soon and its heartbreaking. Take care Angus, we all care about you so much and feeling for you at the moment. 6 2 2 Quote
ElDiablo14 5,055 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 5 minutes ago, Ouch! said: Lets see if Collingwoods media team kicks another own goal and lets Maynard attempt to wish Brayshaw all the best. After the netball repurposing, it's certainly something that they are stupid enough to do. ..... Seriously though, if he comes out to say anything publicly, I'll do my nut. I'll go bananas on KB game make no mistake 😡😡😡 5 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Genuinely shocked. His health is the most important thing. I'm sure being married to a Frawley helped him with this decision. Best of luck in retirement Gus. Next time we play the pies i want to see Maynard get the treatment from our boys. special dispensation. What a scumbag that guy is. 3 2 Quote
DubDee 26,674 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 when was his last concussion? like 5 years ago? if so Maynard has ended his career and cost him millions and put his long term health in jeopardy with zero punishment im furious 6 1 1 Quote
John Crow Batty 8,892 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Feel sad for Gus, wish him the best, he didn’t get justice for having his health and career ruined and I hope sues the effing [censored] out of the AFL. 7 1 1 Quote
demosaw 1,155 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Thanks Gus. We’ll always have 2021 🏆 3 Quote
binman 44,824 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 1 minute ago, Edward Langdon said: In fairness Laura Kane stepped in and initially had Maynard suspended. Performative. The AFL put on a woeful case and then didn't appeal a ridiculously flawed decision. 22 2 5 1 Quote
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,824 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Love you Gus❤️ being there in flesh to witness your greatest footy moment means even more now. Be proud of what you have accomplished in the game, still have alot more to contribute in the media and in life. ❤️W4TA🏆🥇🇱🇮 4 1 Quote
At the break of Gawn 4,513 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Maynard’s medal will always have an asterisk for mine. 6 1 1 Quote
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,824 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Just now, binman said: Performative. The AFL put on a woeful case and then didn't appeal a ridiculously flawed decision. I was absolutely filthy at the time, times it by 10 now. 3 1 1 Quote
Gorgoroth 13,220 Posted February 22, 2024 Posted February 22, 2024 Thanks for everything Gus, inaugural wingers club member, premiership player, good guy and stealer of the helmet power! 5 Quote