Posted

This bloke is getting a lot of interesting feedback around the JHF commentary.

I think some of the past players that have entered the media are now getting better at parking their bias to their previous clubs aside and putting on their media hat. For an example, Garry Lyon was always good at this and even Matthew Lloyd who I've seen go hard at the Bombers last year as well.

In this instance I think Kane Cornes has failed badly with this one.

Can't be calling out the likes of Daicos, Walsh and Ginivan but then show a complete bias and protenction towards JHF and Port Adelaide football club in general. 

Posted

Fair call.  I generally don't mind Kane Cornes and his sometimes over the top but bluntly honest calls.  But he clearly goes very soft towards most (but not all) things Port and in particular JHF.

He cops a bit does JHF, but still thinks he cops nothing compared to the criticism Jack Watts used to get.

Posted

Kane Cornes was the one who dressed up as him after round one talking him up as the greatest thing ever. Easy way to put a target on his back.

People are booing JHF because they think he is a spoilt brat, which he came across as being. How about these media personalities just STFU and focus on footy and not single out specific young players, both for good and bad reasons.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Action Jackson said:

Kane Cornes was the one who dressed up as him after round one talking him up as the greatest thing ever. Easy way to put a target on his back.

And he just made it even bigger

Posted
2 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

the Andrew Bolt of football - an irrelevant narcissist

That sums up my opinion of AB

Posted

Life is rarely black or white. And the way you get click-throughs is by over simplifying, saying cringe-worthy stuff and being righteously indignant. Dollars roll in from wagering moguls and the sand is a good place for heads.

Posted

When Mitch Robinson is calling out your bs then you know you’ve stuffed up. Or you should.

He was white anting North from the moment JHF got there and should take a lot of the responsibility for why many of the footy public aren’t happy with the kid.

Few people actually dislike the kid, most dislike the way he didn’t give his best at North and then quickly bailed on them. So he gets a bit of booing and social media commentary and Cornes then suggests Hinkley is a hero for calling it out.

He’s got no shame though and has already pushed the same angle with comments about Pickett.

And he’s repeatedly had a crack at Walsh, Sheezel and other young players when the angle is the Port guys are better. Which goes completely against his praise or Kenny for suggesting people back off a young player.  

Posted

Frankly the media is ruining the enjoyment of footy. 24/7 commentary, shock jocks like Cornes and others constructing headlines, criticism of players and teams at the drop of a hat, gross exaggeration (the point of fabrication) and often uninformed commentary. Mainly it’s about egos and justification of their pay cheques. It’s the bilge that gets said and written about every day, all week, and before and after a game. It has reached saturation point. Either folks accept it, absorb it like sponges, or reject it, turn off and try and enjoy the purity of the game. The game needs to retain some freshness, some surprises, where fans expectation and opinions are not unduly influenced by the constant clammer of the media bandwagon. It’s just getting so tiresome. 

Posted
55 minutes ago, MadAsHell said:

Fair call.  I generally don't mind Kane Cornes and his sometimes over the top but bluntly honest calls.  But he clearly goes very soft towards most (but not all) things Port and in particular JHF.

He cops a bit does JHF, but still thinks he cops nothing compared to the criticism Jack Watts used to get.

Me too, I actually don't mind him as well.

But he's gone a bit far with this one and I'm off him for now.

Posted

I like Kane's commentary but he has screwed this one up royal. You could almost accuse him of being in kahootz with Port in the last 6 months for the various media comments he's made and how sabotaging they could appear. They way he diverted to other players at the club around the time of Ice Bath Gate. 

He's had a fair bit to do with the heat JHF is getting and should take some responsibility for it. 

Posted

He's a farqwhit 

Has moved on from Will Phillips to Sheezle as his punching bag this season it seems

The first to crack into kids but don't you dare touch Corne-Francis!

Posted (edited)
10 minutes ago, adonski said:

He's a farqwhit 

Has moved on from Will Phillips to Sheezle as his punching bag this season it seems

The first to crack into kids but don't you dare touch Corne-Francis!

What were his comments on Sheezel?

Edited by Nascent
Posted
Just now, Nascent said:

What were his comments on Sheezle?

Nothing major, just constantly knocking him for getting cheapies, his twitter is flooded with cheapshots like the below 

Posted

I think Ken Hinkley has mis-read the room too by calling JHF's decision to go home a "courageous" one.  Could very well have inflamed things even more.  Most people I know think it was anything but brave to walk out on the team that drafted you No. 1 after 12 months.

Posted

He’s watched too much ESPN…

PTI and First Take ruined sports commentary shows over there for different reasons - but the generated friction is the most nauseous movement in the way the media covers sports.

Jabba the Hut-chison is the OG but you can ignore him. Kane is everywhere and occasionally has a cogent thought so it’s harder to avoid.

Posted
2 hours ago, hemingway said:

Frankly the media is ruining the enjoyment of footy. 24/7 commentary, shock jocks like Cornes and others constructing headlines, criticism of players and teams at the drop of a hat, gross exaggeration (the point of fabrication) and often uninformed commentary. Mainly it’s about egos and justification of their pay cheques. It’s the bilge that gets said and written about every day, all week, and before and after a game. It has reached saturation point. Either folks accept it, absorb it like sponges, or reject it, turn off and try and enjoy the purity of the game. The game needs to retain some freshness, some surprises, where fans expectation and opinions are not unduly influenced by the constant clammer of the media bandwagon. It’s just getting so tiresome. 

Agree that the Media are causing me to lose interest in AFL. I really like watching Footy, however the competition between the media "journalists" has become so fierce that objectivity & quality has been sacrificed in attention seeking. CoOrnes, Taylor ,"Carro",Lloyd  give journalism a bad name.

Posted

I am not a fan of booing individual, but understand why it happens. JHF has done exactly the same thing Buckley did to Brisbane, and he was booed for about 2 seasons straight. Fans don't like high draft picks giving 1 begrudging season o their draft club, only to not give their all and fling off to their preferred favourite at the earliest possibility. 

I like straight shooters like Lloyd (who I loathed as a player) but Kane Cornes likes the spotlight too much for my liking. 

Posted (edited)

I reckon JHF(or his advisors) probably went about it the wrong way but in a career that’s notoriously short, most humans would want to bail on North. I’m sure North went above and beyond to air his dirty laundry to escape some blame too.

If given the option to return home as he did, I think 99/100 people take it. 

Why anyone other than North fans boo him is beyond me.

I don’t mind Kane but he’s pretty selective about his opinions and very staunch in the ones that suit. 

Edited by BW511

Posted

If they want the booing to stop sooner, Hinkley and Cornes probably could have tried to control the narrative and made this story about how good of a game JHF had, and just dispassionately acknowledge that he received negative attention. But they’ve accentuated the booing aspect, so now that’s the story. Which means in people’s heads, booing and JHF are tied together. 

Posted

Kane who?  Anyone of any relevance?

Move on. 

Posted
1 minute ago, monoccular said:

Kane who?  Anyone of any relevance?

Move on. 

Well see ya then?

Didn't have to comment if you didn't like the thread.

Some great discussions on here already that's not Melbourne related for once.

Posted
8 minutes ago, BW511 said:

I reckon JHF(or his advisors) probably went about it the wrong way but in a career that’s notoriously short, most humans would want to bail on North. I’m sure North went above and beyond to air his dirty laundry to escape some blame too.

If given the option to return home as he did, I think 99/100 people take it. 

Why anyone other than North fans boo him is beyond me.

I don’t mind Kane but he’s pretty selective about his opinions and very staunch in the ones that suit. 

I do wonder if his manager will take some responsibility in this. 

I have no idea who he's manager actually is, but they would have known the huge amount of backlash this would have caused and just advised him to stick it out for another year until his contract is finished.

The fact that opposition supporters are now booing him each game sums it all up really.