1 minute ago, Dwight Schrute said:

there were a few considerations around the Gus deal, our intention last year was always to re-sign both though. i think the difference is there is a possibility we have to pay slightly more than we'd ideally like in order to keep Kozzie, where as we would have paid LJ whatever it took i suspect to keep him 

Agree thats why they didn't announce the Gus deal until they were pretty sure Jackson was leaving.

• Author
41 minutes ago, Dwight Schrute said:

Because of the size and scope of a potential kozzie contract, and the reality he'd be our clear priority, we simply wouldn't make this move unless we had a level of certainty around what Kozzie is likely to do. 

If we didn't have a clear idea what that contract was going to look like, we'd be holding off on any major extensions as long as we reasonably could. 

Interesting. 

I had the polar opposite thought to this personally, but how are we to know..

13 minutes ago, Apocalypse XXXI said:

What did he see last weekend in Perth that Luke Jackson missed?

Two pathetic local teams?

7 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Interesting. 

I had the polar opposite thought to this personally, but how are we to know..

we're all just guessing ultimately! but awesome that Riv is sticking around! he's been a great pick up for us!

Interesting timing given the pitch to keep Kozzie is this supposed to be during Gather Round

Not that it means anything to anyone, Rivers from the day he started was my favourite ‘non star’ player. I’m wrapped.

GO DEES!!!

1 hour ago, Dwight Schrute said:

Because of the size and scope of a potential kozzie contract, and the reality he'd be our clear priority, we simply wouldn't make this move unless we had a level of certainty around what Kozzie is likely to do. 

If we didn't have a clear idea what that contract was going to look like, we'd be holding off on any major extensions as long as we reasonably could. 

That could of course work both ways, we know what we need for Kozzie and others or, we know Kozzie is leaving and how much we have for others.

Anyway great news about Trent and he continues his improvement and versatility.

Come on Kozzie and JJ, let’s make it a fantastic trifecta of Demon contract extensions.

I only just saw Sunday’s game this morning, and I was thinking he’s really coming on as a midfielder,  and it would be great to see him re-sign. Then I saw this news.

JvR mentioned in a previous interview that Rivers had led the WA boys in their training programme over the break too - leadership potential. 

The fact that he and Jackson were best mates when they arrived is just a sweet cherry on top. Really happy with this signing!

42 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Could that mean that we know he’s gone tho? 😭

Spoken like a true Dees supporter 🤣

41 minutes ago, demoniac said:

Hunter is a specialist winger.

JJ is a utility.

The great dayz of the Scanlons footy cards. Barry Denny - Utility

2 hours ago, roy11 said:

posted in another thread but

Unflappable??

2 minutes ago, Rivers Run Red said:

Yes! Get to retain the handle

Brilliant news! Also, love the avatar/image - a ripper.

To me Trent Rivers has always had a committed look about him, when you watch Momentum, Sound the Alarm and the Granny shots he was living the dream and I’ll never forget when he went up to Lyon after the game with the cup in his hand saying that we want to do this again next year (despite Gazza calling him Jordon). Pure joy and one of the team.!!!

1 hour ago, demoniac said:

JJ is a utility

...and a very useful one at that ... has all the necessary skills, reads the play well (now)... pacey and does not shirk the issue - rebounds and goes again ... very good kick / passing / handball ... the mobile utility is a necessary feature of our forward line who are so often geographically minimal ... capable of some surprising moves, dodges and outside innovations. Works really well with Fritta, Chandler, Sparrow (coming in), BBB and why not : JVR bringing the ball to ground forward of the defensive pack. JJ has heaps and will produce bucketloads of talent as he develops, just like Rivers and Judd. 

13 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

Unflappable is how I like my stoppers.

What a strange language we have assembled.

Yes we certainly don't want any flappable stoppers.

3 hours ago, Dwight Schrute said:

That's not the case, Riv for all his qualities isnt on a fat enough contact. If kozzie doesn't sign we get another player from somewhere like we did for Hogan, Jackson etc

24 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Yes we certainly don't want any flappable stoppers.

You wouldn't want your wings to be unflappable.

2 hours ago, Wodjathefirst said:

Not that it means anything to anyone, Rivers from the day he started was my favourite ‘non star’ player. I’m wrapped.

GO DEES!!!

Same. Love this kid. He's good and he's getting even better. Awesome news