Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted September 25, 2022 Posted September 25, 2022 (edited) 7 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said: I’d like to keep that money set aside for a 5-year deal out for Zac Butters at end of 2023. He won’t leave Port Adelaide. Edited September 25, 2022 by CYB 2 Quote
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,819 Posted September 25, 2022 Posted September 25, 2022 4 hours ago, A F said: Does the Hawthorn fallout include Karl Amon looking somewhere else other than Hawthorn? He'd certainly be handy to pair with Langdon's run, Bowey and Salem's ball use. That would complement us perfectly. 2 Quote
picket fence 18,168 Posted September 25, 2022 Posted September 25, 2022 (edited) 6 hours ago, John Demonic said: I suppose his foot skills wouldn't really fit in. Here I was thinking we need speed and good disposal added into our best 22. Apparently we just need grunt on the wing. Edit: Just to reiterate, I'm in favour of getting jack bowes, pick 7 and 13 and keeping gus/Jordan on the wing. But as I said, if the club is so keen on Amon, why not Hill? Soft as melting butter, you obviously like flakey players!? We are talking about Hill aren't we?? Edited September 25, 2022 by picket fence Quote
MadAsHell 4,217 Posted September 25, 2022 Posted September 25, 2022 8 hours ago, CYB said: He won’t leave Port Adelaide. Not with that attitude! 3 Quote
rpfc 29,020 Posted September 25, 2022 Posted September 25, 2022 9 hours ago, xman97 said: Hey mate. Has there been any word yet on next years salary cap? I haven't heard anything which is strange seeing there's a trade period coming up. Where did you hear $600k? Cheers. Heard it on either AFL exchange or Sportsday podcast as ‘insiders say.’ odd that it hasn’t been confirmed 2 Quote
Deestar9 1,854 Posted September 25, 2022 Posted September 25, 2022 9 hours ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said: That would complement us perfectly. We were his 2nd choice but he wants to play more midfield which we wouldn’t offer and also we wouldn’t match the Hawks $ 1 Quote
Antioch 235 Posted September 25, 2022 Posted September 25, 2022 12 hours ago, adonski said: Hill has looked shocking at the Saints, genuinely scared of contact Yes, agreed and lazy too. Great potential if prepared to go in hard, but he doesn’t. Looks like he’s just coasting. 1 Quote
mo64 5,910 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 Ok, now that the season is done there's no reason why @Grand New Flag can't divulge the contracted key forward that we are allegedly in talks with. 4 Quote
adonski 13,235 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 10 minutes ago, mo64 said: Ok, now that the season is done there's no reason why @Grand New Flag can't divulge the contracted key forward that we are allegedly in talks with. Wayne Carey He was contracted with Channel 7 at the time 4 7 Quote
chook fowler 19,766 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 6 minutes ago, adonski said: Wayne Carey He was contracted with Channel 7 at the time see if he can Duck out of that. 1 2 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 As far as wingers go that wouldn't break the bank. I like Lachie Sholl from the crows. Quick, skillful and a massive tank. He is a bit light but we have enough brutes . Melbourne boy who found himself in the twos towards the end of the year. 3 Quote
FireInTheBennelly 4,104 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 20 minutes ago, adonski said: Wayne Carey He was contracted with Channel 7 at the time Well we know he still has white line fever 4 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,667 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 37 minutes ago, Bates Mate said: As far as wingers go that wouldn't break the bank. I like Lachie Sholl from the crows. Quick, skillful and a massive tank. He is a bit light but we have enough brutes . Melbourne boy who found himself in the twos towards the end of the year. Obviously he isn’t great at the contest but I’m shocked by how little playing time he got at the crows this year (unless I missed something). Given their stage of development as a side I’d give every possible game to Sholl to see if he makes it. I’m not sure we have the same luxury, but if he was available free of charge he’d be someone worth a look at. He’s a beautiful looking kick. 1 Quote
Axis of Bob 11,944 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 49 minutes ago, Bates Mate said: I like Lachie Sholl from the crows. Quick, skillful and a massive tank. He is a bit light but we have enough brutes . Averaged 0.82 tackles a game this year. That ranked him 555th out of 571 players this year for tackling. Of those who averaged fewer tackles, he's the only one to have played more than 6 games and be under 190cm. The only semi-regular non-key position/ruck that tackled less than him was noted defensive hard man, Riley Bonner. I reckon that's got a fair bit to do with his non-selection in the second half of the year. 8 1 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,815 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 my crom support mate loathes scholl almost as much as he can't stand fish mcasey he considers the latter emblematic of their first round drafting which has been, quite frankly, abysmal 2021: josh rachele at pick 6 (a winner) 2020: riley thilthorpe at pick 2, luke pedlar at pick 11 (jury out on the latter) 2019: fish mcasey at pick 6 (looks a bust) 2018: chayce jones at pick 9, ned mchenry at pick 16 (both classique good, ordinary afl level players) 2017: darcy fogarty at pick 12 (has taken burgess to get him fit enough for afl) 2016: jordan galucci at pick 15 (a bust) 2015: wayne milera at pick 11, tom doedee at pick 17 (probably their last good first round selections) as we well know, if you get yr first round picks 'wrong' yr up against it to build a good side 3 Quote
Elwood 3184 1,365 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 If someone can get through the paywall then we won’t have to worry about the rest of this thread. How most hectic trade period in history will unfold 1 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 (edited) 15 minutes ago, Elwood 3184 said: If someone can get through the paywall then we won’t have to worry about the rest of this thread. How most hectic trade period in history will unfold Can't get through the paywall, but the headline sure looks familiar. We get it every year and trade period always disappoints Edited September 26, 2022 by Bates Mate 1 1 Quote
Demons1858 1,820 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 2 hours ago, Bates Mate said: As far as wingers go that wouldn't break the bank. I like Lachie Sholl from the crows. Quick, skillful and a massive tank. He is a bit light but we have enough brutes . Melbourne boy who found himself in the twos towards the end of the year. Lachie hunter might be an option if dogs cover some of his salary ... said to be looking on sen 1 1 3 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 2 minutes ago, Demons1858 said: Lachie hunter might be an option if dogs cover some of his salary ... said to be looking on sen Wouldn't be against it. Improvement on the Jordan / Spargo combo. Still wonder why we never put Brayshaw back to his premiership winning position at some stage during the year 1 Quote
Adam The God 30,708 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 Only problem is Lachie Hunter is allegedly a ****stick. 1 3 2 Quote
demoniac 1,337 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 10 minutes ago, Demons1858 said: Lachie hunter might be an option if dogs cover some of his salary ... said to be looking on sen You'd very much want to dot your i's and cross your t's as they say. 1 Quote
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,819 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 5 hours ago, Deestar9 said: We were his 2nd choice but he wants to play more midfield which we wouldn’t offer and also we wouldn’t match the Hawks $ Would he still want to go to Whorethorn after the developments and reported toxic culture? 2 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 32 minutes ago, A F said: Only problem is Lachie Hunter is allegedly a ****stick. Nothing alleged about it. Absolutely not worth the risk. He is a meat and potato midfielder. 2 Quote
RedFox 536 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 34 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said: Would he still want to go to Whorethorn after the developments and reported toxic culture? Can't see indiscretions by ex staff from a decade ago weighing on his decision that heavily. Could be wrong 1 Quote
Travy14 2,142 Posted September 26, 2022 Posted September 26, 2022 3 hours ago, Bates Mate said: As far as wingers go that wouldn't break the bank. I like Lachie Sholl from the crows. Quick, skillful and a massive tank. He is a bit light but we have enough brutes . Melbourne boy who found himself in the twos towards the end of the year. The reason he is playing 2s is because of his skills and defensive pressure. And in the SANFL finals when the heat turned up he was very average! Be better of investing in our list and getting a cheap backup like Phillips, who I think just didn't fit the right age demographic at Hawks. 2 Quote