Posted
18 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

Others have said the same thing, but I don't see this at all. 

Despite making a GF, his team that is chockful of early draft picks has underperformed badly IMO.

I reckon he is a good coach. Look at Gold Coast, had the same early picks and have never made finals. Even had Ablett. 

Stability is underrated in footy. But constantly losing your gun players like J Cameron, Treloar, Adams, Shiel, etc etc. it’s so hard to be consistent 

Poisoned chalice in West Sydney. You’d be mad to go unless you thought you wouldn’t get another senior gig 

Posted
22 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

Others have said the same thing, but I don't see this at all. 

Despite making a GF, his team that is chockful of early draft picks has underperformed badly IMO.

Yeah, you can make that case too I guess. Maybe he was a good coach that wasn't good enough? Had a good apprenticeship under Clarko, but maybe he also could have been replaced earlier when they realised he wasn't quite getting enough out of the list to take the next step eg. Mark Harvey-Ross Lyon. 

A few schools of thought here, he's probably in the Brad Scott territory. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, drdrake said:

I don't think so, AFL will subsidise his wage outside of the soft cap for promotion of the game.

Yeah that's a fair point, I just think GWS will think they're at a 'mini rebuild' stage and Clarko might not be the best guy for that.

Posted

Yes agree AFL would want Clarkson and offer $$$ to get him.
GWS team is still pretty good with the midfield being strong imv (Kelly, Ward, Taranto, Hopper, Coniglio, Green ) and youngsters like Ash and Callaghan look great prospects.  Loss of Jeremy Cameron is a big gap and their key forwards of Hogan and Himmelberg are below par.  

Posted
51 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Truly, I have no idea. 

That could be said for all of us at this point!

What I was curious about was how Cameron leaving GWS could cause a domino effect - ie, a chain reaction, the cumulative effect produced when one event sets off a chain of similar events.

Posted

The domino effect is that (for example) GCS think "hold on ... we were going to get Clarkson! Get him on the phone NOW and give Dew his notice. Get Simpson on the phone just in case." Then North think "hold on ... WE were going to get Clarkson! Now he AND Simpson will be snapped up ... unless ..." Then Port think "hold on ... WE were going to get Clarkson". Etc.

Doesn't really happen in practice but my vague and faulty memory tells me something akin to that went on when Malthouse left Collingwood. 

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Dwight Schrute said:

I'd have thought if the Giants were seriously considering James Hird he'd be caretaker so they could get a preview. 

This to me is about getting into the Clarko race nice and early, and i think there is a live chance he does land at GWS, given their more advanced list, ambassador money and AFL support. 

I could also see Ross Lyon bobbing up here.

Could just be me, but I would have thought that Ross Lyon’s ‘use by date’ as a coach has expired and that there would be better options out there 

Edited by Wodjathefirst

Posted

I have heard internally they like Hird. Yze would be suited as they have established senior players and should be better. It’s not a rebuild.

Posted
33 minutes ago, Wodjathefirst said:

Could just be me, but I would have thought that Ross Lyon’s ‘use by date’ as a coach has expired and that there would be better options out there 

i'd agree with you, but as you said it's just an opinion. stranger things have happened.

Posted
1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

Clarkson would have to be the obvious - as long as it's not Yze

I view the Yze thing the same way I do when I lose a good member of my team to a promotion elsewhere that wasn’t available with us: we’ll miss him, but our overriding emotion is we’re stoked he’s got the opportunity that we know he deserves.

I don’t believe in stifling people’s growth so we can selfishly keep them on our team.

Posted
1 minute ago, Nasher said:

I view the Yze thing the same way I do when I lose a good member of my team to a promotion elsewhere that wasn’t available with us: we’ll miss him, but our overriding emotion is we’re stoked he’s got the opportunity that we know he deserves.

I don’t believe in stifling people’s growth so we can selfishly keep them on our team.

Exactly the same.

(Now that we've won a flag)

Posted
1 minute ago, Nasher said:

Can we try stifling him for another flag or 2 before we make up our minds on this?

Posted
4 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Agreed.

like Sydney did with Stuey Dew.  such a sliding doors moment for him, imagine if he took the job with us 7 years ago. He was Roosy's first choice IIRC

Posted
8 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Fair call but I still wonder if GWS may not be a poison chalice.

Posted
2 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Fair call but I still wonder if GWS may not be a poison chalice.

I don’t think so, they’re an experienced team team with a solid core that is underperforming. Could be a Daniher in ‘98 type scenario with a fresh voice reinvigorating the old list.

The WCE job of embarking on a ground-up rebuild would be the more risky job.

Posted
4 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Yze time.

Probably deserves it.  But.    I hope not

Posted
8 minutes ago, deefender said:

Gold Coast is a party town not the place for a well disciplined team.

Only if you want it to be.

Golf, surfing, cycling, moutainbiking are ready-made getaways.