Posted

Is this history repeating?

Posted

The AFL is going to have to do something, North are just not up to competition standard. 

And yes, I believe he is. 

Posted (edited)

Last week I was having a few beers with a Roos-supporting friend. It was all "Horne-Francis this, Horne-Francis that". 
"You're cute" I told him. "I used to be like that with Jack Watts..."

That didn't stop him. "Oh no, this guy's good" etc

Now, I'm not dissing Horne-Francis at all  (or Jack Watts) . He looks  a very good player - and may even be elite one day. 
It's just that I could see the desperate desire to find something positive in what is yet another abysmal year for NM. One that must hurt even more knowing they got rid of a player  of Brown's calibre for (relative) peanuts.to the team his mate supports.

He's in the middle of the denial phase.

Next will come anger which will be ugly.

Finally acceptance.

Only then will he move forward.

I feel for him. Not.

Edited by Big Col
singular, plural etc
  • Haha 7
Posted

I thought he had them playing decent footy without wining many in the back half of 2021. It's gone to tripe this season.

One thing is certain. No club is as reliant on one player as Norf are on Ben Cunnington. Rudderless without him.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Go the Biff said:

I thought he had them playing decent footy without wining many in the back half of 2021. It's gone to tripe this season.

One thing is certain. No club is as reliant on one player as Norf are on Ben Cunnington. Rudderless without him.

They were getting somewhere in the second half of last year.

Had a 3 week stint in Hobart where they beat GC, put 14 goals on GWS in a draw and put in a respectable loss against Brisbane. 
They also kicked 17 odd goals against Carlton in a classy display at Marvel.

They’ve gone massively downhill to start the season, and are desperately missing Cunnington as you pointed out above.

Noble could be in trouble if they fail to win another game this year.

Posted
48 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Is this history repeating?

No David Noble is a much better coach tha Neeld ever was. The reason that Norf are so sheeit was because previous coach got rid of everyone who could play including BBB

Posted (edited)

Noble, the new Neeld?

mmm...lets see...

It's a bit like trying to compare:

• inches with centimetres.
  • pounds with dollars
  • miles with kilometres
  • Fb with E
  • Turnbull with Morrison
  • Fitzroy with Brisbane

The big difference between the two is one of them hasn't been sacked...not yet...

Until that happens, he's close but..until then, no cigar.

If it does, will it be the catalyst that launches North to Tassie? :blink:

Edited by AC/DeeC

Posted

I don't think he is Neeld II...

I do think he is only coaching because it worked for Brisbane with Fagan.

Unfortunately the AFL & it's clubs like to go with flavour of the month thinking rather than critical thinking.

Somehow they thought putting another administrator in as coach would get the same result.

...but Noble isn't Fagan & North aren't Brisbane.

Every person & every organisation are unique...you can't plug & play.

Posted
57 minutes ago, Go the Biff said:

Pretty spot on there Biff.  Norf tend to turn into crudd without this bloke.

Posted

The only thing that Neeld got right was as he said 'we are going to be the hardest team to play against' which was premature but we are now that team.

Posted (edited)

I think the players actually like Noble. Neeld was pretty obviously disliked and no one seemed to play *for him*.

North simply aren't up to it and don't have the cattle. 

Edited by praha
Posted

I was thinking that looking at their results this season, even their win comes with a huge asterisk as they were basically playing against a WAFL team and really WC had chance after chance they butchered. 

I don’t he’s Neeld v2, but he could be his own monster that sends an entire supporter base to therapy. 

Posted

Also, Paul Roos has been paid a truckload by Norf as some sort of consultant.

The best thing Roos did for us was he took pressure off the club and was able to deflect a lot of the media scrutiny on us at the time.

He can’t do that for Norf in his current role (whatever it is).

Posted
9 hours ago, Dante said:

The AFL is going to have to do something, North are just not up to competition standard.

Maybe they need a big dose of "south" as a counterbalance.

8 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Noble could be in trouble if they fail to win another game this year.

In trouble, or in somewhere else that starts with T ?

8 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Had a 3 week stint in Hobart where they beat GC, put 14 goals on GWS in a draw and put in a respectable loss against Brisbane.

This "Hobart" seems to be a happy hunting ground for them.

Posted (edited)

I actually think North have got a core of good young talent, and they'll be fine in a couple of years. Thomas, LDU, JHF, Simpkin, Powell, Stephenson, Larkey, Zurhaar, Xerri, Phillips are all under 25.

The problem for North is they are rudderless, and that falls on Noble. Obviously they miss their only true on-field leader in Cunnington. But somehow Noble has managed to lose the playing group after promising signs last year.

The media will hound Noble, which is what they do to all new coaches who are struggling. Whether Noble can ride out the storm is the question. Personally, I think the club needs to come out in support of him, and stay the course.

Edited by mo64
Spelling

Posted
40 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Also, Paul Roos has been paid a truckload by Norf as some sort of consultant.

The best thing Roos did for us was he took pressure off the club and was able to deflect a lot of the media scrutiny on us at the time.

He can’t do that for Norf in his current role (whatever it is).

He isn't involved this year. He was last year , North were better last year so maybe he had more influence that I thought down there.

Posted
8 hours ago, rjay said:

I don't think he is Neeld II...

I do think he is only coaching because it worked for Brisbane with Fagan.

Unfortunately the AFL & it's clubs like to go with flavour of the month thinking rather than critical thinking.

Somehow they thought putting another administrator in as coach would get the same result.

...but Noble isn't Fagan & North aren't Brisbane.

Every person & every organisation are unique...you can't plug & play.

If that’s the logic they applied then their decision makers should be sacked. Fagan was an extremely experienced coach who had been in the system a long time, in a coaching capacity. A quick glance at his resume would reveal he is very clear qualified to be a senior coach, even if his most recent role had been administrative. Could the same be said of Noble?

Posted
40 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said:

Maybe they need a big dose of "south" as a counterbalance.

In trouble, or in somewhere else that starts with T ?

This "Hobart" seems to be a happy hunting ground for them.

Dear Victoria,

Please cease trying to dump your garbage on our state, immediately. We don’t want it.

Regards

Tasmania

Posted (edited)

While he did ok last year to me it looks like the blowtorch on Rutten is also similar Neeld than Noble.

Things like changing game plan, players confused on their/each others roles, hand balling anywhere but forward, under performing high draft picks, bad early losses, ditched most of their senior players, lacking leadership etc etc.  Ess have a few more injuries than we had but one wonders what if their development, training, rehab and recovery standards are up to scratch. 

Ess have some of the best resources in the league; North are a very poor cousin.  Both in the hot seat but the media seems to be going harder on Rutten than Noble in a way I haven't seen since they went for Neeld.

I cut Noble some slack because of the decisions that decimated the list, football staff and the coaching panel before he arrived.  The best thing North did was move on Glen Archer last year but the damage was done.  He had been a one-man band running that club.  The Board etc should stay the course.

Not sure if Ess or North, for very different reasons, have the patience to stay the course.

Edited by Lucifers Hero
Posted
14 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Dear Victoria,

Please cease trying to dump your garbage on our state, immediately. We don’t want it.

Regards

Tasmania

We're trying to be responsible and recycle/repurpose our pre-loved but no longer wanted flotsam.

It's that or put it out on the nature strip.