Disappointing to see Ben Brown miss. He'll be disappointed too no doubt as I'm sure he would have stayed over to watch the girls play on Saturday. 

2 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Mmmmmm ...... I got it wrong.

Admitting it immediately disqualified you from seeking public office.

Tomlinson lucky IMV. Hope Joel Smith is only a contact and not a positive (same for Ben Brown).

Some of the positioning is strange (though we know that the announced lineups often bear little resemblance to how they appear on the ground)

Smith "Health protocol" is "convenient" for Lever's return.

Brown - obviously it is felt that rushing over on the day of the match after not training for a week isn't ideal..

No talls on the emergency list - is that tempting fate?

3 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Mmmmmm ...... I got it wrong.

What's the story with Smith?

Covid 

Lever and May being back together just makes me relax and generally feel good

4 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Some of the positioning is strange (though we know that the announced lineups often bear little resemblance to how they appear on the ground)

Smith "Health protocol" is "convenient" for Lever's return.

Brown - obviously it is felt that rushing over on the day of the match after not training for a week isn't ideal..

No talls on the emergency list - is that tempting fate?

We have a heap of talls in the team already.

Edited by Demons11

2 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Haha! I think I might have a few worse skeletons than that Binman!!!!

No doubt.

But they are unlikely to disqualify you from public office.

In fact they may well help. 

Good to see Lever back but I notice in the Captain's Run Gallery, he is not wearing footy boots but trainers......

Am I over thinking this?

It is crazy just how much bad luck Joel Smith has had in his short career. I would be surprised if he has ever managed more than 6 weeks in a row before something has forced him out of the team.

Brown possibly tested positive during the week. Was always a risk.

Smith must have run over a black cat or similar in his day. He has no luck

Interesting named positions for Harmes, Bowey and Brayshaw

Edited by Diamond_Jim

4 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Would think Chandler is sub after his Casey game

Doubt it.

I think they will stick with Bedford.

I'm really disappointed to see BBB out.

The pressure is now on Weid to back up his performance from last week and thereby cement his place in the side for a while.

The pressure is also on Tmac to perform. I had him listed as an out if BBB was available. 

On the other hand great to see the Romsey boy back.,

Don’t mind seeing Tmac and weid essentially getting 1 more week to figure out who goes out for Brown

Port have a habit of physically targetting our players, especially Max. 

Lycett worked him over when at the Eagles in the 2018 Prelim.  He and others did they same in round 1 2019.  Even debutantes crashed into him at every opportunity.  They repeated the dose in 2020 when we came off a 4 day break.  They also targetted other players in that game. 

I hope Max and the team have not forgotten. 

Would love to see a few classic May, Viney et al tackles in the first 10 minutes ala the WB GF, to knock the stuffing out of a few players.

All that aside, Port are missing their bookends (Dixon and Aliir Aliir) and their midfield aren't playing with a lot of confidence.

Dees by 35 points.

Edited by Lucifers Hero

18 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Brown possibly tested positive during the week. Was always a risk.

Smith must have run over a black cat or similar in his day. He has no luck

Interesting named positions for Harmes, Bowey and Brayshaw

I'm quoting you because you touch on every point I would also like to. 

I believe the reasoning for Brown not being in is because the team is travelling today to Adelaide. They like to fly the night before for interstate games and have a morning in the state to prepare for the game. 
Ben Brown would have to arrive at the game like an hour before the bounce, without training with the team for a week to play.
That sort of preparation isn't ideal, and when you have talent like Tmac and Weid in the side why not let them play again. 

Smith is so unlucky! he's been so solid this year, but I don't mind the selection decision being forced here for Goodwin to bring Lever in. It's probably better mentally for Smith to take as a player as it is out of his control rather than form or a better player coming through. Which also means Tomlinson stays in.
Tomlinson's fitness is a bonus, he's played 100% game time every game this year so that helps runners with extra rotations. 

I think Harmes, Bowey and Brayshaw will switch on the day for the bounce. Simon's probably toying with Ken with that. 

Unlucky for Smith, I reckon we'll see him back in again soon. 

Minimal changes is the Dee's style now, create stability and cohesion. 

39 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Lever and May being back together just makes me relax and generally feel good

Its a thing of beauty.

15 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Port have a habit of physically targetting our players, especially Max. 

Lycett worked him over when at the Eagles in the 2018 Prelim.  He and others did they same in round 1 2019.  Even debutantes crashed into him at every opportunity.  They repeated the dose in 2020 when we came off a 4 day break.  They also targetted other players in that game. 

I hope Max and the team have not forgotten. 

Would love to see a few classic May, Viney et al tackles in the first 10 minutes ala the WB GF, to knock the stuffing out of a few players.

All that aside, Port are missing their bookends (Dixon and Aliir Aliir) and their midfield aren't playing with a lot of confidence.

Dees by 35 points.

We hadn't got Jackson with us then. Work over Max at your peril. Just lets the dog off the chain.