It's not that long ago that we were a shambles, with continued off-field disasters compounding our on-field woes.

I agree that Carlton's mucked this up royally, but maybe let's just reflect on how hard it can be to get things right after years of underperformance.

Absolutely appalling treatment by the Carlton Footy Club.

Feel for David Teague.

Just now, dazzledavey36 said:

Absolutely appalling treatment by the Carlton Footy Club.

Feel for David Teague.

100% agree, why would anyone want to go to that club in any capacity if they had a choice?

Britain = Ratten = Teague

Pagan= Malthouse = Lyon

Inexperienced coach who gets no support, followed by experienced coach whose best is behind then. Rinse and repeat.

Ridiculous decision. Two years is not enough time to build something and now they start again but with a demoralised playing and probably some overly aggressive old coach ready to drive them off a cliff.

5 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

100% agree, why would anyone want to go to that club in any capacity if they had a choice?

Adam Cerra seems keen?

Coach and success aside, this process has been disgraceful. Would be incredibly demoralising for Teague, the coaching staff and players. This is the type of stuff which can seriously damage a business’ culture (similar to Adelaide’s performance camp).

17 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

It's not that long ago that we were a shambles, with continued off-field disasters compounding our on-field woes.

I agree that Carlton's mucked this up royally, but maybe let's just reflect on how hard it can be to get things right after years of underperformance.

Looking on from the outside now,  instead of grimacing on the inside of this, it’s easy to be self righteous isn’t it?! No love for carlton mind you. I still enjoy watching them fail lol. it’s  just that sense of “ there but for the grace of god go I” is large. That and a silent  thank u whispered under my breath to paul roos and Jackson. 

Feel sorry for Teague. It's not like recycled coaches are necessarily better. After all, Clarkson, Hardwick, Thompson, Sheedy, Longmire, Beveridge, Roos, C Scott and Simpson were all untried and seemed to do OK at their first club. In fact, since 2000 the only recycled coaches to coach teams to Premierships have been Leigh Matthews (2001, 2002, 2003) and Mick Malthouse (2010). All others have been coached by coaches at their first team.

Edited by La Dee-vina Comedia
Roos, not Ross. And clarifying which Scott

We have seen so many coaches sacked over the years but gee Carlton could not have stuffed this up more. Teague only had 2 years. I mean you start a season with a  fit Charlie Curnow, Cripps, Martin and Williams and you have a shot. Yes they may have stuffed up recruiting & paying overs and I think the 19 goals against port probably sealed the deal but gee has he been given a proper go.

If Lyon does come in who can see he will turn it around. They sacked Ratten to get Mick and that was a disaster. 

It was obvious the relationship between Teague and Carlton had broken down a long time ago. Teague didn’t want to coach anymore but wanted his payout and both his and his managers media comments were very provocative and daring Carlton to sack him. Just like when Malthouse was sacked. Carlton sure know how to manage their coaches. 

Edited by John Crow Batty

5 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Feel sorry for Teague. It's not like recycled coaches are necessarily better. After all, Clarkson, Hardwick, Thompson, Sheedy, Longmire, Beveridge, Ross, Scott and Simpson were all untried and seemed to do OK at their first club. In fact, since 2000 the only recycled coaches to coach teams to Premierships have been Leigh Matthews (2001, 2002, 2003) and Mick Malthouse (2010). All others have been coached by coaches at their first team.

As it will be this year, too (hopefully one S. Goodwin...)

And once again Carlton will go into blindly reactive mode by appointing Ross Lyon. You can just hear the discussion - “What’s the problem with our team?………they’re defensively horrible……..ok, let’s get the most defensive-minded coach of the last 20 years…….is Paul Roos available?……..nope……..call Ross Lyon then…….did he win a flag?……..nope……..ah, doesn’t matter, he will with us, cos we’re Carlton……..okeedokey”. 

Edited by Webber

I rate their list, but it's the stuff going on outside that. how could anyone actually take a job there as senior coach after seeing this? Ross Lyon still has some appeal in the industry, don't blow it on this mob. 

Joke of a club. I hate them and hope they fail for years to come, but gees you gotta feel for Teague. Hasn't exactly been awful and hasn't been given sufficient time either. To sack a coach after 2 years, they have to be Mark Neeld bad. 

Still feel like some strong assistants around him could have made a big difference... not to mention actual support from the club! 

Edited by Jaded

Shows how hard it is to get the head coach appointment right. Not sure appointing the caretaker full time is ever a good idea.

that said, wasn't given the support needed to succeed. Who's to say Teague couldn't have turned out like Goody with proper backing

Have the Carlton board released their Book on 'Change Management' yet?  would be a best seller

As PJ and Roosy taught us, if you don't fix off-field first, then on-field does not have a chance, regardless of your list.

Toxic club and absolutely disgusting treatment of Teague and the other staff there whether they will be sacked or not now, they will be so bitter at the club

Hopefully they don't put him through a press conference.

Given what we know and suspect about Ross Lyon's character, I reckon he would be a perfect fit at the Blues

he'll take the money and leave them in a worse state than what he found them like he did at Freo and the Saints

5 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Have the Carlton board released their Book on 'Change Management' yet?

It's about to hit the shelves.   Here is a sneak preview of their chapter about The Teague Train.

Anybody who doesn't feel a little sense of schadenfreude at Carlton's plight would be Lyon.

XftWnsH.jpg

Edited by Demonstone
:)

13 minutes ago, BDA said:

Shows how hard it is to get the head coach appointment right. Not sure appointing the caretaker full time is ever a good idea.

that said, wasn't given the support needed to succeed. Who's to say Teague couldn't have turned out like Goody with proper backing

Worked for Sydney with Paul Roos, but you are right that it is more often unsuccessful. The one thing Carlton has got right this year is not sacking Teague during the season and replacing him with a temporary coach. Carlton fell for that temporary sugar hit from when they appointed Teague full-time after his stint as a stand-in coach and now suffer the consequences - effectively 2 more wasted seasons.

Absolutely pathetic. They deserve the 5 years of misery about to be enacted on them.

They weren't even going to hire him initially. Then they backflipped on that when he produced better results than Bolton.

He then gets a COVID disrupted year where they finish about where you would expect but with an exclamation mark over him.

He finally gets a full year with a young team, which is as you would expect: inconsistent but roughly around the mark they were the previous year. 

What did Carlton expect? Miracles? 

This club is lucky they were good during the '70's and '80's when TV coverage was restricted, and all people got to see was their  3rd quarter comeback on The Winners. They could entrench themselves in the minds and affections of a generation of Baby Boomers with money.

Their club would be irrelevant otherwise.

Edited by Colin B. Flaubert