Posted

Hey my name is John Fidge. i actually played for the mighty Demons' but i must say that im pretty dissappionted when i look on the web and see that someone like yourself has seen it fit to judge me and my brother in such a negative way. when both him and me played in both u19 and reserve grade premeirships at the club, Teddy actually played in the last senior premership melbourne won in 1987, the thing that really annoys me is that you dont have any idea of what i and my brother went thru to play the game. i know there are true melbourne supporters who dont get their kicks out of bagging players that have done nothing more than give their best for the club. my brother and myself put our bodies on the line and have the scars to prove it. i suggest you rethink what it means to be a supporter.

Posted
Hey my name is John Fidge. i actually played for the mighty Demons' but i must say that im pretty dissappionted when i look on the web and see that someone like yourself has seen it fit to judge me and my brother in such a negative way. when both him and me played in both u19 and reserve grade premeirships at the club, Teddy actually played in the last senior premership melbourne won in 1987, the thing that really annoys me is that you dont have any idea of what i and my brother went thru to play the game. i know there are true melbourne supporters who dont get their kicks out of bagging players that have done nothing more than give their best for the club. my brother and myself put our bodies on the line and have the scars to prove it. i suggest you rethink what it means to be a supporter.

G'day John, it's great to hear of you, I was an onfield participent with you throughout your time there.

I hope things are going well for you & your family????????.

Posted

This thread is a good reminder that we need to be mindful of the line between expressing our thoughts on the abilities of the guys who play in the red and the blue and unnecessary personal attacks that often happen here.

Good to see you on demonland JF, hopefully you can contribute some more and make this a better place.

Posted
This thread is a good reminder that we need to be mindful of the line between expressing our thoughts on the abilities of the guys who play in the red and the blue and unnecessary personal attacks that often happen here.

Good to see you on demonland JF, hopefully you can contribute some more and make this a better place.

Welcome John. Stick around and I'm sure you'll renew aquaintances with an old school teacher from McKinnon High days!

Posted

Hi John,

Fond memories of you end Ted in the mid 80's playing gutsy footy for the Dees.

I think you went up to Brisbane in their first intake - is that correct?

Would have been interesting!

Then you were recruited by K Sheedy I think.

Anyway, welcome.

Posted

I remember both of you very fondly JF. My mates really admired you and Ted because, unlike a few of your teammates, you wouldn't take shyzen from anybody.

I don't know what it is that the Biffinator said but one poster isn't representative of all of us at Demonland so please don't take it to heart.

I'd be interested to know which MFC past and present players visit and post here.

Posted

Ditto.

Posted

While we're on the subject of Demon brothers, 17-gamer Peter Tossol was interviewed on the Coodabeens yesterday. He's Coach of Mansfield in the O & M League. The discussion was very mature, not a single mention of stiffness or hardness at any stage, not even by Greg Champion, who's fond of a cliche.

I don't think John (2 games) cracked it for a mention. He was a bit unfortunate.

Posted
While we're on the subject of Demon brothers, 17-gamer Peter Tossol was interviewed on the Coodabeens yesterday. He's Coach of Mansfield in the O & M League. The discussion was very mature, not a single mention of stiffness or hardness at any stage, not even by Greg Champion, who's fond of a cliche.

I don't think John (2 games) cracked it for a mention. He was a bit unfortunate.

Remember you well young Fidge. You must have been about 15 years old when you first played for the MFC Under 19's and were considered by all and sundry as a player of the future. Showed promise in your first season of senior footy at the MFC but then faded out of the picture under John Northey. I remember your brother Ted snotting someone important at Waverley but not the details or the number of weeks he got if any. The Demons also won a night premiership in 1989 but I'm not sure whether Teddy was there by then.

Anyhow great memories, I wish you well and please stick with us although, if I may say, I hope that schoolteacher from McKinnon High wasn't your English teacher. :rolleyes:

Cheers,

Rumpole

Posted
Remember you well young Fidge. You must have been about 15 years old when you first played for the MFC Under 19's and were considered by all and sundry as a player of the future. Showed promise in your first season of senior footy at the MFC but then faded out of the picture under John Northey. I remember your brother Ted snotting someone important at Waverley but not the details or the number of weeks he got if any. The Demons also won a night premiership in 1989 but I'm not sure whether Teddy was there by then.

Anyhow great memories, I wish you well and please stick with us although, if I may say, I hope that schoolteacher from McKinnon High wasn't your English teacher. :rolleyes:

Cheers,

Rumpole

It was Darren Milane and Teddy just about knocked him out cold. Milane had stood on Ted's hand and so he got his just deserts and we won too so everyone was happy. That pretty much ended Teddy's career he got a fair few weeks from the tribunal from memory.

I have fond memories of John playing in our winning reserves premiership back in the 80's. Huge barrell chest and a very similar approach to the footy as Rhino Richards.

Posted
It was Darren Milane and Teddy just about knocked him out cold. Milane had stood on Ted's hand and so he got his just deserts and we won too so everyone was happy. That pretty much ended Teddy's career he got a fair few weeks from the tribunal from memory.

I have fond memories of John playing in our winning reserves premiership back in the 80's. Huge barrell chest and a very similar approach to the footy as Rhino Richards.

Teddy got Millane? He deserves a life membership for that!

Posted

Actually that school teacher from McKinnon High was Ted's English teacher , but it's important to point out that John's sporting abilities were what he will be remembered for .

BTW the school was a breeding ground for junior Demon sides in the 80s with the Fidge brothers playing alongside night final hero Brett Bailey and under 19 players Sid Pappas and Luke Caddaye to provide an imposing high school team that ultimately played off against Assumption College in an Amco Herald Cup final , which was the curtain raiser to the senior VFL pre season competition.

It's important for me to point out that John Fidge was regarded as the finest junior schoolboy footballer in the state in those days , and it was not for a lack of talent that he failed to achieve the highest levels at VFL standard.

Posted

John - I am pretty sure I know the thread you are referring to.

I did put in a number of disclaimers in general - that in many such circumstances, it was beyond a player's control (such as Paul Prymke) in terms of their final output assessed against the original expectations.

It was not an out and out bagging in any way.

I do apologise, however, John, for hurting your feelings. As I'm pretty sure I said on the original thread, or elsehwhere, anyway who plays footy of whatever kind, be in the red or blue or elsewhere, has got guts and courage.

You have bled for the red and blue, and that is all that really needs to be said at the end of the day.

Biffinator

Posted

I also admired your play, John. But I was disappointed that you, like almost all other ex-players(Brian Dixon, Ron Barassi and Robert Flower excluded), didn't speak out against the proposed dissolution of our club in 1996.We really needed some ex-players to make themselves heard, but they weren't forthcoming. You players spilt blood for our club, but the hardcore members are the the ones with the undying passion.

However, I'm delighted that you still care about our club. Does Ted?

How about contributing some comments on tactics etc. Having been in the thick of it(albeit nearly 20 years ago),you're well qualified to comment.

Posted

Cheers,

Rumpole

Hi Rumpole

Thanks for your support. I'm wondering who the past teacher was too, and your right grammer is bad, thank god I could kick a ball eh! Didn't play much under Northey due to broken foot.

JF

Posted
good to see an ex dee on this forum welcome

now for a current dee player!! that would be nice :rolleyes: some1 like brad miller comes in here and gives everyone a blast.. well not everyone but all his knockers

Posted
now for a current dee player!!

They may not post, but I assure you they read.

Hopefully that makes people realise that while they can hide behind their screen name, they are still accountable for what they say and how they say it!

Posted
Hi Rumpole

Thanks for your support. I'm wondering who the past teacher was too, and your right grammer is bad, thank god I could kick a ball eh! Didn't play much under Northey due to broken foot.

JF

I reckon the teacher might be joeboy judging from his voluminous praise of the school team.

Posted
G'day John, it's great to hear of you, I was an onfield participent with you throughout your time there.

Thanks DV8, Family good married with 4 kids, living in Adelaide, love to know who u are.

Posted
Actually that school teacher from McKinnon High was Ted's English teacher , but it's important to point out that John's sporting abilities were what he will be remembered for .

BTW the school was a breeding ground for junior Demon sides in the 80s with the Fidge brothers playing alongside night final hero Brett Bailey and under 19 players Sid Pappas and Luke Caddaye to provide an imposing high school team that ultimately played off against Assumption College in an Amco Herald Cup final , which was the curtain raiser to the senior VFL pre season competition.

It's important for me to point out that John Fidge was regarded as the finest junior schoolboy footballer in the state in those days , and it was not for a lack of talent that he failed to achieve the highest levels at VFL standard.

Joeboy thanks for kind words, Great days at Macca high, loved every minute there.

Posted
now for a current dee player!! that would be nice :rolleyes: some1 like brad miller comes in here and gives everyone a blast.. well not everyone but all his knockers

I reckon some of them would love to post, but when you are canned every five minutes, why bother?

Posted
Joeboy thanks for kind words, Great days at Macca high, loved every minute there.

John, I also knew your father and brother and I think you where there as well (memory going through old age), when they worked in east bentleigh, how are they going and hope all is well............

Posted

Another ex Melbourne player? Come on DV8 tell us who you are! We certainly welcome ex players and respect their views.