Hoping covid doesnt reek havoc with the finals especially if moved interstate.

1 hour ago, leave it to deever said:

That would be a stinker of a situation.

On 8/2/2021 at 11:43 AM, Kozzie4PM said:

Why would beating Geelong in rnd 23 be a "miracle of miracles"?

Pragmatic position to be in ... one that may well be the case. Still, the way the Cats played at home this round ... and we can beat Port by watching what we do with the ball at times ... and the season is nearly wrapped up ... there is the incentive to win all three and this is possible ... not unlikely as our humility dictates ... I'd reckon that with the best efforts possible and the best run possible with the worst of the umpires, we could end up 2nd on the ladder.  The Swans would be a danger for us - just have to be on the ball and determined.

If we don't, it has been a great season inside the most volatile environment for footy ever (Covid-19 pandemic). 

Edited by Deemania since 56

Scott didn't look to worried about the GWS loss and fair enough as they had more scoring shots but 8.17.  However, their % took a hit and he has been watching it carefully.    

He may not have slept so well last night seeing what the Saints did to Sydney.  Geelong play Saints next week.

They can fall out of the top 4 if they lose the last two and Lions have three very good wins to bridge the % gap.  Suddenly Geelong need to keep winning to get the double chance.

Would much rather Lions in the top 4 than Cats.  Barrack for Lions today to keep the heat on Scott and his team of snipers.

2 hours ago, Grand New Flag said:

Massive game v WC. 1st or 2nd if win and top 4 sealed, 4th if we lose.  I think Essendon are a chance v dogs today.

Agree! WC fighting for their spot in finals tomorrow so I expect them to show up! 

They are on very shaky ground playing us, Freo in what will be one of the biggest derby’s in years then the Lions.

Every chance of missing finals.

40 minutes ago, Hell Bent said:

Agree! WC fighting for their spot in finals tomorrow so I expect them to show up! 

They are on very shaky ground playing us, Freo in what will be one of the biggest derby’s in years then the Lions.

Every chance of missing finals.

I have a special dislike of the Eagles fans since the 2018 prelim. I would be delighted if they missed finals.

Bit of money going on West Coast. Might just be our record in these games or maybe they have set themselves. Either play at our best we win. 

Same situation occurred with us against Collingwood a few seasons back to play finals, fellas didn’t turn up to play.

24 minutes ago, Mr Steve said:

Bit of money going on West Coast. Might just be our record in these games or maybe they have set themselves. Either play at our best we win. 

We are not great in the wet

1 hour ago, Mr Steve said:

How does the team having 'set themselves' change the bookies odds? Are you implying WCE team is corrupt? 😀

Weather seems like it will be exceptionally wet & windy, so result becomes a bit more of a lottery. But more Victorian like conditions, so hopefully that suits Demons, versus Eagles pinpoint passing dry weather style.

27 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Lions showing us how to get the job done in the West.

The weekend's results have opened up an incredible rails run to top spot.

Get it done Dees! 

Look there’s nothing surer than us blowing up this incredible opportunity we’ve been handed. #MelbournedoingMelbournethings

Edited by Jaded

14 minutes ago, Jaded said:

Look there’s nothing surer than us blowing up this incredible opportunity we’ve been handed. #MelbournedoingMelbournethings

Inhale the anxiety @Jaded 😇

If we beat Adelaide and Saints beat Geelong next week, we will finish top 2 regardless if we lose to Geelong the following week!! 👊

image.png.e05fa1c21d0e2423ee00c00cd041c802.png

Top 4 locked in :cool:  Lost interest in the rest!!  

What a dream if the final 4 order stayed as is (or Cats and Dogs swap spots).  We would play first final vs Port who look the most vulnerable.  Straight through to the Prelim...  (Altho Lions could still make top 4 but happy to play them in first final.  Also look vulnerable).

Can we make a covid plea to stop the season now🙂

1 minute ago, Demonland said:

Ok fine let’s finish 2nd then. 

Last night could be a disastrous win:

If we beat Adelaide but lose to Geelong

if Port win their last 2 games, 

Dogs beat Hawthorn but lose to Port

Geelong beat St Kilda and us.

Means we finish 3rd and play Port in Adelaide. Would mean yet another flight and date in hostile territory.

Just now, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Means we finish 3rd and play Port in Adelaide. Would mean yet another flight and date in hostile territory.

Mate really? 
Dogs won’t lost to Port at home firstly. Secondly winning games is never a disaster. We cemented a double chance last night. The rest is irrelevant 

Do what we can to get that home final, the rest can be dealt with when it comes. Don't love being top but who cares. 

19 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

And I thought my MFCSS was bad!

On 8/8/2021 at 7:42 AM, leave it to deever said:

Finals may well be played in Tassie and Geelong, deev. TBH I can't see finals being played in front of a crowd until at least the Prelims. And finals won't be played in empty stadiums. We won't come out of lockdown until all cases have been insolation for their infectious period. My conservative prediction is August 24. Absolute worst case scenario. That is before the weekend of the pre-finals bye. You have to expect 2-3 weeks after lockdown ends before crowds can return. That puts us in the week leading into Prelims. So it's a tight timeline.

Edited by praha