DeeSpencer 26,678 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 8 minutes ago, BrisbaneDemon said: Viney needs to be commended for his defensive job on Wines, he was basically a non factor. Viney offence stuff will come. Limited Wines at the contest but he had 33. Viney has to get his spread running back and has to do something that resembles AFL footy with the ball otherwise we won’t get far. The combination with Harmes is particularly concerning. Both absolutely butchering it. 6 Quote
Purple77 1,025 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 Also - from a Port supporting mate speaking after Kysaiah's one step goal; "Why can't we have a small forward do something like that" Absolute music to my ears. We have a ripper. 7 1 Quote
titan_uranus 25,255 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 1 minute ago, DeeSpencer said: Limited Wines at the contest but he had 33. Viney has to get his spread running back and has to do something that resembles AFL footy with the ball otherwise we won’t get far. The combination with Harmes is particularly concerning. Both absolutely butchering it. Viney was better today than the last two weeks in getting and using the ball. Still missed some targets but he was at least lowering the eyes and looking to hit lead up targets. Harmes, though. Not a great game IMO. 5 Quote
Megatron 886 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 3 minutes ago, jnrmac said: Gawn confirming they did a block of hard training around the bye. But said it wasn't a factor in their form slump My theory about that earlier today seems to have some merit. Hopefully it proves dividends towards the end of the year. 1 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,549 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 We’re 6-0 when we got in as outsiders. Any chance Hawthorn can go in as favourites next week? 2 Quote
loges 6,767 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 Won against some of the worst umpiring I've seen this year. By the way where's Dr. I'm always right? 2 Quote
Bags 34 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 That has to be win of the season. Petty was amazing, backs were so solid, mids were methodical and forwards kicked what they should. 2 1 Quote
Kiss of Death 772 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 It’s a Thursday but I think I am going to crack a beer. 2 1 Quote
Earl Hood 6,167 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 2 minutes ago, Purple77 said: Also - from a Port supporting mate speaking after Kysaiah's one step goal; "Why can't we have a small forward do something like that" Absolute music to my ears. We have a ripper. Short memory, Robbie Grey? 1 Quote
Rab D Nesbitt 8,955 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 Gee, when we're on we are exquisite to watch. 2 Quote
Daily Dose of Demons 155 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 How am I meant to rock up to work tomorrow 2 Quote
Forest Demon 4,681 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 Wines may have had 30, but every single one was under extreme pressure. I reckon Viney was very good tonight. 13 1 Quote
BAMF 4,483 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 3 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said: Limited Wines at the contest but he had 33. Viney has to get his spread running back and has to do something that resembles AFL footy with the ball otherwise we won’t get far. The combination with Harmes is particularly concerning. Both absolutely butchering it. Our players worked so hard to give it to Viney who was in a better position only for Viney to throw it on the boot as quick as possible across his body. It was probably my only standout negative for the night. 2 Quote
Guest Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 2 minutes ago, DemonOX said: I actually think the doppy aholes started playing the Port song then went I [censored] we didn’t win quick change it. Idiots. I thought that’s what happened! Then I thought nah, surely not. But yeah, they defs played maybe a couple of seconds of it. I’m glad you mentioned it coz I thought it was just me getting old. ? Quote
titan_uranus 25,255 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 To be fair to Viney, Wines did have 33 but only 5 clearances (Oliver 11, Boak 8, Petracca 7 by comparison) and only 375 metres gained (we had six players with more than that). 7 1 Quote
Adam The God 30,731 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 13 minutes ago, titan_uranus said: @A F Viney 88% TOG tonight. We clearly set ourselves for this game, didn't we? JJ back up to 75% too, and this week it was time for Rivers, Spargo and Jackson to play limited minutes. 3 Quote
DemonOX 8,857 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 A lot of it is still between the ears for our players. Against the top teams we are switched on but against lower teams we seem to struggle to be switched on but it’s something we can work on prior to the end of the season. 2 1 Quote
BAMF 4,483 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 2 minutes ago, Bags said: That has to be win of the season. Petty was amazing, backs were so solid, mids were methodical and forwards kicked what they should. I loved it but i thought that we have had better wins Bulldogs, Brisbane, Swans were all better wins imo (in that order). 1 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 12 minutes ago, Meggs said: Meggs was super impressed with Harry Petty tonight, he thought it was the Number 35’s best game in the Red and Blue! Easily Quote
buck_nekkid 6,101 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 1 minute ago, BAMF said: Our players worked so hard to give it to Viney who was in a better position only for Viney to throw it on the boot as quick as possible across his body. It was probably my only standout negative for the night. He went at about 44% disposal efficiency. Thought he was a liability in the first half, slightly better in the second. Harmes fumbled about everything! 2 Quote
binman 44,824 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 10 minutes ago, jnrmac said: Gawn confirming they did a block of hard training around the bye. But said it wasn't a factor in their form slump Would you seriously have expected him to say anything else (ie it wasn't a factor). Explains the pressure drop you highlighted does it not? 3 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,457 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 3 minutes ago, Daily Dose of Demons said: How am I meant to rock up to work tomorrow Shattered after a huge Bender 1 2 Quote
buck_nekkid 6,101 Posted July 8, 2021 Posted July 8, 2021 3 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said: I thought that’s what happened! Then I thought nah, surely not. But yeah, they defs played maybe a couple of seconds of it. I’m glad you mentioned it coz I thought it was just me getting old. ? They waited for Dixon to take his kick. Then they played it. 1 Quote