First option

Gorgoroth

The players preached this early in the year and that it doesn’t matter how many touches you get etc.

Well ask Oliver and Trac about it again cos they are torching everyone all game. 
We are playing selfish crud football.

Win or lose this from 3/4 time this must be stamped out over the break.

Agreed. How many times can Oliver stop, take a step to the side, raise his arms to give off a handball, and get tackled, when he has a free team mate who has to stop and wait and see what happens?

And Trac. 

35 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

The players preached this early in the year and that it doesn’t matter how many touches you get etc.

Well ask Oliver and Trac about it again cos they are torching everyone all game. 
We are playing selfish crud football.

Win or lose this from 3/4 time this must be stamped out over the break.

Post of the day 

Trac and oliver played a dumb game today. Great at getting the footy. Disposals were poor. Kicking was fu@$)&d.  Oliver’s miss hurt us at end of third.  Pendlebury nailed same kick in last quarter. 

Clarry had a couple of Beamer moments this week - long bombs from the centre straight to the tall defenders. One in particular where he ignored a lateral player calling for the ball on his own, only to belt it forwards under pressure was very poor.

could have been the result of being smashed in the head in that dirty deliberate second half stoppage.. bet that bloke doesn’t even get cited

3 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

Yep, time for Trac and especially Clarry to take a good look at themselves. Not playing team footy at the moment.

Also what’s with Trac and Tmac?  Rarely share the ball between each other and have words occasionally. When Trac got his goal he had Tmac free in a better position in the goal square waiting for an easy over the top hand pass. Trac doesn’t like to share near goals and lets teammates know about if this they reciprocate in kind. 

This is the one thing from the game that infuriated me the most. Yeah we’ll have off days and flat patches and blah blah but the arrogance and FIGJAM attitude of some of these blokes just really deflated the whole thing like the the crappy balloon that it was. Instead of getting it in quick and pinging it around they way we thrive on these guys became traffic directors and bs artists (and not even good ones). 

The game is won between the arcs and the lack of urgency and showboating was embarrassing. And the thing is it doesn’t take much of a change in mindset to start behaving like this. 

Neither Oliver nor Petracca have any kind of left foot. Nor do we have a left footer at the moment in the centre bounce set up or the entire midfield. That's certainly one thing that hurts us.

Similarly our lack of forward marking ability hurts the way we want to play because the mids lose confidence in getting it in quick.

The centre square should prioritise quick entry rather than lace out entry when the other side is putting on great pressure. If you can't get a good clear handball then bang it forward and deep. 

But we also couldn't get our mids on the move and attacking because Gawn was getting nullified by a young kid and Jackson sadly doesn't seem to have enough of a leap to get over the top. He's a brilliant athlete but he just isn't Nic Nat. He's 198cm and with a limited jump off 3 steps, he doesn't have the big turbo leap that only Nic Nat really has. As he matures he'll add more bulk and be able to jump in to guys to win the hit outs but he can't do that yet.

It's also a cricket pitch so our big body mids that need steady footing to change direction and our lumbering ruck aren't favoured on that kind of surface. Not an excuse but it wasn't ideal.

1 hour ago, John Crow Batty said:

Also what’s with Trac and Tmac?  Rarely share the ball between each other and have words occasionally. When Trac got his goal he had Tmac free in a better position in the goal square waiting for an easy over the top hand pass. Trac doesn’t like to share near goals and lets teammates know about if this they reciprocate in kind. 

Clarry spoke about the ‘sprays’ the players gave each other last year in game and noted it was something they had addressed. Petracca is one of the worst offenders. He constantly sprays TMac. He needs to eradicate it

This topic made my blood boil today!

Petracca and Oliver were two of the biggest offenders. It was seriously a pathetic display from two so called leaders. They literally gave goals to Collingwood directly from not giving the first option and instead wanted to take the tackler on. This hit needs to seriously stop!

If Goodwin was fair dinkum then these two idiots get a well deserved spray after the game.

Take a leaf book out of Jordon, who knows his limitations and just gives to the first option that presents in front of him. Plays the team structure incredibly well.

If the new culture they’ve been talking about means anything then the leadership group will confront these two.

Sometimes, the team needs something a little special. A no look handball. A don’t argue. A long kick into the teeth of goal.

It doesn’t need to be every time one touches the bloody ball. Their selfishness cost us today. Big time.

people say this yet put petracca and Oliver in our votes for todays game? Mind boggling. They turned it over time and time and time again. It's like a couple of confident Oscar Mcdonalds playing in the midfield. FFS. 

Trac and Clarry had a relapse yesterday. The coaching team will point out the bad decisions and selfish acts and reinforce whats expected. They'll respond i'm sure i just hope we don't see a repeat of this in a final. 

52 minutes ago, Better days ahead said:

Trac and Clarry had a relapse yesterday. The coaching team will point out the bad decisions and selfish acts and reinforce whats expected. They'll respond i'm sure i just hope we don't see a repeat of this in a final. 

The relapse has been creeping in for weeks. Yesterday it was back in all its glory.

We so the same vs Essendon in 2 weeks and they will run that ball up the middle all day long.

The really annoying thing is, both are very good ball users and decision makers, but their Ego's get the better of them. no doubt they would have copped a very stern talking to about trying to do too much. and a good lesson for the entire team to see what happens when you go away from the simple, team footy that's won us 11 games this year. 

it's one of those, the harder you try, the less it works things. 

22 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

The relapse has been creeping in for weeks. Yesterday it was back in all its glory.

We so the same vs Essendon in 2 weeks and they will run that ball up the middle all day long.

I agree. Have to get back to basics.

How does "don't take the game on" square with "take the game on"?

The difference is when it doesn't come off. They've been doing the same thing all year but it didn't work a few times this week. You don't want to stop them trying to take the game on because it has made us very successful. Imagine asking Dusty to give the first option rather than trying to take on the tackler.

C'est la vie. 

31 minutes ago, Axis of Bob said:

How does "don't take the game on" square with "take the game on"?

The difference is when it doesn't come off. They've been doing the same thing all year but it didn't work a few times this week. You don't want to stop them trying to take the game on because it has made us very successful. Imagine asking Dusty to give the first option rather than trying to take on the tackler.

C'est la vie. 

Taking the game on is different than not taking the first option. 
Multiple times Trac and Clarrie at centre bounces had Langdon out alone on the wing, they stopped, turned back in, tried to break tackles and got caught.

On the wing Trac had a player 10-15 meters in the centre for a handball instead he ran at the tackler, tried a sidestep and ended up with a 1 meter handball that went no where. It happened all game. 
By all means when they get the ball on a fast play and run at the defenders or there is no option go for it. But the way we sliced teams earlier was but using those options and taking them instantly.

was very frustrating. The amount of Hollywood handballs petracca that got picked off so easily resulted in multiple goals by Collingwood. And his kicking was so poor too. I'd prefer him in the fwd50 if he's going to be like that. 

8 hours ago, Swooper1987 said:

Both were poor yesterday in most areas of the game.  They are allowed a bad one occasionally, just a shame they had it on the same day. 

Yep i agree and they have been brilliant all year, its going to happen, the problem was it all happened on the same day 

Gawn / Oliver / Trac / TMac / Lever / May / Fritsch / Langdon / Salem all had or were very close to season worst games. It was left to way to few and young blokes especially. 

The negativity in this post is understandable, but we must look at the positives and at 11-2 there have been many many many positives.

Edited by Demon3

6 hours ago, Better days ahead said:

I agree. Have to get back to basics.

6 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

'The relapse has been creeping in for weeks.' You mean, in  the weeks we beat the Bulldogs and Brisbane? Some crazy finger-pointing after a disappointing loss going on here.