monoccular 17,760 Posted May 18, 2021 Posted May 18, 2021 12 hours ago, deegirl said: From his first game I've been in football love with Clarry. He's a gun and does not get enough credit from our supporters. Clarrie's was certainly the most exciting debut I can remember - even the Ox. I thought just wow! How can a debutante do such stuff. 4 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,468 Posted May 18, 2021 Posted May 18, 2021 8 hours ago, CYB said: Love his work. I think we have 3 of the top 10 players in the comp at the moment in Oliver, Trac and Gawn and probably another 2-3 in the top 20 (Lever, Salo and May). Such a balanced side playing great team footy. Love Oliver's 2-way running this year and his improved kicking. He is still a young boy and still has some upside. Could he win a brownlow? Still paying $17 which I thought was pretty high. Easily BOG the last 2 games and would've racked up votes in other games as well. 1 Quote
Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 5,690 Posted May 18, 2021 Posted May 18, 2021 Re that spooky '9+ straight wins = Premiership' that Ch.7 threw up: in none of those years was No.13 in the team. And, indeed, in the Glorious55to64 there was no No.13. Just sayin'... Thooooough... ...Les Jones kicked 3 in 1939, and Max Spittle was among the best in 1948... Quote
Docs Demons 1,810 Posted May 18, 2021 Posted May 18, 2021 AND the scary thing is he will get even BETTER Quote
DubDee 26,674 Posted May 18, 2021 Posted May 18, 2021 Could well get to 300 games and could go down as one of the best ever Demons. by far the best midfielder I’ve seen play for us 1 Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted May 18, 2021 Posted May 18, 2021 Love this kid. Funny though, while his kicking has improved, his goal kicking goes backwards. My only knock on him previously was he seemed to be lazy when the opposition had the ball, but this is no longer the case (same with Bradshaw), he is on track to being our best mid since Tulip, possibly better (though I only saw the second half of his career). This team can be anything, backs like Salem, Lever, Hunt, May and Rivers, wings in Lingers and Gus, mids in Trac, Clarry and Viney, forwards in TMac, Brown, Weideman, ANB Spargo and Kossie, Jackson replacing one, led by Gawn, I expect the drought to break with a 50s like flood! 2 1 Quote
DeeZee 7,496 Posted May 18, 2021 Posted May 18, 2021 Without Clarry in the team we would not be 9-0 3 Quote
Superunknown 4,246 Posted May 18, 2021 Posted May 18, 2021 (edited) Still paying $19 on Ladbrokes for the Brownlow. They're offering cashout on Petracca at 2-1 (he was 13-1 at start of season). And they were offering cashouts at 3-1 the other day which shows they think he is less likely to win than last week. Demons were 26-1 on Ladbrokes start of season (I had 10 on them), Ladbrokes is now offering early cash out at 4.16....gone up from $3 last week. The money is coming in for the Dees it seems. Edited May 18, 2021 by Superunknown Quote
picket fence 18,175 Posted May 19, 2021 Posted May 19, 2021 (edited) 2 hours ago, DeeZee said: Without Clarry in the team we would not be 9-0 True enough, his third and last quarters in particular, have been instrumental in getting us over the line in some tight (ish) games. Just a super competitor with that fierce will to win, that is reserved for champions! Edited May 19, 2021 by picket fence 3 Quote
Cheffy 18 Posted May 20, 2021 Posted May 20, 2021 On 5/19/2021 at 10:16 AM, picket fence said: True enough, his third and last quarters in particular, have been instrumental in getting us over the line in some tight (ish) games. Just a super competitor with that fierce will to win, that is reserved for champions! Yep. How often have I thought "oh yeah Oliver's been good - alright I guess" then when the game is on the line in Q3-4 he goes to another level 2 Quote
Pickett2Jackson 3,904 Posted May 22, 2021 Posted May 22, 2021 This fella should be Brownlow favourite!!! Hes having an unbelievable season and went to another level last night. Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted May 23, 2021 Posted May 23, 2021 Just loves playing against the Crows. Would have loved nothing more than his performance to will us over the line but it wasn’t to be. He floated on air last night. 1 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,670 Posted May 23, 2021 Posted May 23, 2021 If he can consistently keep his legs moving, if he can stop mouthing off at the umps so he gets umpired correctly (should get 5 free kicks a game) and if he can kick at a decent level he’ll be the best midfielder in the game. I think he’s made improvements in all 3 areas, with the kicking still needing the most work. Last night was his best game ever, but there’s still room for improvement. Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,468 Posted May 23, 2021 Posted May 23, 2021 He was in beast mode last night, hope he continues that form next week. 2 Quote
gregdemon 628 Posted May 23, 2021 Posted May 23, 2021 best player at the club period ! His effort should have won us the game alas mistakes by max and lever (stupid push in back) cost us Have I mentioned I hate Adelaide with their massive inferior complex.. but they should have the state is inferior (bunch of tools) just a big country town who bludges of the big states almost as bad as Tassie 2 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted May 23, 2021 Posted May 23, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said: If he can consistently keep his legs moving, if he can stop mouthing off at the umps so he gets umpired correctly (should get 5 free kicks a game) and if he can kick at a decent level he’ll be the best midfielder in the game. I think he’s made improvements in all 3 areas, with the kicking still needing the most work. Last night was his best game ever, but there’s still room for improvement. Setting a high bar there DS. If he played most games like the best game an MFC player's probably played in the last 5 years per yesterday i'd be in footy Shangri-La! Edited May 23, 2021 by Rusty Nails 5 Quote
Adam The God 30,721 Posted May 23, 2021 Posted May 23, 2021 Our midfield runs on Clarry. Without him we're nowhere. With Viney a likely in next week, Oliver and Petracca can hopefully go to the next level. There probably isn't another level available for Clarry, given his 10/10 Adelaide performance. Maybe his mate with the seven year contract can come with him next week though. Looking forward to seeing us bounce back. 2 Quote
Swooper1987 3,322 Posted May 23, 2021 Posted May 23, 2021 His form this season is spectacular. Other than the GWS game, he's been absolutely outstanding. His form line rarely alters irrespective of the team performance. That is the mark of a genuine champion. He is that now. 3 Quote
Billy 2,566 Posted May 23, 2021 Posted May 23, 2021 He played one of the great games of the season 3 goals, 38 possies & 27 contested, that is huge Top 3 midfielder in the comp 3 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,468 Posted May 23, 2021 Posted May 23, 2021 1 hour ago, A F said: Our midfield runs on Clarry. Without him we're nowhere. With Viney a likely in next week, Oliver and Petracca can hopefully go to the next level. There probably isn't another level available for Clarry, given his 10/10 Adelaide performance. Maybe his mate with the seven year contract can come with him next week though. Looking forward to seeing us bounce back. I thought Petracca was decent yesterday, won several clearances (he did tend to blaze away with them though), kicked an important goal in the 3rd from outside 50 and continued to run and present options. I think people are being a but harsh on Petracca, Oliver was phenomenal but I thought Petracca played well also (barring that late fumble on the wing). 1 Quote
Adam The God 30,721 Posted May 23, 2021 Posted May 23, 2021 15 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said: I thought Petracca was decent yesterday, won several clearances (he did tend to blaze away with them though), kicked an important goal in the 3rd from outside 50 and continued to run and present options. I think people are being a but harsh on Petracca, Oliver was phenomenal but I thought Petracca played well also (barring that late fumble on the wing). He was great in the first half. Was okay in the second half, but made some pretty crucial errors. And yes, that fumble cost us the game, but you could say so many other moments cost us, but we were away and a couple of goals up. That was it. I love Trac, I just think Clarry is a different, but better player. 5 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted May 23, 2021 Posted May 23, 2021 I felt for him last night. His performance deserved to be credited as dragging us over the line. His will to win was awe inspiring. I knew he was a great footballer but what I saw in the last quarter last night really showed he’s at another level. 6 Quote
deanox 10,070 Posted May 23, 2021 Posted May 23, 2021 (edited) He is our best player because his overall performance isnt reliant on those couple of key moments. He does it every week: he beats his man, and wins the ball and uses it well. However those key moments are what will make him a generational player. Weeks where he has 10 score involvements or 3 goals as well as his usual impact are absolute world beating, and put him close to best player in the comp. Edited May 23, 2021 by deanox 5 Quote
Engorged Onion 10,226 Posted May 23, 2021 Posted May 23, 2021 Probably could have put this elsewhere. Not that it matters (aside from a groundswell of public perception driven by the media, that in-turn influences umpire vote giving ?) but it's nice to know that some sections of the media see that Clayton is 'criminally underrated'. https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/it-s-bont-v-petracca-in-big-showdown-20210523-p57ud0.html 2 Quote
Dee Zephyr 19,311 Posted May 24, 2021 Posted May 24, 2021 https://www.afl.com.au/news/620392 4th best ever individual game since 2010 under the Player Ratings model. Watching him on the TV was amazing. The supporters that attended the game must have been picking up their jaws with that display. 3 2 1 Quote