Posted (edited)

Zero chance Harmes comes straight back in 

I think it’ll be Brown + Chandler/Sparrow 

Edited by DemonLad5

Posted
4 minutes ago, Nasher said:

If it’s Jones and Melksham both out then it’s got to be Brown and Harmes in. I can’t see them dropping experience for Bedford or Chandler.

Harmes has done nothing to get back in. He’ll have to take a number and get in line. He was about to be dropped before his injury. Chandler and Bedford have been good

Posted
4 minutes ago, Nasher said:

If it’s Jones and Melksham both out then it’s got to be Brown and Harmes in. I can’t see them dropping experience for Bedford or Chandler.

Bedford had a rather good game in the VFL so unless there is some special tagging job that suits Harmes I cannot see him being preferred without a run at VFL level

Posted (edited)

It's the ideal game to manage a few players.

Giving a few at VFL level a look at senior footy is important for depth and cohesion if they are managed out again then called up once more if/when required later in the season.

I'm sure Chunk is fully informed here and would be happy to fit in with the requirement and due for a week's rest/refresher or two.   Although i don't quite get how he is resting if playing in the VFL.  Unless his load is quite lighter on the day with minimal TOG.

Melk out for BBB makes sense.  BB needs to get some yards and touch behind him at the top level at some stage and he's too good to be played in the VFL for too long if ready to go.  Likely to be taken out by some dingbat if he stayed down there.

He's a difficult match up as well and means TMac & LJ will get the next rung defender.

Both would appear to be astute moves on paper at least.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Nasher said:

How about just dropping less impacting players for in form players that might impact in the right role? It is not like we dont have experience across the lines anymore. This is about getting a firing Brown in and I suggest the other player who will best complement. I dont think Harmes is a walk up inclusion off injury but could be wrong. 

Posted

Wasn't Harmes listed as 1 week on the MFC injury list?

Posted

Jones out was the obvious move.

I suspect Chandler will come in, although I'm happy for either Bedford or Chandler.

It's also time to get Brown in.

Posted
22 minutes ago, adonski said:

BBB&B, Big Benny Brown & Bowey 

Have a sneaky feeling after reading Casey reports. Bedford has also earned a go according to reports. 

Melksham out is also a clear indication that Goodwin relies on Denonland.

But seriously another tick for Goodwin, not playing favourites as some have accused. Can seperate being a mate from being a coach.

Posted
Just now, Lord Nev said:

We might all be in for a bit of a surprise this week I reckon...

Rivers run dry. But only for short periods normally. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, Dannyz said:

If they drop Rivers after that spoil I will burn the joint down 

Posted
8 minutes ago, Dannyz said:

Rivers still has a full tank I suspect. 

Posted
24 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

We might all be in for a bit of a surprise this week I reckon...

Care to elaborate? 

Posted
1 hour ago, Nasher said:

My thinking is they'll bring in Weid and Sparrow but I could easily see it being Brown and Harmes (assuming he's recovered from his wrist fracture).

My only concern with Brown coming in is the potential to upset our forward half pressure as he is notorious for going missing once the ball hits the ground. Weid on the other hand doesn't mind laying the odd crunching tackle.

Posted

I can see the logic in resting Jones. He had a massive build up last week and they are going to manage him through the season obviously wanting him to impact towards the end of the year. It make sense. Although it has ruined queens birthday when he was going to overtake Neita as games record holder. 

Melksham gets dropped simple as that. But I don't want to start changing the team to much, we are on a good thing at the moment. 

Posted
10 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

funny there is no mention elsewhere of the ch7 rumour.....not even on the ch7 web site

If you can be bothered checking out the replay online, it's at 36:25. Poster is correct. 

Posted (edited)
52 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Not really as it's only a bit of gossip atm! haha

I mean, it’s not like there’s a stipulation to post only verified information here. 

Edited by Mel Bourne
Posted

Why wouldn't they use the north game to try something a little different:

Out: Jones and Melksham

In: Ben Brown and Weideman

Brayshaw shifts forward, TMac shifts to the wing, and Jackson shifts to an athletic 'medium' role instead that Melksham had. Should have no impact on our pressure stats should BB and Weid have the same hunger to tackle as we have seen with the rest of the team. 

Posted
19 minutes ago, BigMacjnr said:

Why wouldn't they use the north game to try something a little different:

Out: Jones and Melksham

In: Ben Brown and Weideman

Brayshaw shifts forward, TMac shifts to the wing, and Jackson shifts to an athletic 'medium' role instead that Melksham had. Should have no impact on our pressure stats should BB and Weid have the same hunger to tackle as we have seen with the rest of the team. 

Brayshaw won't shift forward. He's a key defensive player for us. I'd go so far as to say he'd be keeping McDonald out of the wing position because of how well he plays the defensive winger role for us.

Wied just can't come in while McDonald is playing so well and Brown is untried at this level. Brown is ahead of him on runs on the board, so we have to try Brown first.

One of Wiedeman, Brown or McDonald will have to be at Casey each week, and McDonald is the one the other two will have to force out.