Posted
3 minutes ago, Chelly said:

Accuracy in front of goal would help too.

Totally agree. We have to be at our best all over the ground to roll this mob but particularly in front of goal. 

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, Chelly said:

Accuracy in front of goal would help too.

That will only come if we are not honouring so many leads to the pocket or a little higher towards the flanks imho.

It's been a bug bear of mine for a while. 

Fritta, while a lovely kick much of the time, does it far too often imv and why i believe the inclusion of BB (once he's had a few weeks to find his legs and get match fit) will make a big impact here and see us either icing games earlier against the good clubs/or a few more significant blow outs against lessor lights.

Can't wait for him to come in, hopefully against his old club next week.

His inclusion should also see the main tall defender taken away from TMac, hopefully freeing him up a little more allowing him to become a tad more dangerous/damaging.

It's one of our few weaknesses remaining that once ironed out should see us in good stead as the season progresses and should we make finals.

Posted

Agreed about our own accuracy in front of goal but it’s also an issue for us at the other end of the ground. While our defence has generally been very strong, our opponents have been extremely accurate when it’s come to their kicking for goal. With the exception of Round 1 (Freo 8.10.58 after being 0.6 at one stage) teams have scored more goals than behinds in every game (includes 11.2.68 by GWS). On the other hand, we’ve still managed to keep opposition scores down with St. Kilda’s 11.7.73 being the highest score against to this point in time.

Posted

If we can play with the same pressure we brought against Geelong with a bit more accuracy in front of goal we'll go a long way towards winning this one. It should be a cracker tonight. Filled with genuine confidence. 

Posted

We gotta bring the heat. Spargs, Kozzie and Nibbler are absolutely key. If we allow the tiges to exit our forward 50 unchecked we’re doomed.

May back into our defensive unit gives me a lot of confidence that our defensive structures will hold (as long as the tiges aren't coming at us in waves - see point above).

My concern is goal kicking. If we don’t take our chances we don’t win. It’s a s simple as that. Accuracy is critical.

Genuine 50/50 game. Even kicking straight and applying finals like pressure may not be enough. I don’t know which way it’ll go but tbh if we execute on our game plan and show we can mix it with the tiges I won’t be too disappointed with a loss. What I don’t want to see is Richmond carving us up through the middle and imposing their game style on us. 

Posted (edited)

Huge game.

Big stage at night and Jones 300th.

The boys will be fired up so I am going to expect some early inaccuacy at goal. Hope its not for long.

Our midfield was relatively quiet for the first three qrts last week.

Wont happen again.

The team will channel the spirit of Anzac today and get the job done. Dees by 31.

Thank you to all the service men and women who have laid down their lives for the freedom we enjoy and those who currently protect this wonderful country of ours.

Edited by leave it to deever

Posted

Not that I want to wish away going to watch my son play footy this morning, but tonight can’t come quick enough. Can’t wait.

Posted
1 hour ago, Whispering_Jack said:

We need 4 quarters tonight - nothing less.

From Useles AFL stats

FB_IMG_1619216443219.jpg

Posted

Merry game day, mother flippers!

Go Dees!

Posted

Tigers are a massive step up from the previous 5 games. 

I reckon we’ll go alright but we might be taught a lesson

Posted

We’re going to find out if we’re a serious contender tonight . We can all see we’re at least a good side in 21. maybe even v good , and i’ve enjoyed that much. Whether we’re elite and genuinely in the hunt this year is a deeper question and the answer I reckon will be obvious by 3/4 time. Hoping fr a cracking game and for this question to be answered in the positive whether we win or not! 

so pumped! go dees

Posted

Tonight is a great test of how engrained is our team first role based style that has us sitting 5-0. Massive crowd, against the best team in a long time that rush at you defensively and offensively the natural instinct will be to try too hard and do too much. I will not be surprised to see our boys revert somewhat to bees at the honey pot, too many up etc.... Control that, bring the heat, take our chances and the champs may be ready to learn who might be coming for their mantle. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

That will only come if we are not honouring so many leads to the pocket or a little higher towards the flanks imho.

It's been a bug bear of mine for a while. 

Fritta, while a lovely kick much of the time, does it far too often imv and why i believe the inclusion of BB (once he's had a few weeks to find his legs and get match fit) will make a big impact here and see us either icing games earlier against the good clubs/or a few more significant blow outs against lessor lights.

Can't wait for him to come in, hopefully against his old club next week.

His inclusion should also see the main tall defender taken away from TMac, hopefully freeing him up a little more allowing him to become a tad more dangerous/damaging.

It's one of our few weaknesses remaining that once ironed out should see us in good stead as the season progresses and should we make finals.

Let’s just hope we are better than a 50/50 chance when directly in front, as we have been this season.

ps goal kicking stats for west coast and us this year are below.

6B76C585-4401-482E-A880-5BEE49875443.png

ABA26939-80B8-4620-8CDA-0C35CEA06D46.png

Posted
54 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Huge game.

Big stage at night and Jones 300th.

The boys will be fired up so I am going to expect some early inaccuacy at goal. Hope its not for long.

Our midfield was relatively quiet for the first three qrts last week.

Wont happen again.

The team will channel the spirit of Anzac today and get the job done. Dees by 31.

Thank you to all the service men and women who have laid down their lives for the freedom we enjoy and those who currently protect this wonderful country of ours.

I see tonight as a great chance to prepare for a finals-type atmosphere for later in the season. The result is important of course but the experience will be invaluable also for the future. - both players and new coaching team.

Posted
19 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

No stress game tonight.

Expecting a loss but would love a win.

Hopefully a nice piece of preparation for the main games in September

Good call. And I expect the team to be either 10 - 0, or 9 - 1, at the end of 10 rounds, with tonights game being the unknown.  

Posted

There's no question about it - this game is "The Credibility Stakes" !

Are we the real deal and contenders or early season pretenders?

Unusually , I'm not going to spruik the big win ( Though I am having a moderate wager). The main aim for mine, is to demonstrate that we have finally arrived as a genuine top team. 

It hurts to say it but Richmond are the gold standard . Today we must not be outshone!

Posted
2 hours ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Agreed about our own accuracy in front of goal but it’s also an issue for us at the other end of the ground. While our defence has generally been very strong, our opponents have been extremely accurate when it’s come to their kicking for goal. With the exception of Round 1 (Freo 8.10.58 after being 0.6 at one stage) teams have scored more goals than behinds in every game (includes 11.2.68 by GWS). On the other hand, we’ve still managed to keep opposition scores down with St. Kilda’s 11.7.73 being the highest score against to this point in time.

Watching some of the replys of the games this season, we make mistakes in games, but then tend to correct in the same game or in subsequent weeks, which is as it should be. For instance, we dropped five easy marks (the main culprit being Lever) which all resulted in goals in the game against the Saints which made the results closer than it should have been, but corrected this in the next three games where our back line has been very reliable. Another example, was our tendency in earlier games was to deliver deep into the forward pockets which cut down on accuracy in front of goal, but this has been partially corrected in the last two games.

This  year so far we have won but we have not buried opponents unlike 2018. Then again, this year we have not (so far) lost games we clearly should have won which we regularly did in 2018. Maybe it is a sign of maturity both in the playing group and coaching group. Let’s hope it continues. Today will be the acid test. 

Posted (edited)

Beware the hungry tiger. Their form has been getting back to near 2020. They won’t want to be 3-3 after this round with the prospect of facing the bulldogs next week. We seem to be riding on cloud nine and in party mode at our unaccustomed position at the top of the ladder. We have to be 100% switched on and ready to push back a tsunami of pressure. We have the players to shut down their talls but  their smalls and midfielders pushing forward  will be harder to deal with. 

Edited by John Crow Batty
Posted

Can't wait for this game to start.Jones to play a blinder,Trac to have 30+ ,Viney to run straight over the top of Martin,Fritter to kick six

Posted

Very little between Tiges and us, although our strengths are different.

Our goal kicking is massively important .

I reckon this game will be won/lost in key moments, and that is all that will separate the 2 teams at the final siren. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, forever demons said:

Can't wait for this game to start.Jones to play a blinder,Trac to have 30+ ,Viney to run straight over the top of Martin,Fritter to kick six

And Kozzie four.

Posted
46 minutes ago, Watson11 said:

Let’s just hope we are better than a 50/50 chance when directly in front, as we have been this season.

ps goal kicking stats for west coast and us this year are below.

6B76C585-4401-482E-A880-5BEE49875443.png

ABA26939-80B8-4620-8CDA-0C35CEA06D46.png

Thanks D11...the direction one is a little confusing as neither add up to 100%.  Although it appears to indicate the Eagles are taking about 14% more shots fron the centre area.