Harmes to the midfield makes us a better team. As soon as he’s fit again we’ll go backwards

Edited by Roost it far

2 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

Harmes to the midfield makes us a better team. As soon as he’s fit again we’ll go backwards

Big statements. 

Wanna try backing them up with why you think this?

6 hours ago, chook fowler said:

I feel a 4 to 6 coming on.

Not sure about that chook, I reckon under Burgess we tend to report longer term injuries as 4-5 week proposition, it comes across a bit more precise.

The Rugby player will be no loss. Just chuck Harmes in the midfield

Not ideal considering Brayshaw is also behind the eight ball this pre season. Ah well I guess Harmes and possibly Sparrow or Jordan might get a run in the middle. 

8 hours ago, Pickett2Jackson said:

May should have been Vice Captain.

and when you promised to leave Demonland forever when Salem got us up over the Bombers after the siren, you should have stuck to it

3 hours ago, McQueen said:

Big statements. 

Wanna try backing them up with why you think this?

I respect and admire Jack immensely but we are over stocked with inside mids and I don’t think he’s the best of them. His disposal is hardly line breaking and he can’t play in any other position. Harmes offers greater run, is equal at putting others out of the game and I believe he’s more versatile.

Given the Trengove experience I wouldn't mind if we kept him out of all running drills for 12 weeks .

Keep him on the bike and swimming for cardio and let him wrestle bears for upper body conditioning.

Dr Biffen has spoken

20 minutes ago, Biffen said:

Given the Trengove experience I wouldn't mind if we kept him out of all running drills for 12 weeks .

Keep him on the bike and swimming for cardio and let him wrestle bears for upper body conditioning.

Dr Biffen has spoken

There is no reason to compare injuries when they are vastly different.  Viney seems to a minor issue and there is no reason to think otherwise unless advised.  The club won’t come out and say it’s minor if they think it a major issue, particularly with Burgo in charge 

Great opportunity for Sparrow to really step up now.

While the prior plantar fascia injury was to his right foot I hope we are really careful with this injury to his left foot.  His left is his kicking foot and as he has no 'right side' an early return risks his effectiveness on the field. 

I'm not fussed if he misses some early games, we have plenty of coverage which we didn't have 3-4 years ago.  Better that he is 100%.

20 hours ago, Better days ahead said:

It's a worry for sure given his history but at least its an area where we have good depth. Harmes or Jordan to step into the breach perhaps!

Sparrow ahead of both of those two for a Viney interchange for mine. 

21 hours ago, drysdale demon said:

The doomsday mob are at it.

19 hours ago, Clintosaurus said:

Look at all the usual sad sacks having a cry.

It does make you wonder why you’d give him a 200 year contract considering our plentiful supply of inside mids. Harmes, Bradshaw, Oliver, Sparrow, Jordan. Do we actually even need him?

3 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

It does make you wonder why you’d give him a 200 year contract considering our plentiful supply of inside mids. Harmes, Bradshaw, Oliver, Sparrow, Jordan. Do we actually even need him?

3 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

I tend to agree there is much more space around the ball without him even though I love his toughness

Unfortunately as usual we have given him a long contract coz he "bleeds red and blue"

2 hours ago, Ham said:

Sparrow ahead of both of those two for a Viney interchange for mine. 

I've no preference. whoever shows the most in pre-season should get the spot.

Viney has got to be the weirdest choice for forum whipping boy in the history of Demonland.

Foot injuries are always concerning; we've had plenty and I can't remember a single one turning out to be minor.

It's interesting to watch replays some time after matches. I watched the GWS replay the other night. Viney was far better than I remembered. Melksham was deplorable. Kozzie buzzed in and out, but missed so many gettable shots. Weideman was very poor. 

Oh no....Casey the new Goschs. :)

Wishing him a speedy recovery, we’re a better team with Jack in it. 

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

Featured Content

• PREVIEW: Richmond

A few years ago, the Melbourne Football Club produced a documentary about the decade in which it rose from its dystopic purgatory of regular thrashings to the euphoria of a premiership victory. That entire period could have been compressed in a fast motion version of the 2025 season to date as the Demons went from embarrassing basket case to glorious winner in an unexpected victory over the Dockers last Saturday. They transformed in a single week from a team that put in a pedestrian effort of predictably kicking the ball long down the line into attack that made a very ordinary Bombers outfit look like worldbeaters into a slick, fast moving side with urgency and a willingness to handball and create play with shorter kicks and by changing angles to generate an element of chaos that yielded six goals in each of the opening quarters against Freo. 

• Thanks
    • 0 replies
  • NON-MFC: Round 07

Round 7 gets underway in iconic fashion with the traditional ANZAC Day blockbuster. The high-flying Magpies will be looking to solidify their spot atop the ladder, while the Bombers are desperate for a win to stay in touch with the top eight. Later that evening, Fremantle will be out to redeem themselves after a disappointing loss to the Demons, facing a hungry Adelaide side with eyes firmly set on breaking into the top four. Saturday serves up a triple-header of footy action. The Lions will be looking to consolidate their Top 2 spot as they head to Marvel Stadium to clash with the Saints. Over in Adelaide, Port Adelaide will be strong favourites at home against a struggling North Melbourne. The day wraps up with a fiery encounter in Canberra, where the Giants and Bulldogs renew their bitter rivalry. Sunday’s schedule kicks off with the Suns aiming to bounce back from their shock defeat to Richmond, taking on the out of form Swans.Then the Blues will be out to claim a major scalp when they battle the Cats at the MCG. The round finishes with a less-than-thrilling affair between Hawthorn and West Coast at Marvel. Who are you tipping and what are the best results for the Demons?

• 3 replies
  • REPORT: Fremantle

For this year’s Easter Saturday game at the MCG, Simon Goodwin and his Demons wound the clock back a few years to wipe out the horrible memories of last season’s twin thrashings at the hands of the Dockers. And it was about time! Melbourne’s indomitable skipper Max Gawn put in a mammoth performance in shutting out his immediate opponent Sean Darcy in the ruck and around the ground and was a colossus at the end when the game was there to be won or lost. It was won by 16.11.107 to 14.13.97. There was the battery-charged Easter Bunny in Kysaiah Pickett running anyone wearing purple ragged, whether at midfield stoppages or around the big sticks. He finish with a five goal haul.

• Love
      • Thanks
    • 0 replies
  • CASEY: UWS Giants

The Casey Demons took on an undefeated UWS Giants outfit at their own home ground on a beautiful autumn day but found themselves completely out of their depth going down by 53 points against a well-drilled and fair superior combination. Despite having 15 AFL listed players at their disposal - far more than in their earlier matches this season - the Demons were never really in the game and suffered their second defeat in a row after their bright start to the season when they drew with the Kangaroos, beat the Suns and matched the Cats for most of the day on their own dung heap at Corio Bay. The Giants were a different proposition altogether. They had a very slight wind advantage in the opening quarter but were too quick off the mark for the Demons, tearing the game apart by the half way mark of the term when they kicked the first five goals with clean and direct football.

• Thanks
    • 0 replies
  • PREGAME: Richmond

The Dees are back at the MCG on Thursday for the annual blockbuster ANZAC Eve game against the Tigers. Can the Demons win back to back games for the first time since Rounds 17 & 18 last season? Who comes in and who goes out?

• Thanks
    • 245 replies
  • PODCAST: Fremantle

The Demonland Podcast will air LIVE on TUESDAY, 22nd April @ 8:00pm. Join Binman, George & I as we analyse the Demons first win for the year against the Dockers. Your questions and comments are a huge part of our podcast so please post anything you want to ask or say below and we'll give you a shout out on the show. If you would like to leave us a voicemail please call 03 9016 3666 and don't worry no body answers so you don't have to talk to a human.

• Thanks
    • 47 replies