Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 2 things cost us this game Goalkicking/polish some of the worst/most bias umpiring i've ever seen. 12 Quote
JTR 2,910 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 (edited) Definitely a game we lost rather than they won. Missed chances by Weid, Harmes & Bennell crucial. As for the yellow maggots... ? Edited July 26, 2020 by JTR 6 Quote
Purple77 1,025 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 I'm not forgiving you in a hurry, Harley. 1 1 Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 I'm shattered. I'm worn out too, but shattered more than anything. I felt like we deserved to win that game. Apart from the second term where Brisbane played some scintillating footy, I thought we were the better side for most of the night. I thought after half time our midfielders lifted superbly and our back line was absolutely fantastic. They kept us in the game when we really needed it. Viney was immense. His ability to get out of traffic but weaving and fending off tacklers is sensational. Oliver had another ripper game while Trac was fantastic yet again. They are making a real difference for us. Again, our back line was excellent. They are setting up really well down there. Cameron kicked a couple but outside of that he barely got a sniff, while Hipwood and McStay had little influence on the game. Want to give a shout out to two players: Melksham first. Kicked three and is showing why we have persevered with him up to this point. In these conditions he can be a classy player and it showed. The second is for Jackson. Tom Mac is going to find it hard to get back into the side with the kid playing the way he is. Love his athleticism and you can see his confidence lifting. And the umps can suck a big, fat one. They sucked all night. Onwards and upwards. Go Dees. 15 1 Quote
titan_uranus 25,255 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 We lost that. We were on top for longer than they would and we should have won by 2-3 goals. Take your pick of which of our awful mistakes lost it for us: Weideman's missed shots, Bennell's miss, Pickett's miss, or the Hannan-Fritsch disaster late. The umpiring didn't help, nor did the crowd: that was an away game for us. The late "dangerous tackle" call on Pickett was an absolute disgrace. The score review on Lever was unfair too. The second quarter was poor but in the other three quarters were were good enough to win. It was those three quarters where we lost it. 14 2 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,334 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 Well done Fritta you [censored] spanner 1 Quote
darkhorse72 1,943 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 What else can you say but, kick straight win games.. 2 1 Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 Woof. What a missed opportunity. Jetta nearly cooked. Jones probably is as well. Imagine…three missed from Weid, 1 absolute sitter missed from Bennell. Fritsch should be dropped for McDonald on the basis of sheer Beavis-and-Butthead stupidity in the last 2 minutes. 3 Quote
godees 913 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 No shame in losing to Brisbane but gee we were robbed. By the umps. By our goal kicking. By Hannan kicking OOB. We are our own worst enemy. 4 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 I’ve watched footy consistently for 36 years (I’m 42) and I don’t understand holding the ball anymore. It feels like if the ball bobbles out your ok, and otherwise take a guess. Has nothing to do with skill either way. 12 1 Quote
david_neitz_is_my_dad 4,084 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 Cant be mad at the review or umps when we blew chances all night 1 Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 Brisbane are a good side We played like [censored] In the end we were robbed [censored] me dead !!!! 5 1 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,773 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 Season probably over now. Did it ever really start for us? Time to see if Weid can take us anywhere. Some decent signs but so many teams have passed us by. 1 Quote
adonski 13,267 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 There must be a criminal investigation into umpiring in 2020. 4 1 Quote
praha 11,267 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 We lost that. Brisbane didn't win. We had one poor quarter and ultimately should have run away with it. Shocking umpire, some poor choices, and just a lack of polish killed us in the end. 2 Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 Lots of mistakes, but Hannan's decision to kick to the pocket in that last play was beyond stupid. 8 1 Quote
Red But Mostly Blue 4,632 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 Ugh, we've had so many games stolen from us over the years, this would have been a nice steal for us. ... But instead, some fantastic work by Trac was wasted by garbage delivery from Hannan, and stupidity from Fritter - and unfortunately that's the sort of stuff that separates teams. In this case, funnily enough by less than a goal. Not a terrible game at all, but lacking overall execution and polish. Weid misses 3, Harley and Kozzie each with bad misses. Langdon should really get those. If even one of them converts, it's a different story, probably. Ah well, next time aye. 1 1 Quote
demon3165 2,865 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 Worst coaching from the forward and backline line coaches how come we always start from behind our opponent in the forward line and the backline always kick out to the left we are so predictable it frustrates the hell out of me. 2 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 Dumb teams lose games. Umpires an actual disgrace to the competition. Our players need to learn to kick for goal. That is all. 6 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,334 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 See ya Jetta. Its time you retire gracefully. So many missed opportunities. Harley, Pickett, Harmes, Weideman. The umpiring was dead set the worse ive seen it this year, and its been an absolute debacle. 6 Quote
godees 913 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 And that score review was a disgrace and could well have cost us the game. That is not what score reviews are supposed to be used for. The umpire was well positioned and had to make the call. Never mind that it wasn’t even close to being fully over. We were extremely unlucky 11 Quote
Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,792 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 We'd expect Kossie and Harley to nail the open play goals and Wied to sink the set shots Do that and we win well It's the basics that get us 8 Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted July 26, 2020 Posted July 26, 2020 3 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: Well done Fritta you [censored] spanner Not totally his fault, dazzle. Just went a moment too long as up till that point he held him up well. I'm more disappointed in some of the easy shots we missed. As titan pointed out above, we could have won by 2-3 goals. 1 1 Quote