Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, goodwindees said:

Guys, it hasn't been reported yet, but to show you how tough & committed to the cause that Aaron is, he suffered a triple fracture to his cheekbone early in the second quarter and despite blood trickling continually down the inside of his nose & throat he totally downplayed the knock and kept playing.

Was even the only player to go in and remonstrate with Stratton after the crude knock on Weid.

You can see why the Coaches & teammates love him in the side.

Given the challenges he has endured with injuries and family life he is one tough cookie.  Really admire his grit and determination.

Hope he is ok to play this week.

He is great at causing turnovers, just by charging straight at the ball carrier.  Takes no prisoners!

Posted (edited)

Tough as nails that kid. I stubbed my toe this morning and still went to work so I know how hard it can be to play on. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
  • Haha 14
  • Demonland changed the title to Aaron vandenBerg
Posted
6 minutes ago, goodwindees said:

Guys, it hasn't been reported yet, but to show you how tough & committed to the cause that Aaron is, he suffered a triple fracture to his cheekbone early in the second quarter and despite blood trickling continually down the inside of his nose & throat he totally downplayed the knock and kept playing.

Was even the only player to go in and remonstrate with Stratton after the crude knock on Weid.

You can see why the Coaches & teammates love him in the side.

That doesn't sound great. Does he need surgery? Players usually miss a month with fractured cheekbones. My MFCSS is tingling.

Posted

Injury stuff aside, which is further proof of his toughness (although he is lucky he didn't injure himself further), I love having Vanders in the side.  Yes, he isn't the best user of the footy in the side, and he doesn't necessarily rack up the big numbers.

But you get the feeling he is the sort of player who can make others walk taller.  He is one of the best tacklers in the side and he makes the opposition hurt.  You wouldn't want him running at your from the other way.  As he continues to get back to full fitness, he can be a real weapon for us who will fly under the radar while the more 'sexy' players take the spotlight.

It's a credit to him that he is beginning to reap the rewards from the hard yards he has put in to get back into the side, and a credit to the club for sticking by him.

• Like 19
Posted
14 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Injury stuff aside, which is further proof of his toughness (although he is lucky he didn't injure himself further), I love having Vanders in the side.  Yes, he isn't the best user of the footy in the side, and he doesn't necessarily rack up the big numbers.

But you get the feeling he is the sort of player who can make others walk taller.  He is one of the best tacklers in the side and he makes the opposition hurt.  You wouldn't want him running at your from the other way.  As he continues to get back to full fitness, he can be a real weapon for us who will fly under the radar while the more 'sexy' players take the spotlight.

It's a credit to him that he is beginning to reap the rewards from the hard yards he has put in to get back into the side, and a credit to the club for sticking by him.

The guy is the enforcer for us. He sets the tone and you’re right, he hurts players and that becomes a byproduct of perceived pressure. He was massive in 2018 in the lead up to the finals and the first two wins in September. 
If gets some game time together and builds on his match fitness he will be very important.

Posted
17 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Agree.  Mental toughness and onfield leadership have been massive issues for us over the years. 

We play better with Vanders in the team

Posted (edited)

VDB hunts the ball and opposition in a ferocious manner that creates space for our other mids, inside and outside to work in.
This also means the opposition when they gain possession are more likely to feel under pressure and either mis kick or kick long to where Max has become very adept at placing himself... happened often against Hawks (and VDB not only mid driving this).

Edited by PaulRB

Posted

He, Hannan and Weid - when firing completely changes the complexion of the forward line.  Loved his game on Sunday

Posted

Dees posted this on Twitter 3 minutes ago with no mention of any injury to AVB. 

Injury List

Tom McDonald

Eye | Test

Marty Hore

Toe & Quad | Indefinite

Harry Petty

Groin | Indefinite

Kade Kolodjashnij

Head | Indefinite

Aaron Nietschke

Knee | Season

Posted

Vanders is important, the more games he plays the better he gets. Tough as they get this boy! Love him in the side.

The boys don't have to look over their shoulder when Vanders is close to help and support.

Posted
50 minutes ago, Demonland said:

That doesn't sound great. Does he need surgery? Players usually miss a month with fractured cheekbones. My MFCSS is tingling.

"Tis but a scratch.

Posted (edited)
22 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

"Tis but a scratch.

Tough, Tough man VANDERS... LOVE HIM. 

Posted

If it's not depressed or displaced he'll try and play I reckon.

Posted
11 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I definitely take @goodwindees word for it. Nailed some really good sources of late.

Agreed. Was spot on with the news we were taking all the remaining fit players to the QLD hub.

Posted
2 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

Dipper at hawks was the same ,made them walk taller,even though i hated him credit was due

Posted
3 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Tough as nails that kid. I stubbed my toe this morning and still went to work so I know how hard it can be to play on. 

In the moon boot ET and you will be back predicting trades and draft picks in no time.

Posted

The likelihood with the new draw coming out is that we will have to be flexible with our team selection and not wear our players out. Therefore, if we make a couple of changes here and there it won’t be a complete disaster.  

Posted

Have loved this bloke since his first practice match for the club.  I saw him charge past a team mate I think last week to lay a tackle.  Just hunts bodies and is completely fearless.  One of those blokes you want in your team knowing he's always got your back.

I wish he would tidy up his kicking as it has hurt a couple times but I can forgive him a lot more easily noting the time he has spent out of the game with injuries especially to his foot.  It's bloody hard kicking the pill even in bush footy when the fatigue kicks in let alone still trying to build fitness while playing AFL.

Just hope his body continues to hold up as he deserves a good run at the top line with what he's been through.  I'm not surprised about his facial injury if that's the case, even less surprised he continued playing on.  I'd be surprised if he had some time off for it however, the kids a beast.

Posted

I 'liked' every post in this thread, because I love seeing Vandenberg named in our side.  Love his story, love his effort.  Remember I think a few other clubs sniffed around him last year or the year before and he said no thanks.  He's like us.