26 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

That guy's a hack. Couldn't mark the ball if it was a balloon.

Another NQR list clogger?

3 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

There was some mention in the early stages that we might make a play for Jack Gunston as a possible swap for Sam Frost. The door was closed on that rather swiftly. 

Perhaps we might turn our attention to his cousin Norman?

Or his mate Aunty Jack?

I know a few on here are hoping it's Gunston, but I think he's cooked. After taking unders to win premierships in true Hawks style, I reckon he's been told to top up his super somewhere else. Not interested.

29 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Perhaps we might turn our attention to his cousin Norman?

Unfortunately, he'd be always off the ground under the blood rule.

Unless something happens from left field I believe our KPF's for 2020 will be TMac, the Weid and possibly Petty.

IMO that is not a pretty sight however that is the extent of it so we will have to develop a game plan that is built around one KPF.

Hopefully the other two can occasional chip in with a good game to keep the oposition defence honest.

We are going to need a lot of goals from our half forwards and mids to regularly kick winning score lines.

6 hours ago, FireInTheBelly said:

Or his mate Aunty Jack?

I know a few on here are hoping it's Gunston, but I think he's cooked. After taking unders to win premierships in true Hawks style, I reckon he's been told to top up his super somewhere else. Not interested.

Cooked at 27? I think he might have a couple of games left in him.

20 minutes ago, RalphiusMaximus said:

Cooked at 27? I think he might have a couple of games left in him.

I know it sounds odd. Something just wasn't right with him this year.

27 minutes ago, FireInTheBelly said:

Could have taken us apart single handed in that 2018 final if he'd kicked straight but I do agree his 2019 season wasn't that great.

If the price and contract term(2 years at most) were right we'd have to think very hard though.

1 hour ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Could have taken us apart single handed in that 2018 final if he'd kicked straight but I do agree his 2019 season wasn't that great.

If the price and contract term(2 years at most) were right we'd have to think very hard though.

He’s only 27?! 2 years fo sho. There’s a song in this - “who could it beeeeee now ?”

come on @Yokozuna join in avec moi! 

2 hours ago, FireInTheBelly said:

That would make him like all but 2 or 3 on our list this year.

At 27 he can recover his form.

According to the experts, 26-27 is when AFL players are at their peak. Gunston isn’t far out of that range, if he’s available (no idea if he even is) get onto him. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

6 hours ago, John Demonic said:

So did Chook in Perth ever explain the De Goey comment? 

He mentioned tyre-kicking but I’m not really sure how that applies to an AFL player; we approached him and showed interest however were never serious about buying? 

23 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

He mentioned tyre-kicking but I’m not really sure how that applies to an AFL player; we approached him and showed interest however were never serious about buying? 

Maybe he meant Murray. He's got the goey.

Quite unlike our mate Chook to drop in briefly and drop straight back out again, with no further word.

On 10/5/2019 at 1:31 PM, Demon Disciple said:

Without dominant key forwards, we need to have KPF's who are able to bring the ball to ground pretty much all the time to allow our smaller player's (hopefully the likes of Fritsch, Trac, Lockhart, Harmes, (Weightman if drafted) to crumb the pack.

The only problem is that we have almost all players' compete for the ball in the air while not enough stay down, allowing opposition numbers to waltz the ball out of the back-line.

Goody needs to drill this into the forward groups heads to have one compete in the air and the rest ready to mop up any balls that hit the deck.

That's what the Foreard line Coach is for!!

15 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Are you serious? As if Gunston would move for a 2 year deal. He'd only move for at least a 4 year deal on big money.

Yokozuna clues make him the most likely target IMO and there has been plenty of debate about how the Hawks will fit all their talls with Patton into the forward line and they just traded in a gun tall back apparently.

Maybe they want pick 3. Maybe the deal is 3 for Gunston + 11.

Edited by Fifty-5

15 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

Are you serious? As if Gunston would move for a 2 year deal. He'd only move for at least a 4 year deal on big money.

Yokozuna clues make him the most likely target IMO and there has been plenty of debate about how the Hawks will fit all their talls with Patton into the forward line and they just traded in a gun tall back apparently.

Maybe they want pick 3. Maybe the deal is 3 for Gunston + 11.

I really like Gunston as a player, well love to hate him and appreciate his talent.

But is he really what we need? Fritsch, McDonald, Melksham or play a similar role.

In my mind we need a full forward who can split packs and allow McDonald to play 2nd tall and Weid third.

12 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Perhaps the opposite?

The target entertained our advances, but ultimately had no intention of leaving?

I think we need class up front, of any size. As we have seen in previous years collingwood, richmond (2017) and west coast have been contending with different mixes of forward sizes. 

I think Harmes could be moved to play a large percentage up forward. Hes got good size, and would give us great ground level presence, plus loves a goal. This would free up a spot in the middle for Gus, whose form dipped when moved to a wing. 

I think we also need to pray that Fritsch, Trac and Weid take the next step. Only time will tell. 

1 hour ago, Lord Neville X Flash said:

I think we need class up front, of any size. As we have seen in previous years collingwood, richmond (2017) and west coast have been contending with different mixes of forward sizes. 

I think Harmes could be moved to play a large percentage up forward. Hes got good size, and would give us great ground level presence, plus loves a goal. This would free up a spot in the middle for Gus, whose form dipped when moved to a wing. 

I think we also need to pray that Fritsch, Trac and Weid take the next step. Only time will tell. 

Great post. Our forward line could be enhanced by either adding a Ben Brown or a Tom Papely. It’s about class not type. 

One player I think is probably attainable is Brody Mihocek. He’d be on low money and the pies cap is tight. 

3 minutes ago, Mach5 said:

Wonder if it would be worth having a crack at McCartin?

No sorry, he should hang up the boots.

40 minutes ago, Mach5 said:

Wonder if it would be worth having a crack at McCartin?

Not only has he been cruelled by injuries, I'm not entirely sure he's the type built for the modern game. Seems like a goal square gorilla with a lack of tank.

I supposed it'd depend on what we give up for him.