Listening to Bruce and BT is worse than finger nails running down a chalkboard. Need to put the tv on mute and listen to the radio. 

Edited by Nelo

Fawning, hero worship, call it what you like but as Nasher stated it gets tiresome week in week out.

His racing commentary is pretty annoying also with his hero worship of Winx and Black Caviar. Not sure whether you can hero worship a horse. 

He is our best ever Athletics commentator but the Olympics are 4 yearly. 

I reckon he's a really nice guy,  but as a commentator his time has come.

Apart from his carry on over Buddy and Cyril, I get really annoyed by his mindless statistics all game. He used to do it at the tennis but that was only once a year. Yeah we know Bruce, you love reciting your stats but it is way over the top. Most of the time it is just mindless.

As previously stated the standard of Australian sports commentary is very poor compared to European standards. 

Edited by hemingway

Well he loves horse racing, maybe we can send him to the paddocks.

His best days are gone.

Never mind Bruce, although the cheer leading for the Swans ( especially Buddy) all night from all the commentators was annoying, what about Ling? This man made useless comments all game, like, Melbourne need to do this or that now, things an eight year old could identify. He also displayed breathtaking ignorance with a statement which sounded something like, Melbourne no longer have a lot of young players. This exposed his unwillingness to study any other side apart from his beloved Pussycats. Give us all a break from this bloke.

All the commentators last night were shocking.

They just don’t seem to give us any credit.

Its like ,we just turned 22 point deficit into a 4 goal lead and were dominating all the stoppages and they come out with “Melbourne are just hanging on”

I just don’t like the negativity of modern commentators like Ling and Russell as well.

When watching footy I want to hear a description of what is actually happening, and maybe try and make it sound exciting.

Not, he should’ve done this or he should’ve done that, or pointing out possible disastrous scenarios or doom and gloom.

Listen to the old guys like Williamson, Whitten, Morphet, Lane, Beitzel, Roberts etc, they are descriptive, positive and excited about the play.

Love hearing Bruce when say "You reckon if Melbourne can kick the next goal they'll feel like they're back in this game".,.. when we're one goal down.....

2 hours ago, ManDee said:

I think he is past it. His constant craving for affirmation makes my brain bleed.

isn't it

didn't he

don't they 

wouldn't he

And to think he is often asking Brian Taylor (that vacuous [censored] that Danny Hughes used to wind up) for affirmation! GHM 

Bruce & Brian are the worst commentators IMO

yeah, but without bwian how would you know whether the ball is going to swing right to left or left to right?

Edited by daisycutter

Glad that this has come up. Bruce is kinda a sacred cow when it comes to commentary, and probably justifiably so. Go listen to some of his early work. He is right up there with anyone else to do it (I’d put him up against Clinton Grybas and Anthony Hudson in that regard.)

Unfortunately, whether deliberately or unintentionally, he has become a cheerleading shadow of his former self, and he clearly has favorites. Buddy is definitely one, of course Cyril and Poppy.. in fact, in retrospect, go listen again to the highlights of our game vs Hawthorn in the finals. His ongoing “gee that helps” commentary with every Hawthorn goal sounded like barracking.

Oh and he commentates via questions to his co-commentators “gee, that was good play, eh?”

I think he is almost close to making BT tolerable, and that says something...

Edited by bragswoewodin

Personally, I’d like to see Jason Bennett promoted from the  VFL commentary team. He just calls the game.

There aren't many good ones around now.  Hudson and Whately, Tim Lane and then guys like Speed, who I think is very underrated.  Going back a long way now, but I used to love listening to the ABC 30 odd years ago to Peter Booth, Smokey Dawson and Doug Bigelow.  Crosses to Clelo (Ian Cleland) and Swan McKay - that was a great commentary team back when radio was worth listening too - before the MMM boys club!

5 hours ago, chookrat said:

I might be in the minority but I find Bruce Mcaveney extremely annoying to listen to when watching the game. He seems to have no grasp of what is happening,  fawns over well known players whether they are playing well or not and then distracts from what is actually taking place.

Your right,  he does distract to his own preferences.

What to do with Bruce

Sit him on Sammy Newman's knee,  and let him call the action.

18 minutes ago, DV8 said:

What to do with Bruce

Not sure I warm to that ...

"Oooh Sammy .... Sammy! Sammy! DELICIOUS!"

3 hours ago, Bates Mate said:

Why does he pronounce Salem as Sah-lem does my head in

Actually, that's how it is pronounced. A friend of mine who knows nothing about football but knows the Salem family well mentioned his name pronounced that way, with the second syllable quicker than the first. 

Just saying...

The last few years Bruce has become too Bruce, but be careful what you wish for: the replacement look like being one of Darcy, BT or Brayshaw. (I don't mind Brayshaw.)

3 hours ago, daisycutter said:

yeah, but without bwian how would you know whether the ball is going to swing right to left or left to right?

The funniest part of this is that he gets it wrong most of the time.

Bruce used to be, many many moons ago, my favourite commentator. 

Sadly in the last few years he has actually become quite creepy with is cringeworthy comments about a few selected favourites. 

6 hours ago, chookrat said:

I might be in the minority but I find Bruce Mcaveney extremely annoying to listen to when watching the game. He seems to have no grasp of what is happening,  fawns over well known players whether they are playing well or not and then distracts from what is actually taking place.

Keen to hear others views re Bruce. 

Completely agree, lovesick teenager syndrome.

7 hours ago, chookrat said:

I might be in the minority but I find Bruce Mcaveney extremely annoying to listen to when watching the game. He seems to have no grasp of what is happening,  fawns over well known players whether they are playing well or not and then distracts

Your right,  he does distract to his own preferences.

What to do with Bruce

635957-large.jpg

This thread needs to be renamed as:

We should something  with Bruce shouldnt we?

1 hour ago, Tony Tea said:

The last few years Bruce has become too Bruce, but be careful what you wish for: the replacement look like being one of Darcy, BT or Brayshaw. (I don't mind Brayshaw.)

I used to be a big fan of Darcy,  as a player,  and on most things footy,  But as he's aged,  he's become a  'politically correct vanilla prune'.

One who doesn't like the games aggression.

I'm over him as well. 

Funnily I like BT's calling on most  occasions, these days...  since he's eezed off with the gee wiz's,  etc...   pulled his head in,  just a little.

Edited by DV8