Posted

Dunn and Howe make Collingwood’s leadership 5.

We apparently lacked leadership and an AA and sought the superannuant.

Did we get rid of Dunn because of the torp kickin from full back?

I’m confused.

25 minutes ago, TGR said:

I’m confused.

Why are you confused, it is obvious Collingwood don't have enough players with leadership quality, they are scraping the barrel a bit with Howe but who cares anyway.

I can understand Dunn, he was our vice captain at one stage.

But Howe?! Good lord the guy is a full on simpleton bogan who i put in the same category as James Frawley as not much going up stairs.

31 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

They’ve been gone for years, people mature. Good on them. 

Agreed.

A number of years ago people would've laughed at the thought of Gawn in a leadership position. Remember the $cully China yawn? 

Howe didn't care about the club. He put in about as much effort as Jack Watts did. The fact he puts in a lot more effort now hes at the filth says more about him than the MFC.

Hes no Jones, Gawn or Viney, thats for sure. 

Good riddance.

46 minutes ago, TGR said:

I’m confused.

There are some things we never get the full story on - the Stan Alves dumping, Darren Jolly being overlooked for Jamar etc.

Dunn clearly fell out of favour with the coaching staff & they put a line through his name - he was not going to get picked again regardless.

Stupid move I reckon as he had a fair bit left to offer.    Howe got offered good $ by the Pies - maybe we didn't think he would be as good

and as consistent as he has been at Collingwood.

15 minutes ago, Cranky Franky said:

There are some things we never get the full story on - the Stan Alves dumping, Darren Jolly being overlooked for Jamar etc.

Dunn clearly fell out of favour with the coaching staff & they put a line through his name - he was not going to get picked again regardless.

Stupid move I reckon as he had a fair bit left to offer.    Howe got offered good $ by the Pies - maybe we didn't think he would be as good

I might be wrong but reports at the time said he got less than we were offering him to stay, and certainly less than Gold Coast had on the table. He loved Bucks and maybe didn't see eye to eye with Roos I believe that's why he went to the filth.

Dunn suited our old game plan, and was a perfect fit for the filth.  Round the boundary here we come!  He was a liability at the end of his career with us, and couldn’t crack the firsts.  Good luck to him for prospering in a system that plays the way he knows.

Howe?  OK, seemed to want to get to the pies and we were just a stepping stone.  Now he is there, where will he lead them?  Is flying for everything a leadership trait?  Seems like it is more about him.  But honestly, good luck to them.  I suppose they are leaders compared to half the other muppets they have on their list.

Suggest we stick to our own knitting and win a flag before belittling the less fortunate.

12 minutes ago, sisso said:

I might be wrong but reports at the time said he got less than we were offering him to stay, and certainly less than Gold Coast had on the table. He loved Bucks and maybe didn't see eye to eye with Roos I believe that's why he went to the filth.

He was a Pies supporter as a kid too yeah?

Had filth in his heart.

Was probably also making a bit of a call on us not developing - love to make him pay on that one.

Of all the guys we have lost to free agency, I think Howe was the best footballer.

I was never a fan of Dunn when he was with us. But having heard him speak since he left, I can see why he's considered a leader. Speaks well, and has been an assistant coach for their AFLW team which shows his leadership potential. It's also a reminder that the best players don't have to be in leadership positions. I'm confident no-one thought Nick Maxwell was the best player at Collingwood throughout the time he was their captain - but he's now retired as a premiership winning captain. 

2 minutes ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

He was a Pies supporter as a kid too yeah?

Had filth in his heart.

Was probably also making a bit of a call on us not developing - love to make him pay on that one.

Of all the guys we have lost to free agency, I think Howe was the best footballer.

He is a good player and I always thought we'd miss his intercept marking in the backline (he was never consistent enough as a forward). When Lever comes back fully fit we have his equivalent anyway. 

53 minutes ago, Cranky Franky said:

Not sure if I remember correctly, but didn't Dunny have a lingering, 2-season groin injury that came and went ad nauseum and it was considered that would characterise fluctuating reliability in his football career from then on? He seems to have recovered.

45 minutes ago, sisso said:

Yep, Roos had this crazy idea that he was a back not a forward.

He sooked up at being made to play in defence by Roos.

Bucks offered him a spot in the forward line...

How did that work out?

Now Bucks is a genius coach for playing him back.

Go figure....

Roos actually played him on back flank and Buckley and his Msnager Alec McDonakd I think said he was A 2 way runner!!

Events have shown Roosy was  correct and Jeremy has got his wish to play with Pies 

He was not very forthcoming in his desire to leave us snd I thought he did it a bit by stealth!

20 minutes ago, rjay said:

Yep, Roos had this crazy idea that he was a back not a forward.

He sooked up at being made to play in defence by Roos.

Bucks offered him a spot in the forward line...

How did that work out?

Now Bucks is a genius coach for playing him back.

Go figure....

Yes, it's amazing how the press has re written the history after his departure from Melbourne.

howe left for promise of more forward time ...

he didn't like being told he was playing  back with us !! 

now how is that working out for him ..... 

great idea over at collingwood playing him back hey ! 

1 hour ago, buck_nekkid said:

Dunn suited our old game plan, and was a perfect fit for the filth.  Round the boundary here we come!  He was a liability at the end of his career with us, and couldn’t crack the firsts.  Good luck to him for prospering in a system that plays the way he knows.

Howe?  OK, seemed to want to get to the pies and we were just a stepping stone.  Now he is there, where will he lead them?  Is flying for everything a leadership trait?  Seems like it is more about him.  But honestly, good luck to them.  I suppose they are leaders compared to half the other muppets they have on their list.

Suggest we stick to our own knitting and win a flag before belittling the less fortunate.

Absolute crap.  Dunn wasn't perfect but a mile ahead of Frost or Oscar even now 3 years later. Absolutely stupid decision to let him go & probably the worst one Roos made (along with being talked out of recruiting Higgins who went to North instead).  

Have a lot of time for Dunn and he is a former Vice Captain of the MFC.  Fell out of favour with the club, but played his best for us when we were at our worst; I respect him for that.  We pushed Dunn out the door, and who knows, maybe that was the best thing for him at the time.

Howe wanted out for a long time before he left.  He didn't have the fight in him anymore and couldn't see a way out of where the club was at the time.  Dunn and Howe shouldn't be mentioned in the same breath.