Posted
8 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

With Lyons outdated game plan and freos slow ball movement I reckon he'll find it tough.
Gonna have 3 blokes standing next to him whenever the ball comes in and we know how Hogan loves that.

Completely agree, based on last year's form. I think they'll open up this year (and Fyfe's interview today in the Age said as much).

Lyon knows he's coaching for his career and I bank on him being smart enough to use the tools he has got rather than be completely non-adaptive. We'll see.

Posted
5 minutes ago, bingers said:

Reiwoldt is very dull. Zero personality.

He also looks like a fish ... or perhaps an alpaca?

Perhaps I'm being childish ?

Perhaps you are

A fish? Axolotal?

Posted

I don't really care what Hogan does at Freo and could not care less what Reiwoldt thinks. All I want is for TMac to give us a contest, stays on park and kicks around a couple a game. With the rest of the forward line and mid fielders going through also contributing I will be happy and Hogan long forgotten.

Posted

TMAC'S kicking for goals from 40 to 50 metres out would be elite.Great Mark and knows how to position himself also reads the play up the ground and he should own the forward line with the the help of others around him.

Riewoldt said that Jesse wasn't happy for the last couple of years at the club. How forgetful can you be Saint Nick. 

Jesse had testicular cancer in May of 2017 and overcame it hopefully forever and his father passed away the same year and managed to play 10 games amazing. In 2018 suffered a stress fracture in the navicular bone in his foot against Sydney in round 21 and was ruled out for the rest of the year including Finals with 2 winning finals.

Oh, Jesse would have felt great not being out there? I don't think so Nick.

Poor Jesse l wish him the best and that is the nature of the game.

Posted
13 hours ago, DemonDave said:

At least he didn't have Paddy McCartin in his top ten...

I think we'll miss Hogan enormously this year, his workrate up and down the ground is second to none, he was averaging career best midfielder-like numbers for the most part of the year. He was I would still hazard a guess getting the best defender most weeks from the opening bounce. His ability to be that link up marking option is one that Weideman has yet to master, albeit in the nascent stages of his career, lets hope those finals games weren't a flash in the pan for Weids, I dont think they were but we are putting all our eggs in the basket of he being the foil key forward this year, I cant see Pruess kicking double digit goals. Tim Smith is a capable b-list backup and then its  tumbleweeds for our KPF depth.

In a game or for the season? Preuss is our top goal scorer this year 2. I would happily have a wager that Preuss will kick more than 9 goals for the season.

Posted

Freo “opening it up” so to speak should be interesting. They don’t bat deep in the midfield and will get exposed on the rebound. Losing ??? (Forget his name) To get Hogan only exacerbates their midfield issues.

Posted
5 minutes ago, PaulRB said:

Freo “opening it up” so to speak should be interesting. They don’t bat deep in the midfield and will get exposed on the rebound. Losing ??? (Forget his name) To get Hogan only exacerbates their midfield issues.

??? Lachie Neale

Lyon has been talking about opening it up since 2013.  As soon as Freo have a bad loss or two he reverts back to what he trusts.  If they were playing us in round 1 the new game style would only last a week.

Posted
9 hours ago, nosoupforme said:

TMAC'S kicking for goals from 40 to 50 metres out would be elite.Great Mark and knows how to position himself also reads the play up the ground and he should own the forward line with the the help of others around him.

Riewoldt said that Jesse wasn't happy for the last couple of years at the club. How forgetful can you be Saint Nick. 

Jesse had testicular cancer in May of 2017 and overcame it hopefully forever and his father passed away the same year and managed to play 10 games amazing. In 2018 suffered a stress fracture in the navicular bone in his foot against Sydney in round 21 and was ruled out for the rest of the year including Finals with 2 winning finals.

Oh, Jesse would have felt great not being out there? I don't think so Nick.

Poor Jesse l wish him the best and that is the nature of the game.

All he had to do was check social media and see that Jesse wasn’t smiling in any of the photos.

But in all seriousness, Jesse was most likely happy here in Melbourne but I’m sure anyone could understand that he’d be happier over there where his family is, and he’ll be better for it. I wish him all the best.

As for comparing Tmac and Jesse, Tmac is a more complete player. Has better aerobic capacity, better contested mark, better kick for goal, mentally stronger than Jesse. I think the only few things Jesse has over Tmac is his field kicking, decision making and age. By the end of this year Tmac will be conisdered to be in the top 3 of key forwards.

Posted

I think anyone expecting Jesse to run around with a million dollar smile now is in for a rude shock. It’s not in his makeup to be Guy Smiley on the field.

Will Jesse play better? Maybe. It’s unlikely to click straight away given the team he’s playing in now. His supply will be coming from essentially a bunch of kids. We will see what leadership qualities he has because he’s going to be on the back of a few hidings this year. His leadership wasn’t really called upon during his time at Melbourne. 

I don’t mind Riewoldt as a person but he is prone to some off the mark comments. Saying T Mac wouldn’t be on the list this time last year is one such example. That’s just plain incorrect.

Riewoldt also has admitted his bitterness over not winning a premiership and I sense some of that bitterness being directed towards the club that is on the brink of breaking its premiership drought. Were that to happen, it would leave his beloved Saints as the last remaining club mired in the 1960s, They blew their big chance and are a mile away from getting another. He feels a large degree of responsibility for that.

Posted

Every article posted by SEN is loaded with weird clickbait opinions to fire people up and encourage you to put money in Hutchy's pocket via the ads.

Posted (edited)
13 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS1QSr14ah1ouCAeLF0ZB5

Who really cares what Riewoldt thinks about TMc.   It and he does not matter. 

Unless he is trying to sting TMc on to bigger things ?

Edited by DV8
Posted
13 hours ago, bingers said:

that observation will upset uncle bitters ?

Posted
15 hours ago, bingers said:

I once called out after Reiwoldt kicked the ball  straight to a Melbourne player " You haven't lost it Reiwoldt !!!! 

jeez the vitriol I copped for that was unreal. ( but it was fun ! )

Posted

Geez we like to our conveniently changes our opinions around here whenever it suits:

General opinion of Hogan before October 2018 - "An absolute star of the game who's so far ahead of Daniher, Patton, Ben Brown and Tom Boyd  it's not even funny. Will be a once in a generation player and we're so lucky to have him"

General opinion of Hogan after October 2018 - A poor man's Paddy McCartin with on-field attitude problems.

Posted
1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Geez we like to our conveniently changes our opinions around here whenever it suits:

General opinion of Hogan before October 2018 - "An absolute star of the game who's so far ahead of Daniher, Patton, Ben Brown and Tom Boyd  it's not even funny. Will be a once in a generation player and we're so lucky to have him"

General opinion of Hogan after October 2018 - A poor man's Paddy McCartin with on-field attitude problems.

we all hope first, love/infatuate next, and learn the truth later on. when it comes to our hopes for our players.

This is the problem with wanting stars/hero's,  instead of wanting Club Wins.

Posted

I definitely think Hogan should eventually be a better all round FF then McDonald. At the moment McDonald beats him in accuracy and consistency but Hogan has quite a bit more to his game that he will continue to develop. 

Hogans agility and ability to win the ball around the contest is better. Tom still struggles with kicking anything thats not a straight line. 

I agree with others this means very little at the moment. Will be interesting to see how Jesse develops out west. Tom at the moment is a more consistent and effective forward to me.

Posted
2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

i think you are generalising, bbp ?

Posted
17 hours ago, bingers said:

JauntyWebbedFirebelliedtoad-size_restricted.gif

Posted
On 2/25/2019 at 12:15 PM, tiers said:

Jesse is instinctively a much better forward than TMac becaus of his footy smarts and versatility in all forward positions. Both can be goal kicking machines on their day.

TMac is our best classical leading and marking FF since Billy Bennett but is at his best from the goal square. The two of them together for a full season with Jesse at CHF and a roaming brief together with TMac at FF would have been a joy to see. Alas, never to be fulfilled.

Who on earth is or was Billy Bennett ??????

Posted

His parents named him Darren. A champion full forward who was displaced by Jakovich. Went on to a stellar career as a kicking star in the NFL.

Posted

I saw Bennet play - don't think he qualifies as a "champion" - never heard him referred to as Billy.  My mate used to call him NICE MAN because he never belted anyone.

Anyhow I reckon Tom has a long way to go to match Neitz as a classic marking &  kicking FF.