GAMEDAY - Preliminary Final vs Eagles

Neitz the Great

25 minutes ago, Jibroni said:

Are you serious?

Maybe we have 23 players today!

Yes, mate said to him we want to see a Melbourne v Coll GF and that’s how he responded. Probably trying to calm our nerves down. He was good value. 

Was up until mid night, went to bed didn't sleep very well.

Just want the game to start, it's the b#^^*@ waiting that's making me nervous, over thinking the game match ups. 

So proud of our club this year, well done to every one at the club for an amazing year, so far?

Go you mighty Dee's give "m' hell boys?

I feel perfectly calm, same as before we played them a month ago in Perth.

That was when, while every other supporter was still freaking out about the loss to Sydney a week earlier, I promised @Ethan Tremblay his new BMX as it was like Christmas Eve the night before we seal our first finals berth in 12 years.

Maybe this sense of calmness is a a sign - or maybe I am completely irrelevant and its just a coincidence.  I think its the latter.

Go Dees, smash the Meth Coke degenerates.

5 hours ago, praha said:

i dont understand why. collingwood is a much bigger threat than that of richmond and last night proved that.

But Collingwood have already been beaten in this Finals Series (by West Coast)!  Win today and we have a very good chance! 

We’re all set now this is the one that matters. In the non MFC prelim final thread I talked about the Collingwood possibilities and how tough it would be but right now all that talk and thinking goes into the bin. One thing to focus on now and it’s this game.

Starts in the middle as it usually always does. If we do our thing and win contested ball like animals we will be a massive chance, If WC break even in that area they will win. We must, must, MUST take our chances, that will be it.

Joel Smith got the nod as we know. I want him to keep this game as simple as possible. Use his athleticism to get to as many contests as possible and punch the hell out of it. 

The one I have a feeling about today is VandenBerg. I think he might be about to turn in a memorable one. 

I feel sick, excited, nervous. The whole palette of emotions. I don’t think I’m ready for this but we’ll have to be. I need to say the following for myself because I’m finding it hard to think like this but what will be will be and we have no control over it. Footy is great but life will go on.

Come on Dees, raise hell! Like never before!

The Eagles have played one game in 4 weeks.  Same as Richmond.  The bye before the finals has become a killer for top 4 teams that win in week 1.

Too many weeks off is a BAD thing.  Must take advantage today.. The Eagles will not be match hardened, much like the Tigers last night.

1 hour ago, danielE288 said:

Ok heading out in Perth public alone decked in full demons gear. Wish me luck. Enjoy the game everyone! 

BOOOOOOO

At the beginning of the week I went in with the mindset that we’ve exceeded expectations and will challenge in years to come even if we don’t get up today 

Collingwood winning last night has changed my feeling. I’ll be gutted if we lose. Cmon Dees 

3 hours ago, ProDee said:

I was very confident against Geelong and Hawthorn, but not so today. 

Even with a loss it's been a huge year and a portent of things to come. 

Portent of things to come ?  Stuff portent of things to come.  You make the most of an opportunity when it's there.

Seize the moment.

Melbourne Storm into Grand Final. Thought I must have overslept and missed a whole day in my life when I saw this headline on the ABC news this morning. I would love to see it again tomorrow morning with a small s in the word storm. Go Demons!!!!!!!

Edited by Bobby McKenzie

Very nervous, and about to head out to federation square.

If it was at the G I’d be confident, but I do believe these boys will give it everything.

Carna Demons!!!

I’m ready for a pre match snooze, then head to bottle shop, stock up with some cold ones and watch the Demons come out on fire!

All the talk has been about Kennedy, Darling, I’ll trump that with one Jack Viney!

Go Dees, smash them by one plus points!

44 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

The Eagles have played one game in 4 weeks.  Same as Richmond.  The bye before the finals has become a killer for top 4 teams that win in week 1.

Too many weeks off is a BAD thing.  Must take advantage today.. The Eagles will not be match hardened, much like the Tigers last night.

This.

Combined with the fact that this is a total free kick for us, with absolutely nothing to lose.

We're on today I reckon.

Except for Nicholls, that AFL-infiltrated spy, trying to bump us out.

I am seriously an emotional wreak.... I found my self watching a tigers mini documentary of their struggles of 2016 and their flag in 2017.... 

I was balling my eyes out at the thought this could be us..... 

2 hours ago, Deemania since 56 said:

Clarrie is a man who retains his words; he does not mouth off - a keen observer happy out of the immediacy of the verbal limelight, most of the time. He knows something and keeps it to himself. His words come out as actions of the field, and in communications with his teammates onfield, between bursts. If Clarrie says: '...we got this...', we had better believe it. 

Random thought, from a mate: 'OMac has been practising goal kicking at some depth and has done very well at it. Possibly, TMac to CHB, OMac to FFwd. Whadya reckon?'

Um, he had a shouting match with a Carlton fan in the crowd last (?) year... Not sure that statement is entirely correct.