gregdemon 628 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 $1.40 dees $3.00 swans. Surprised given they carved us up last year and played well last week. I hope like hell we win but I would not be taking $1.40 Go dees Quote
DubDee 26,708 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 crazy odds, dont they read the papers? I thought we couldn't win against a team in the 8? we are paying on $3.40 to win by 40pts+ I am surprisingly confident though. we are in good form - 3 wins out of 4 and the only loss is the geelong one Quote
radar 1,867 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Yesterday had us at 3.50 to play Tigers in GF. Same same Giants and Eagles. Ahead of the rest. 1 Quote
The Chazz 4,077 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 $7 for us to miss the Top 8. Load up on that, and if we win, then monitor other results from the weekend (if North and Geelong both win), and load up again the following weekend when we will be double figures. If we lose this week, we'll be in to odds-on to miss the 8. I see it as a form of payment for my MFCSS prescription. 2 Quote
What 18,810 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 The odds are about right. Swans have been poor for a while now and their midfield is slow as molasses. Yeah so they beat Collingwood by less than a kick on their home turf last week, when the Pies had half their best 22 missing.... was hardly a convincing win. We should beat them comfortably. 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,473 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 34 minutes ago, gregdemon said: $1.40 dees $3.00 swans. Surprised given they carved us up last year and played well last week. I hope like hell we win but I would not be taking $1.40 Go dees Who is framing those crazy numbers? i love it, but i am not used to it yet!! Quote
Undeeterred 3,127 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 If we are serious, we will win this one. Quote
Dee Zephyr 19,326 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 We were as low as $1.30 on Wednesday and upon the news on Max we drifted out. A lot of money came at +21.5 for the Swans yesterday. Quote
hells bells 2,023 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 The punting majority don’t suffer from MFCSS. We are a better team than Sydney and are in better form. Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 1 minute ago, hells bells said: The punting majority don’t suffer from MFCSS. We are a better team than Sydney and are in better form. And neither do the bookies' computers. I expect setting the odds these days has very little, if any, human involvement. I assume that the computer's algorithm calculates the odds based on the flow and holding of money on each contingency and varies the odds automatically as required. 2 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,810 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 1 hour ago, gregdemon said: $1.40 dees $3.00 swans. Surprised given they carved us up last year and played well last week. I hope like hell we win but I would not be taking $1.40 Go dees I thought it was just fine to see the Swannies down The Filth, last week. They worked really hard and every player had to give more than they normally might - walking off the ground absolutely stuffed. My mind went to this coming Sunday - as their notables do not train particularly hard - and yes, Buddy is just one example - they'd be cactus after quarter time against a fast-start Dees team and that is going to enable us to kick more than 100 points for the match, yet again. Expect umpiring delays for all bounces, throw-ins, frees to the Dees (particularly in the forward line) and heaps of awarded 50m penalties to the Swans scoring repertoire. Hope Frosty and Pedo sort a few out whilst they have the chance - the longer the game goes on. 2 Quote
At Least I Saw a Flag 5,354 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 The odds on the Swans are very juicy. I put some money on them. I hope I lose it. Quote
Dirts 429 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 2 hours ago, radar said: Yesterday had us at 3.50 to play Tigers in GF. Same same Giants and Eagles. Ahead of the rest. Crazy. Quote
hells bells 2,023 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Personally, I reckon the Dees by 40+ are the better odds... Quote
FarNorthernD 5,863 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 18 minutes ago, hells bells said: Personally, I reckon the Dees by 40+ are the better odds... I agree. I think we will eith lose by a relatively small margin or win big. Semi confident (allowing for my MFCSS) of the latter Quote
Clintosaurus 7,953 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Have Sydney +18.5 in my multi. Also have Hawthorn at $2.35. Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Yeah this value for the Swans is way too good. Gonna have a sneaky wager Quote
At Least I Saw a Flag 5,354 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 3 hours ago, The Chazz said: $7 for us to miss the Top 8. Load up on that, and if we win, then monitor other results from the weekend (if North and Geelong both win), and load up again the following weekend when we will be double figures. If we lose this week, we'll be in to odds-on to miss the 8. I see it as a form of payment for my MFCSS prescription. I've already put money on missing the 8. $7 !! crazy odds considering our history, and hard run home. 1 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 (edited) hun tipsters were 29 : 2 for us and the 2 were the kiss-of-death and dangermouse sure surprised me Edited August 10, 2018 by daisycutter Quote
Pates 9,697 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 I feel like the club has finally got to a point where the betting odds are no longer a "thing". It used to be the mo,net we were favourites it'd be spoken about in the media and discussed with the players and no matter how much they wanted to say "oh we don't take any notice of that" it definitely seemed to play at least a small part in their mindset. The players would be dead set idiots to think we're in the box seat for this game. It's going to be tough, the Swans know what finals footy is and I'm expecting them to bring that sort of challenge. Quote
Return to Glory 8,525 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Ever the pessimist but this feels like a 50 - 50 match 3 Quote
Supermercado 2,806 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 6 hours ago, The Chazz said: $7 for us to miss the Top 8. Load up on that, and if we win, then monitor other results from the weekend (if North and Geelong both win), and load up again the following weekend when we will be double figures. If we lose this week, we'll be in to odds-on to miss the 8. I see it as a form of payment for my MFCSS prescription. Was $9 midweek, the punters must be keen. Quote
deanox 10,070 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 13 hours ago, Supermercado said: Was $9 midweek, the punters must be keen. It's mostly Melbourne supporters. 1 Quote
Tough Kent 2,138 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 (edited) I enjoy a punt on the nags, not so much the footy. How anyone can back against their side, regardless of the odds is beyond me. Edited August 10, 2018 by Tough Kent 1 Quote