Queen's Birthday

We'll win and win well imo. Most confident I've been all year.

33 minutes ago, praha said:

i'm not.

we're a 50-50 proposition i'd say.

the mids match-up will be critical, they have a clear advantage in the ruck, and we're both missing our key forwards.

i'm expecting a dour contest akin to the win over carlton / loss to north. could go either way.

1 hour ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Just digging through some old stuff whilst down in Melbourne and I came across some old signed footy cards including John Northey, Jim Stynes, Garry "dollars" Lyon, Greg "Sugar" Healy, Brett Lovett, O'Dwyer, Yeats, Obst, Spalding, Stetch, Viney, Dean, Jackson, Sean Wight, Hughes. 

That's cool don't want to sell them do ya?

6 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Pies have gone small in forward line and pace will be a factor.

Nev will cover 'em all! No sweat.

15 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

We just have to win this game.

It feels like the most important game we've had since 2006.

Seems like every 2nd game this year has been our most important since .....add year here.

It's no more important than any other game this year (not including finals), we need to get wins on the board.

Simple.

As much as I hate the term, this is as 'season defining' as it gets for our club. For two reasons really:

Given that Essendon smashed Port yesterday, positions 5-13 are wide open with Richmond only one game ahead sitting fourth with a similar percentage to us. We'll be sitting equal 5th if we win tomorrow, one game out of the top 4. What an opportunity. This year's evenness is unheard of.

Secondly, this may well be the last game we play (touch wood) without one of Gawn or Hogan for the year. When those two come back, it'll be a huge morale booster for the entire club. We play the Dogs and Eagles next, both of whom are out of form but will be enormous challenges.

Tomorrow is simply a must win if we're serious about challenging this year. 

Make a [censored] statement Dees.

Go.

Can someone please remind this memory challenged old bastard what time the MND March to the MCG kicks off tomorrow morning. The numbers 10 and 30 are vaguely familiar, but I'd like to be certain. Thanks in advance.

19 minutes ago, stevethemanjordan said:

^ 12 30

Thanks!

1 hour ago, praha said:

Agree. We will be too fierce for them

Terrific article on the friendship and 'rivalry' between Garlett and his mentor, Betts.  http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-06-11/speedy-dee-bridging-the-gap-on-his-good-mate

Garlett has added so much to his game this year and has been huge for us and is very motivated: "I had a goal at the start of the year that I wanted to be in the top five in the AFL for creating forward half turnovers," he said.' As it is he is ranked second in the AFL for forward-half pressure points so is well on his way to achieving his goal.

He plays his 50th game in Demon colours tomorrow, so hope he and the rest of the team can really turn it on.

Well done Jeffy!  May their be many more tantalising and successful games in Red and Blue!

We were talking earlier in this thread about "footy speak" and how comments by coaches and players are so predictable.

Have a look at this interview with Dan Ricciardo.... (I think he barracks for the Eagles)

https://www.formula1.com/en/latest/interviews/2017/6/daniel-ricciardo--p6-in-qualifying-a-good-recovery.html

Q: You always wear a smile – but lately we’ve seen that other drivers are more on the smiling side in press conferences. Is that because the new owners make the environment more relaxed?

DR: Yeah, they have supplied everyone with a good dose of marijuana and I just got it naturally in my system! (Laughs) But what I have always thought is that some seem to be bored – and probably not grateful enough to be here. Then I think to myself: go and do another job! Because I think for all of us it is a dream come true. Even on bad days! Maybe more drivers have started to understand that more now. 

The Pies only have one tall forward, Darcy Moore.  We are going in with Tom Mc, Oscar Mc and Sam Frost.

Will T Mac play forward?

4 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

The Pies only have one tall forward, Darcy Moore.  We are going in with Tom Mc, Oscar Mc and Sam Frost.

Will T Mac play forward?

Seems like he will spend time up forward or even roaming the whole ground depending on how our defence is holding up. He's got the fitness to play anywhere, if the defence can stand up he might be a decent option roaming through the wing/midfield as a lead up target. 

8 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

Will T Mac play forward?

He did all his work yesterday at training with the forwards so I'm assuming he will

24 minutes ago, DemonLad5 said:

He did all his work yesterday at training with the forwards so I'm assuming he will

So, he might get to spend lots of quality time with his old mates Dunn & Howe...!  LOL

52 minutes ago, stevethemanjordan said:

Frost to play on Moore.

Who does Oscar go to?

Slightly concerning. 

Amazing they picked him really. I dont understand it. I mean they could have played wagner. I guess the coaching staff reckon he goes ok. What would they know. Surwly when a ruck comes back next week he'll be dropped

Monday is either going to be really sweet or particularly sour. I both hate and love  feeling this invested! Torture. But..truth is we ( and the team) are in that delicate place of finding out week by week just how good they really are.   Whatever the result they have been brave playing without a ruckman all this time and whichever way this goes getting Gawn and Hogan back is going to make a massive difference. 

I like Paul Roos idea of trying OMac up forward. He can take a mark and isn't a bad kick if he chooses his target properly. 

Edited by chook fowler

25 minutes ago, binman said:

Amazing they picked him really. I dont understand it. I mean they could have played wagner. I guess the coaching staff reckon he goes ok. What would they know. Surwly when a ruck comes back next week he'll be dropped

I genuinely can't tell if you're being sarcastic or not..