The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Posted

Good to see Rowe and Cripps have been cleared to play this weekend.

Good old Medical reports.

Posted

I'm loving the fact that I can just look forward to this game with genuine anticipation, knowing we are capable of winning it. In the past clashes with Geelong have been more just hoping it wouldn't hurt too much.

It's early in the season, but there are no truly frightening teams so far this year. 

Posted
42 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

This weekends game will show just how far we've come mentally. Physically and skill wise we have enough talent to beat the Cats.

Do they get it yet....

Not just the players either. There's far too much optimism and back slapping for this to be Demonland :pj:

Posted
1 hour ago, Jaded said:

Gawn can't ruck 100% game time, but rather then resting on the bench, I hope he spend most of his "rest time" in the goal square.

Btw, Geelong's weakness might be the ruck, but their midfielders are good enough to rove from opposition rucks, which is why winning taps to advantage will be key tomorrow. 

"Rest" forward.  What is it 1977?  Forward pressure?  Is he going to stand in our goal square when it's in Geelong's forward 50?

Posted
14 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

*gulp*....just backed us in to win on my tipping comp. CARN DEEEEES!

Me too!

Posted
49 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

"Rest" forward.  What is it 1977?  Forward pressure?  Is he going to stand in our goal square when it's in Geelong's forward 50?

Yeah but as long as we don't do too much finessing and kick it up the guts, we'll be fine.

Posted (edited)
18 minutes ago, Goodvibes said:

Yeah but as long as we don't do too much finessin and kick it up the guts, we'll be fine.

Royce at CHF?  He'll take the shot from 60 yards out and Maxy just has to shepherd it through.

Tom_Hafey7_AFLC-760x438.jpg

Edited by Fifty-5
Posted

A few years back i was walking along Beach rd Elwood, in the middle of winter with a howling 40km south westerly and about 6 deg, suddenly this bloke walks past me in a pair of bathers dripping wet, he says, goodaye mate and smiled.....It was Tommy Hafey.

Posted

Mickey Bowden on the right. Dunno who the other two are?

Posted

I have two free tickets to the game tomorrow - I cant make it unfortunately.

Anyone interested? Please DM me and i'll email them to you. First in best dressed

Posted
6 hours ago, chook fowler said:

I like the way our footy dept always has a plan B e.g using Hogans absence to blood the Bull. It will be interesting to see the tactics to curb Danger and Selwood. Also Menzel worries me - he is capable of anything. Other than those 3 we have got them covered IMO.

I can't recall many periods other than the Northy years and a few post that where we seems to get our house in order chook. We still have a fair way to go but it feels like we are finally on track to producing at a level that shld see us as making finals more often than not. And with a bit of luck with injuries to our list (and maybe not so for our opponents), who knows we just might get a shot or two at the big one in the short term.

I also think this year is an outside possibility for that happening, subject to the above going our way.

Posted
1 hour ago, willmoy said:

Mickey Bowden on the right. Dunno who the other two are?

I reckon no.12 is Matty Richardson's old man, Alan.

Posted
7 hours ago, chook fowler said:

I like the way our footy dept always has a plan B e.g using Hogans absence to blood the Bull.

Are you saying our stubborn old administration would have played Hogan regardless of his suspension?

Posted
3 hours ago, Nasher said:

I'm loving the fact that I can just look forward to this game with genuine anticipation, knowing we are capable of winning it. In the past clashes with Geelong have been more just hoping it wouldn't hurt too much.

It's early in the season, but there are no truly frightening teams so far this year. 

And that is how football should be for us, that we can be competitive against all teams.

Our  journey back continues.

Posted
13 minutes ago, Skuit said:

Are you saying our stubborn old administration would have played Hogan regardless of his suspension?

Nah - he's just indulging in the opposite of MFCSS.  Maybe MFCOO  - MFC OverOptimistic

Posted
18 hours ago, DemonAndrew said:

menegola is a mature age ball magnet; think barlow when he emerged at the dockers but probably not as noticeably impactful.

ruggles is a classic lock-down defender; i actually really like him as a player.

murdoch has played nearly 70 games now, has developed into a handy third tall.

mccarthy doesn't get much of it but he can play lock down defender or small forward, potentially pushing up the ground. think bugg.

stewart is a mature ager, midsized but good in the air.

thurlow was an under 18 representative in his draft year about 5 years ago but has had a rotten run of injury - has talent tho.

parfitt is a zippy youngster, really talented looking kid. i rate him highly; was part of the national academy squad last year.

Hope you are in our opposition analysis team DA. Any thoughts on who would match up against them?

Posted
11 minutes ago, DemonAndrew said:

to be honest match-ups are irrelevant, more or less, in the modern game.

the good teams play their own game first and foremost.

Agree and was just saying this to a mate. Similarly - and for the same reason - good teams don't tag. I loved Goody's response to in his presser the other say to the question of whether he would run a player, Bugg for example, with Dangerwood or Selwood. Goody said he would back our mids to beat theirs. Play our game essentially. loved it.

When Roos first came on board he said that that is where we will get - we worry only about our game - but in the beginning needed to shut down opposition and do the basics. Defence first. Which was samrrt because footy clubs just simply cannot cop floggings week in week out. That is where the Blues is at and i have to say i have quite a bit of time for Bolton (though not the blues. I've always hated them more than any other club). 

Posted
34 minutes ago, DemonAndrew said:

to be honest match-ups are irrelevant, more or less, in the modern game.

the good teams play their own game first and foremost.

More or less definitely agree.

But definitely in depth knowledge of oppositions helps team structures and individual preparation.

When applied well can have a huge impact on outcomes.

My admiration for your input was genuine 

Posted
37 minutes ago, dpositive said:

More or less definitely agree.

But definitely in depth knowledge of oppositions helps team structures and individual preparation.

When applied well can have a huge impact on outcomes.

My admiration for your input was genuine 

cheers dpositive, appreciate it.

roos' defence-first mantra made so much sense; they really did have to break down our team's game in order to build it up again.

Posted
3 hours ago, mo64 said:

I reckon no.12 is Matty Richardson's old man, Alan.

No, Bull, not sure, maybe someone can help us

Posted

Interesting tactics cats used last well letting the Kangas go up uncontested in the ruck wondering if they'll do the same this week. If they do we really need to take advantage - no use tapping it to the feet of the contest and letting them have a plus one around the footy