Posted (edited)
7 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Welcome to the nut house Viney. 

Brace yourself!

Nut House?? I'll have you know, I would never go on a Forum that has such entities! Look at me for example??I am as sane as any  Demonlander, Maybe even more Sane, Unlike some around here!!

There are some serious, serious Nut cases around here Viney! Stick with me and I'll show you around!!

Posted
1 minute ago, picket fence said:

There are some serious, serious Nut cases around here Viney! Stick with me and I'll show you around!!

That's comforting!  

Stanger danger Viney, stranger danger!!

Posted
21 minutes ago, ENYAW said:

Harmes may replace Trenners or O.Mac

Now why would he replace Trenners

Posted (edited)
9 hours ago, McQueen said:

We're not Collingwood and our talls are a far sight better than what the Pies fielded last week.

Relax FFS.

And with his speed and agility, Frost can play like a medium mid fielder anyway. Also with Max's current form he is certainly getting mid field stats, as well as his creative handballs. Although I would have preferred Grimes for Omac, I think we will be ok. In some ways big bodies can be an advantage in the wet, and If the rain does ease off we will have a huge advantage - they will not be able to go with us.

Let's rid ourselves of yet another hoodoo. 

Edited by Dees2014
Posted
13 hours ago, ArtificialWisdom said:

The whole tall/small debate is stupid, if you are mobile and have strong hands at ground level then who cares how tall you are, you can play in the wet! Cant just throw talls out the window because you are assuming opposition won't mark the ball. Most AFL players are capable of marking in the wet so what you need more of clean users regardless of their size. 

Plus, a good tall, even if unable to take the mark, can outbody their opponent and bring the ball to ground to our advantage. Incidentally I see Dawes as an excellent proponent of this.

Posted (edited)

If this game was at MCG i would be more than confident.. Up at the SCG with the swans coming off a poor game against the Giants we'll be up against it BUT if the weather is like predicted it all comes back to basics & how prepared you are to put your body on the line & win the contested ball & play hard football... We know what Sydney's mids of Kenedy, Jack, Hannebery will give the Swans so our boys have to be up for the fight. If we are, the game will be there to be won.

Edited by JV7
Posted

Round 4 - 2015 the Dockers had a good win over the swans.

Round 5 - 2015 the Swans were coming up against the improving Dogs at the SCG and were expected to have them covered.

In hard and wet conditions the Dogs played fantastic tough and skilled footy to beat the Swans by 4 points.  

From a football season perspective it was a season and a half ago. 18 months if you like.  Paul Roos has repeatedly said that he believes we are about 18 months behind the Bulldogs from a development stand point. 

Tomorrows game will give a strong indication of where we are.  I think we can win.  It will be hard and wet conditions just as it was last year.  The Swans team that lost to the dogs was stronger from a personnel perspective.

We keep waiting for a statement game. I'm hoping that this will be it.

Posted
18 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Demons: Unchanged.

Swans: four changes. Kurt Tippett (hamstring), Harry Marsh (hamstring) and Jeremy Laidler (knee) to injury while Harry Cunningham has been omitted.

So after several pages of banter about tall coming in for a short player, Cunningham and Laidler are both out!

While there will be rain the SCG may not be a cow paddock.  Grounds drain pretty well these days and the wind will dry the surface off a little.  Will definitely play damp but not necessarily the Casey-like bogs that some seem to think.  Just hope we learnt from the Hawks game that the ball doesn't bounce and to play off the ground!

I reckon there might just be an upset!

They don't drain very well when there is 20-40mm of rain in a short space of time.....

Posted
10 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

They don't drain very well when there is 20-40mm of rain in a short space of time.....

And if it's STILL raining ;)

Posted

Don't know much about Alir Alir but surely he is worth a couple of goals to us. Hopefully Oscar doesn't cost us to many goals tomorrow, he panics with the ball and so many times his first thought is to handball instead of kick, tomorrow's weather will suit him down to the ground which is why we will win. 

Posted (edited)

This has nothing to do with footy but I just wanted to share with my fellow Dee's.

My son played his basketball under 14 Division 1 Grand Final today and won by 5 points.  His team played exceptional "team" Bball, the best of the season  

He played the first three quarters like a bucket of puss and then came out in the last and nailed all his shots including a three point play. 

So proud that all his hard work has Paid off.

BTW the team they beat went undefeated during the normal season. 

It was a great day. 

Edited by DemonOX
Posted
21 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

This has nothing to do with footy but I just wanted to share with my fellow Dee's.

My son played his basketball under 14 Division 1 Grand Final today and won by 5 points.  His team played exceptional "team" Bball, the best of the season  

He played the first three quarters like a bucket of puss and then came out in the last and nailed all his shots including a three point play. 

So proud that all his hard work has Paid off.

BTW the team they beat went undefeated during the normal season. 

It was a great day. 

Congrats to the young fella! I hope he soaks it all up. There is nothing like the feeling of winning a GF...in any sport. 

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, Boots and all said:

Congrats to the young fella! I hope he soaks it all up. There is nothing like the feeling of winning a GF...in any sport. 

Thanks boots. He's the first to win a GF in any sport in our family so he's rapt. 

Edited by DemonOX

Posted
27 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

I know the majority of rain was predicted for tomorrow but theyve been wrong before.

You're a cynic. They tell us sea levels will rise 2cm in 100 years and I believe them...:roos:

Posted

Michie is the emergency so it seems (as Grimes and Harmes played for Casey today)!

Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, Alcho Dee said:

Don't know much about Alir Alir but surely he is worth a couple of goals to us. Hopefully Oscar doesn't cost us to many goals tomorrow, he panics with the ball and so many times his first thought is to handball instead of kick, tomorrow's weather will suit him down to the ground which is why we will win. 

Same re Alir.

On balance I think our defence has a slight edge. We have a big edge in the ruck but if it rains heavy this will probably not mean much on the night and might be neutralised.

They have a small edge in the mid and up forward.

That's 2 edges for us and 2 for them (provided it doesn't bucket down for the entire match) so we're all even.

However, home ground advantage usually gives opponent approx 3/4 goal leg up and at this stage we aren't a '5 goal plus' better team than them.

Swannies by 3 to 4 goals...maybe another 3 as we are still a very green team and on the road

Posted (edited)

Anyone remember round 6 1998- Sydney v Melbourne ?

Pouring rain on a Sunday arvo, a 3 or 4 goal win to the Dees. Hopefully history repeats itself.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell
Posted

Latest forecast 20-50 mm of heavy rain. Might give us a chance.....all out with bye next week

Posted
2 hours ago, jnrmac said:

Latest forecast 20-50 mm of heavy rain. Might give us a chance.....all out with bye next week

Great time to have the bye.

Although I hope the 6 day break doesn't come back to bite us in the last qtr.

Posted
20 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Great time to have the bye.

Although I hope the 6 day break doesn't come back to bite us in the last qtr.

Swans have played 2 games in the past month in saturated conditions. They will be pretty sore already you would think...