Posted (edited)

Only reason I went to Forest Hill shopping was to go to Robbies sports shop.

Always had time for any kids wanting to see and speak to him.

In fact the only reason I went to the footy in the late 70's to mid 80's was to watch Robbie, he made going in that era bearable with his amazing skills.

Absolute legend.

Edited by DeeMfc

Posted

For those too young or anyone unfortunate enough to have not seen the great man in action.

But a glimpse of his amazing talent.

A true Demon who remained loyal.

We miss you dearly.

Gee looking at those highlights they go on about Rioli but Robbie is doing something very similar up forward in some of those clips and then you add his other great work up the field and it shows just what a talent he was, a Rioli plus plus in my mind.

Posted

laces out, please Robbie... just Poetry.in.Motion was Robbie ! tears can't do him justice

I can NEVER understand just how he could not ever win that darn brownlow medal... he personifies Best & Fairest... his picture should be on that page.

Maybe they should change its name to the Robbie Flower medal, or put his picture on that darn medal, to give it back its Integrity.

Not winning a Brownlow is understandable because, like Nathan Jones, he played a lot of his football in a losing team which makes it hard to get votes. However, what I have never understood is why he only won our B & F once.

I think I'm on safe ground, even on Demonland, if I say he has been Melbourne's best player since Barassi. If anyone wishes to dispute that statement, feel free to do so, but please justify why you wish to nominate anyone else.

yeah I understand L D-v C

But I'd pick Robbie Flower over and above keith greig or even Schimma, every day of the week. they can keep they're Barhams, Turners, Woods, Cunninghams, Dippers, Eades, & any others.

....... it's Robbie for me as the King of Wing'ers.

Posted

Could it be that he and Nathan Jones could be seen as 2 very similar players?

Shining lights in eras of horrible darkness.

Fitting, really, that they share the #2.

I don't mean this as any disrespect to Robbie, more to highlight the hard work of our current captain.

Posted (edited)

So you put these three videos together, delete the double ups and send it to Bruce McAvaney. He can then use it as his high note standard

Next time Cyril does something slightly better than regulation Bruce will know that he can't immediately reach for the superlatives as there was a player who was doing the same things but better, more consistently, for over a decade and in every spot on the ground except for ruck.

Edit. Apologies as apparently I don't have the skills to embed the third vid.

Edited by fndee
Posted

nice to be reminded just how good he was on the non-preferred foot. he looked truly as comfortable on either foot and those players are as rare as hen's teeth

Posted

Here's a abit more magic.

17 mins of it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GPzSMlrG-o0

The goal against Richmond at the 2.20min mark where he taps it to himself in the centre, streams forward and slots it from 50+ is really one of the great goals I've seen.

And to think that commentators were wetting themselves a couple of years ago when Natanui kicked a behind in similar circumstances, even calling it the 'point of the century'.. pfffft

The thing that never ceases to amaze me about Robbie is just how good he was in the air. Talk about the complete footballer.

• 11 months later...
Posted

Today marks 2 years since Rob Flower passed away. Gee that went quick! I reckon he would have loved yesterdays result. I know his favourite Current player was in fact Robert Murphy! Still saddened two years hence! I'l have one for you now mate! Charge your glasses all! Cheers! PF

Posted
16 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Today marks 2 years since Rob Flower passed away. Gee that went quick! I reckon he would have loved yesterdays result. I know his favourite Current player was in fact Robert Murphy! Still saddened two years hence! I'l have one for you now mate! Charge your glasses all! Cheers! PF

My favourite player and a mate. Sadly missed. 

Posted

347zark.jpg

Posted
On ‎10‎/‎11‎/‎2015 at 9:56 PM, Fork 'em said:

Also owned the World of Sport handball competition.
And here's why.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VlZO6Fccr9Q

On ‎10‎/‎11‎/‎2015 at 9:50 PM, Fork 'em said:

Here's a abit more magic.
17 mins of it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GPzSMlrG-o0

Thanks again Fork I just watched those clips again.

What a player he was. A genuine footballing genius.

Posted

True class, people talk about A graders, Robbie really was. 17 minutes of highlights, that would be close to a record.

Posted

Have just found this thread. By 50 streets my favourite player.

My first recollection of him was when he came onto the ground as 19th man in the reserves at Collingwood. You could imagine the reception a skinny kid with glasses received from the crowd. They soon shut up when he got the ball ,showed it to half the Collingwood side and then took off. Something special.

Followed his whole career with gusto and just loved going to the footy to watch him.

When  Melbourne made the finals  I dragged the whole family down from Dimboola to see Robby play in a final . Highlight of a day especially with his 5 goals, a Melbourne win and when he got taken off in the last Quarter the crowd just stood for him.

The interview with Mike Sheehan just emphasises my viewpoint of the person as well as his footballing ability. ( Thanks for putting me onto that) .

Do you realise he bounced the ball LH ,kicked Right and when required did the opposite.

Posted (edited)
On 10 October 2015 at 1:40 AM, Dr. Mubutu said:

Could it be that he and Nathan Jones could be seen as 2 very similar players?

Shining lights in eras of horrible darkness.

Fitting, really, that they share the #2.

I don't mean this as any disrespect to Robbie, more to highlight the hard work of our current captain.

I think Robbie was in a different league to Chunk, Nathan is a hard working battler, but Robert Flower was a sleek & skillful once in a lifetime type gem

Edited by WattsGawnOn
Posted
1 hour ago, WattsGawnOn said:

I think Robbie was in a different league to Chunk, Nathan is a hard working battler, but Robert Flower was a sleek & skillful once in a lifetime type gem

yep