Posted

From those reports, it is good to hear Jimmy Toumpas is relishing the 'dog house' drills.

If we can get Toumpas accustomed to physical contact - then the sky is the limit.

Toumpas is completely deficient inside of a contest, it is an area of complete weakness for him.

I think if we can get Toumpas to play without fear of contact, that it would go a LONG way to improving his ability to find the pill.

As good as he is on the outside, he is only on the outside due to fear. MFC can't have players who wait, our mids will have to be versatile.

Jack Viney has the complete opposite problem to Toumpas - in that Viney needs to sometimes not go in, and actually spread more.

Rubbish! But beautifully articulated. :)

Posted

I think that the two way running, and the endurance side of things is a very good test, however as you say, it's only one part of the equation. I would like to see something where we are able to test the endurance and repeat running skills of a player and incorporate decision making skills into the equation too... I agree that players like Nico and to a lesser degree Grimes were super when it came to endurance running and the like, but the question mark for me on Grimes is skills under pressure etc...

I also think you are being a bit harsh on Bail, I thought his season last year pretty solid. At least the first half of the year anyway, tapered off in the second half.

Build a beep test that has a tackle bag up one end, and a coach about to fling a ball at you with an instruction to kick or handball to a target at the other... :) Test not only the endurance of the player, but their disposal skills under fatigue and pressure.

There were drills today testing decision making/skill execution today under fatigue.

Beep style tests are necessary because there are base levels that simply have to be reached if you want to play at the elite level. If you can't reach those levels then you can't play at AFL level. If you are a mid and you can't yo yo between goal squares then you won't make the grade.

Posted

From those reports, it is good to hear Jimmy Toumpas is relishing the 'dog house' drills.

If we can get Toumpas accustomed to physical contact - then the sky is the limit.

Toumpas is completely deficient inside of a contest, it is an area of complete weakness for him.

I think if we can get Toumpas to play without fear of contact, that it would go a LONG way to improving his ability to find the pill.

As good as he is on the outside, he is only on the outside due to fear. MFC can't have players who wait, our mids will have to be versatile.

Jack Viney has the complete opposite problem to Toumpas - in that Viney needs to sometimes not go in, and actually spread more.

I haven't found Toumpas to be completely deficient at the contest from a physicality point of view. Sure he's no Byron Picket and he can improve but his problem with contests that I have observed is getting to them. He's just been way too slow.

And when he has made it to the contest he's a bit like a deer in the headlights unsure of what to do. Rather than instinctive crisp decision making and execution. If he has any fear it's seems more to me about fear of making a mistake and doubting his ability. Not sitting outside the contest scared of body contact.

He has gone back with the flight of the ball and been crunched a few times without flinching and marking the ball and getting back on his feet. He has also made some decent tackles when he's been quick enough.

But if he is getting his running back up he should make it to more contests and if he gets his confidence up he should do better when he is in them. Encouraging signs.

• Like 16
Posted

It was a lazy 3½ hour session this morning.

Lots of running. Running by itself - fartlek/beep thang. Running incorporated into drills

- lead from square to boundary, short double back to 50/drill then double back to square/ full ground ball movement . Running between drills - first station - grappling into sprint along boundary from one end to about 30 metres out, 25 seconds walk/jog recovery into 3 on 3 ball carrier protection then another lengthy sprint to next station ...

Players looked stuffed by the end.

Brayshaw in the injured/rested group (McKenzie, Terlich, Watts, Spencer +?) walking though drills before running laps with Kent who was keeping them on pace.

Dawes ran laps before the bike. Presume cautious prep to avoid calf issues.

Max new players did was was complete the fartlek beep test style thing before doing handball drills which was about halfway into session.

Toump does look more AFL like bodywise and was cracking into the contests. Shaving his head also helps in the hardness stakes.

Garlo was running like Mr Burns but pushed on through.

Petracca is a natural footballer, great below his knees and above his head.

Hogan looks like the man. Has the swagger and works hard. Should leave a few key defenders gasping for air. Does not come across as your default footy jock type.

Watts, Kent and Dawes had long bike sessions. Appears mandatory to take your singlet off before you get on the bike.

Roos in charge. Stopped drills when players in wrong position or took wrong option. All coaches strong on positioning and right v wrong options and working hard.

Players seemed to pushing their limits physically. Much like the best gigs I was enjoying it more the longer it went. Not sure if the players concurred!

Hopefully we can start introducing young mids into the team on the flanks rather than on ball because most won't have the tank to match experienced onballers.

• Like 16

Posted

Dr Drake you have been overdosing on some of your concoctions

The problem with Sylvia is he lacks footy smarts. Just does not get into right position often enough.

Hopefully Petracca does.

Posted

The problem with Sylvia is he lacks footy smarts. Just does not get into right position often enough.

Hopefully Petracca does.

That's one of them.

Posted

I haven't found Toumpas to be completely deficient at the contest from a physicality point of view. Sure he's no Byron Picket and he can improve but his problem with contests that I have observed is getting to them. He's just been way too slow.

And when he has made it to the contest he's a bit like a deer in the headlights unsure of what to do. Rather than instinctive crisp decision making and execution. If he has any fear it's seems more to me about fear of making a mistake and doubting his ability. Not sitting outside the contest scared of body contact.

He has gone back with the flight of the ball and been crunched a few times without flinching and marking the ball and getting back on his feet. He has also made some decent tackles when he's been quick enough.

But if he is getting his running back up he should make it to more contests and if he gets his confidence up he should do better when he is in them. Encouraging signs.

100% Stinga. Couldn't agree more. The fitter this guy gets the more we will see why we picked him when we did.

Posted

Some reports about Garland are a bit concerning. He was falling behind in running drills last season and two weeks later was booked in for surgery. Hopefully this time it is just a lack of conditioning.

Posted

Thanks to those who have been contributing reports. It's terrific for those of us at work and very much locked into the pre-Xmas silly season to be able to follow closely how the team is traveling ATM.

In case anyone's wondering, the AIS lads training with Melbourne on work experience are Harley Balic (Sandringham Dragons, 186cm medium forward) and Liam Jeffs (192cm, Eastern Ranges, forward) who should be comfortable at a club that drafted former teammates Angus Brayshaw and Christian Petracca respectively.

The fact that an AIS academy member does work experience with a particular AFL club normally doesn't mean he will end up there as a result of a future draft but the last intake saw Brayshaw and Billy Stretch training with us earlier this year. Neither looked out of place and I notice that in an interview this week Brayshaw cited his training experience at the club as being valuable in teaching him what to expect in terms of increased training intensity when coming to an AFL club.

Posted

In case anyone's wondering, the AIS lads training with Melbourne on work experience are Harley Balic (Sandringham Dragons, 186cm medium forward) and Liam Jeffs (192cm, Eastern Ranges, forward) who should be comfortable at a club that drafted former teammates Angus Brayshaw and Christian Brayshaw respectively.

I knew Angus and Christian were close, but I didn't know they had recently tied the knott.

Posted

Petracca will be our new Alan Jakovitch. Serious. Or Jarman, the fat one.

As excited as I'am for us stealing Petracca with pick 2, I don't believe he's earned this comparison yet... any comparison between him and Allen Jackovich needs to be saved until, he at least proves he can play seniors on the main arena... Who knows if Petracca will even make it yet, He's got along way to go yet... Every year our new recruits get unwarranted praise and expectations become so high that it's inevitable, that we'll be left wanting.... Personally I'm glad we have him and I'm happy just have him play in the twos all year and develop properly...
Posted

Can anyone report on JKHs biceps for me?

I need constant updates.

Posted

cheers Ruffles

love me some Viv

I reckon he will be in the starting line up for round one, playing of the half back flank. He has great disposal and his blanketing of Cunningham lat last season (10 touches) is an example of what he is capable of. You are right he rarely gets a mention in training notes. He is a very quiet bloke and probably does not standout like the others but I rate him ahead of a few of the other fan faves.

Posted

Can anyone report on JKHs biceps for me?

I need constant updates.

Got this off Saty's Twitter.

38f370854210f9a1f9b23185796d3ec8_zps4776

Posted

Saty - thanks for your excellent training reports. I really appreciate you posting them after each session - living in Sydney, they are simply unreal to read every second day or so.

Who's in the forward group at the moment? I assume the definites are Hogan, Dawes and Garlett, but it seems to me that the rest of the set up is not entirely certain. Howe? Watts?

Posted

I knew Angus and Christian were close, but I didn't know they had recently tied the knott.

Thanks ... and fixed. :wub:

As you can see, I'm working on turning the club around from the house divided scenario to one big happy family theme. It must be working!

Posted

Agree. I saw him get crunched under a high ball on the members wing this year, he held in there knowing he was going to cop it. And his tackling has been far from the worst.

The way I see it is the step up to AFL has just been much faster than he could handle. His strengths are reading the play, getting to the right spot and working very hard covering ground during a game. His weaknesses are that he has no real way to win contests and it's not really a lack of hardness thing. He's not an adept inside player. He's not a good mark or spoiler in the air. And he doesn't have the pace to sprint his way clear.

With a fitter and stronger body he should start to find ways to get the ball and by then hopefully the game slows down and he can use it better. He'd benefit greatly from being in a good side as well because then all the smart positions he gets to through his work rate would be properly utilised.

Posted

Toumpas not only shirtfronted Nev but threw him to the ground slightly hurting his shoulder. Went off for about 20mins for treatment. it was pretty serious stuff out there today. Dunn's "tackle" on Viney was a bit crude and would have come under notice from the MRP if it happened in a game. What I liked about this particular incident was that Viney did not retaliate but just pushed Dunny away and continued on with the drill.

With regard to Toumpas, he is doing everything right and is leaving nothing on the park to achieve the level of fitness required to be an above average AFL footballer. There seems to be a heavy focus on improving his defensive skills which was one of his weaknesses last season. His two-way running has been quite noticeable. He's been my best performer this pre-season.

Long term he will be remembered more than Wines (except by some die-hard demonlanders)!

Posted

Getting excited at the idea of Petracca and Hogan both playing round 1 in the forward line. Both don't drop the ball and seem to be strong 1v1. Sure Petracca may not play but i likethe thought of it (clean footballers).

Thanks for all the reports guys, keep them coming :)

Posted (edited)

Saty - thanks for your excellent training reports. I really appreciate you posting them after each session - living in Sydney, they are simply unreal to read every second day or so.

Who's in the forward group at the moment? I assume the definites are Hogan, Dawes and Garlett, but it seems to me that the rest of the set up is not entirely certain. Howe? Watts?

When they do the full field drills, the normal suspects in Hogan, Pedersen, Dawes and the rucks (including Fitzy) are forward, the rest are all over the place, I asked Howie where he would be playing this season and the answer was "hopefully somewhere in the 22", yesterday they had Garlett in midfield.

As far as I can gather, the 'serious' stuff re positioning will be after Xmas, but as I have said before, Roos has 2 backs locked in, 2 mids and a ruck and 2 forwards, the rest he wants to mix and match, you can pick your own for who they are

To answer the rookie question on upgrading, it depends, KIng is a beautiful kick and there wouldn't be a problem playing him forward if the need arises, Harmes is a good inside midfielder, started to look settled at VFL level towards the end of the season, doesn't look out of place during the drills, Vandenberg is 8 weeks from a shoulder op, so same as Bernie Vince so will probably be eased into it, White looks raw (hence the rookie spot), need to see more of him

Edited by The Devil Inside