Colin Sylvia

He's gone - will disappear without trace. At one stage he seemed to be changing I think under the influence of Jim Stynes.

The Ross Lyon regime has come as a rude shock. He only has himself to blame. I think it really shows up how soft our footy department was prior to Roos.

agree, this could be the making of him

When he gets his tan working well with the tatts and the off field stuff quietens down, the gf sitch settles, and he gets orf the pizz ,he looks like he has potential.

He'll be a ripper one day that Col. (Insert full pre season joke here)

Still in disbelief that we essentially picked up Bernie Vince in exchange for Sylvia.

And if Viv Michie comes along it would be even sweeter.

A lot of Freo supporters at the time thought Viv was much more important player then Col due to his upside.

Fremantle Dockers Colin Sylvia banished from club after failing to meet training standards

Hilarious. Hey Col guess what you are at freo now under Ross Lyon. Not at melbourne where you were obviously allowed to get away with things. He still has 2 years up there and should have known after 1 season not to turn up to pre season unfit when Ross Lyon is at the helm. This is the same coach that wouldnt let a saints player take an exam because it interfered with his footy. That boy will never learn.

By the way melbourne thankyou for doing something right and letting this guy go and getting bernie in.

At least he isn't our problem, guaranteed if he stayed the exact same story would be coming out Roos and Lyon are cut from the same cloth I reakon Roos would have been wrapped to see him walk, just a list clogger now

What a drop kick. Sent to the WAFL so he can get his sh!t together.

I reckon he'll retire.

Bernie Vince.

Lol

Whilst I don't really care about it all, I'm pretty sure they sent Walters to train in the WAFL and then he produced his best season.

Colin Sylvia is an idiot and at the end of the day is one of the greatest waste of talents in the modern era.

The upside is the Peel area has great beaches. The downside is the distance to the Northbridge night club district.

Sylvia: "Roosy, Freo is into me for big money, but I'd really love to stay at the Dees."

Roos: "She'll be right, thanks, Col. We'll manage."

Not good enough to be a top level AFL player....simple.

Roosy put one over Rossy here.

The challenge for any young player coming in to the AFL system is that a lifestyle similar to that of Sylvia's, is very easy to live. Come in to a team with poor leadership/culture/etc, and you will get by on potential. Go in to a club where they have higher standards, and you will not be given anywhere near the opportunities, and rightly so.

Like most MFC supporters, I'm a little nervous (aka gun shy) about bringing in someone like Petracca. Has a bit of spunk about him, ready-made body, would've found TAC Cup easy. The thing that gives me more confidence is the foundations that have been laid, hopefully ensuring that what we saw with Sylvia, doesn't happen with the likes of Petracca.

Wines is a great example of a similar kid coming in to a professional environment with high expectations/standards. To some degree, Dusty Martin, while quite loose, is really heavily managed at Richmond. I often wonder what those blokes would be like if they came to Melbourne over the past few years.

The challenge for any young player coming in to the AFL system is that a lifestyle similar to that of Sylvia's, is very easy to live. Come in to a team with poor leadership/culture/etc, and you will get by on potential. Go in to a club where they have higher standards, and you will not be given anywhere near the opportunities, and rightly so.

Like most MFC supporters, I'm a little nervous (aka gun shy) about bringing in someone like Petracca. Has a bit of spunk about him, ready-made body, would've found TAC Cup easy. The thing that gives me more confidence is the foundations that have been laid, hopefully ensuring that what we saw with Sylvia, doesn't happen with the likes of Petracca.

Wines is a great example of a similar kid coming in to a professional environment with high expectations/standards. To some degree, Dusty Martin, while quite loose, is really heavily managed at Richmond. I often wonder what those blokes would be like if they came to Melbourne over the past few years.

I wouldn't think many MFC supporters would be nervous at all about Petracca because of Silvia. They are very different personalities and footballers.

Is anyone really suprised by this?

Such a waste of talent but thank God he isn't on our list now.

This is not going to come as a huge shock to most, but when Sylvia was suspended for 3 weeks in 2013 he basically went on a bender.

I know of one such occasion when he arrived at the club on a Saturday to do a mandatory bike session and then had to sit in the box with Neeld. All the while on zero sleep and under the influence...

Good riddance.

col is 29 with 2 years to run on his contract taking him to 31

by all accounts he's on good money

you got to hand it to him, how many players get to be on good money till 31, have a good time, don't bust a gut and all for little effort

i take my hat off to colin

col is 29 with 2 years to run on his contract taking him to 31

by all accounts he's on good money

you got to hand it to him, how many players get to be on good money till 31, have a good time, don't bust a gut and all for little effort

i take my hat off to colin

Playing in the WAFL for $400 000 and training half as hard as the AFL

Seems like a reasonable gig dc

Not good enough to be a top level AFL player....simple.

Roosy put one over Rossy here.

Agreed, and I don't think he ever had the talent or outright ability as other posters suggest.

Lacked footy smarts let alone his social set.