Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Kennett future MelbourneFC President?

Satan

Any member on this site who supports Jeff for President can and hand in their membership and close the door on the way out. I will not accept a Hawthorn supporter who advocates we relocate and or merge as President regardless of my personal opinion on Jeff and the skills he may or may not bring he is not wanted by me and I think the majority of dedicated passionate demons.

If you want and example of this clubs culture problems that people have ranted about then you should have a good hard look at yourselves. Can you imagine Essendon fans or Collingwood fans supporting a Carlton supporter as their President?

For all of McLardys possible errors or faults and am not convinced there have been that many he loves this club and feels our pain and I would keep him everyday rather than a Hawthorn person.

This post is offensive.

It's time you put your personal dislike of Jeffs political views aside for the good of the club. Football is big business, you must understand that if you can't compete off the field you will not be able to compete, have regular success on the field. At its most basic this is why the MFC has failed for 50 years.

Jeff would be a godsend to this club. It does not matter that he is a hawthorn supporter just as it makes no difference that Juddy and Buddy were once Melbourne members. Get over yourself and support your club.

Edited by Grand New Flag

You can't have a club president who supports another club.

It's like asking Putin to run for American president.

It's folly, doomed from the outset.

Complete rubbish. It's no different to having a player who once supported a different club. Football is professional, football is big business.

Your ideals are something from a previous time.

I wonder why he was voted out? The state was clearly a utopia for all during the wise reign of King Jeff.

No scratch that. Why did three independents, two who were conservatives, vote him out? And why did this lead to 11 years of Labor government in Victoria? (Soon to be 15 years out of 19 years of Labor government in Victoria)

He went too hard, gagged his ministers and his time was up. He lost sense of community. He needed to pull back a bit, but didn't. He was the right bloke for what the state needed at the time.

I thought this was common knowledge.

He went too hard, gagged his ministers and his time was up. He lost sense of community. He needed to pull back a bit, but didn't. He was the right bloke for what the state needed at the time.

Jeepers Ben Hur, I was to distracted looking at your new profile picture than to read what you posted....

What about him reducing the powers of the auditor general (there was a reason why Billy was asked the question)? Casemix? Compulsory competitive tendering for councils? Stripping the right to sue employers for negligence? Giving us the sh****est public transportation system in Australia (something Labor never fixed)? Getting rid of state awards (also never restored by Labor)? Lack of transparency in bids for the Casino and the state emergency service? All 'growth' going into the metropolitan region while the bush got squat? Ringing any bells? 13 years is enough to whitewash the record for some people but for older stagers like myself, we remember all too well. I could keep going all day.

Your answer as to why he got booted was half right but simplistic. It also is a cautionary tale for the MFC. Jeff ultimately lost due to his general arsehat style. Russell Savage, a member for one of the safest conservative seats in Victoria, and Craig Ingram, a man who had never voted Labor in his life, made it quite clear that they would never serve in a government run by Jeff Kennett. There were probably some issues they had with Jeff's policies towards the bush but the one that stands out to me is that Jeff called Savage an 'fwit' and treated him generally like crap. If the bloke had any decorum what so ever, he would have served at least 3 more years.

O.K. I haven't forgot what I said... Time to move on.

Edit: He called Savage an 'fwit' on the floor of the parliament and ordered coalition MP's not to socialize with him.

Edited by Guest

Looks like asking for politics to be kept out of this discussion is pointless. Here's my view, I hope I won't be tempted to post again:

I didn't like Kennett's politics at all, but I think that has nothing to do with whether he'd be a good MFC President.

I'd much prefer a Demon fan as President, though I don't think it is 100% essential. (However, a lower-profile supporter of another club wouldn't worry me as much as someone with Kennett's Hawk's public profile.) While it's true the players are no longer loyal, I'd hate footy to get the state where I may as well be barracking for CocaCola over Pepsi in their weekly sales figures.

My concern with Kennett is his merger/relocation past positions. When things continued bad despite his efforts, my fear is that it would be easy for him to declare the task was beyond Jesus and return to his merger/relocation position. That would be the end of MFC. Don't want to take that risk.

Therefore I say - surely there must be someone else that can do the job. I don't move in the right circles, so I've no idea who, but how many can say they knew the names of ALL successful presidents before they got the job?

What a load of rubbish - it was so bad under Kennett that Bracks and Brumby didnt undo hardly anything.

What about him reducing the powers of the auditor general (there was a reason why Billy was asked the question)? Casemix? Compulsory competitive tendering for councils? Stripping the right to sue employers for negligence? Giving us the sh****est public transportation system in Australia (something Labor never fixed)? Getting rid of state awards (also never restored by Labor)? Lack of transparency in bids for the Casino and the state emergency service? All 'growth' going into the metropolitan region while the bush got squat? Ringing any bells? 13 years is enough to whitewash the record for some people but for older stagers like myself, we remember all too well. I could keep going all day.
Your answer as to why he got booted was half right but simplistic. It also is a cautionary tale for the MFC. Jeff ultimately lost due to his general arsehat style. Russell Savage, a member for one of the safest conservative seats in Victoria, and Craig Ingram, a man who had never voted Labor in his life, made it quite clear that they would never serve in a government run by Jeff Kennett. There were probably some issues they had with Jeff's policies towards the bush but the one that stands out to me is that Jeff called Savage an 'fwit' and treated him generally like crap. If the bloke had any decorum what so ever, he would have served at least 3 more years.

Edit: He called Savage an 'fwit' on the floor of the parliament and ordered coalition MP's not to socialize with him.

This has no relevance. Jeff's specialty is turning basket cases organisations around. He did it with our state, he did it with the Hawthorn Football Club, he can do it for us. We need to let him. Remember we can always vote him out if he starts power tripping to the detriment of the club.

Jeff is our best hope. He will increase the profile of the club, which increases media attention, which increases sponsorship, increases members, which increases player satisfaction with the club, this improves the chances of holding players and bringing new players in, which inturn improves performances. All of this improves the financial position of the club allowing it to spend more on the football department and thus further improving performance.

Get it!

Jeff would be the best thing ever to happen to our club........ in my life time.

Interesting side note. At the time, Victoria's finances made us supposedly insolvent. But guess what, within 6 months of JGK taking office, we were in surplus. What people often don't understand is that budgets are just that, they are budgets based on what is called forward estimates. However, what governments of all persuasions did back then was to use a mixture of cash accounting and accrual accounting. Governments still do to some extent. The Kennett Government essentially sold the house to pay the mortgage. He then tried, unsuccessfully, to gag the Auditor General. Many of his Beyond Blue clients were those who lost their jobs as a result.

I would hate that the same principles could be applied to the Melbourne Football Club.

FFS serious change is needed here.

Serious change is needed, yet you are happy to see someone who compares the GWS experiment to Gallipoli come in and run the club? We as a club have been suffering far too much ridicule in the press of late (yes, mostly deserved), so we bring in a loose canon who will continue to keep us in the spotlight quite possibly for all of the wrong reasons. Look at what happened when he was calling for Clarkson's head... do you really think we as a club want someone who likes the sound of his own voice so much that he wants everybody else to hear it as well?

Even David Schwarz is speaking out against the idea: ''I don't think so, he barracks for Hawthorn. You want someone who will roll up their sleeves for your club don't you?'' Schwarz said on SEN, when asked whether Kennett was the right person to be president. ''I have no idea why Jeff would want to be in charge of the Melbourne Football Club. That was puzzling, but Jeff is puzzling at times. The people I'm speaking to haven't spoken to Jeff, so that has come out of the blue.''

Serious change?...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQvVTPXZuBo

Edited by hardtack

I cannot believe that you guys are all arguing about Jeff's performance as a premier. Although I am one of those that consider he did a good job as Premier, it was over a decade ago. What about his more recent role as head of Beyond Blue? Nobody is criticising his commitment to that and what he achieved! I say bring him on!

I think the actions of his club when he was President went against what Beyond Blue represents so I'm not so sure about his real commitment.

I just want to know who will be on his running ticket.

Then i can decide.

I got a feeling Neil Mitchell might have had a bit of a hand in this.Maybe agitating the board a little.

I can't see this happening with Jeff, but seems another ticket is possibly mobilising in the background according to Robbo and Gerard on AFL 360.

Also it seems that McLardy is going to give members a bit of a heads up as to what is progressing before the game against the Pies. Will be interesting to see what he has to say.

When was the last time that worked for us?

That is specious reasoning.

It would be like me saying that we 'try to play football' but that has 'not worked for us' for a while so let's play baseball.

Richard Colless he is not.

He has already said in the recent past that we should have relocated or merged, he has brought the ire of his Flag winning coach on more than one occassion for things he has said, and he has constantly put himself above the club with the things he has said.

There will be a new President in 2014 and there are a few pre-requisites - he is willing to work for nothing, he is loyal to the club, and that he is a Demon.

His running mate will be CEO of tourism Tasmania and he'll negotiate cheaper rates for us to see home games travelling on the Princess

i think Whorethorn & Nought are already well entrenched in the map of Tassie.

Settle down. The MFC needs to stay in Melbourne.

I heard Jeff again speak this morning. He made a lot of sense.

Can the current Board lift us out of this???

Id be pepared to entertain this.

The proviso:

1) i want to see who else is prepared to put hand up, who their team is. What they intend to do and how they would make thst happen .

2) same for Jeff. Who how etc.

Id give him a hearing. Ive met and talked with him a number of times over the last 0-25 years. Without question his ego fills a room. Without question hesitation not always right. Without question he has the ability to make things happen and bring accountability to the fore.

You know exactly where you stand with Jeff lol

He , even by his own admissions , made mistakes; often of fervour and sometimes lost sight of the gosl line and went too far. He has mellowed a little (seiously lol )

He would actually be one of the very few who could marry ability vision , clarity of understanding of who and what Melbourne is together with an ego sizable to succeed.

Id give it serious consideration. Only a fool would dismiss out of hand.