Posted

Say anything you want about this team's skills, but bruise-free is one thing we're not. Add Dawes, Clark, Jetta, Magner and Couch and we'll start to see Neeld's "Hardest Team to Play Against" come to fruition.

Posted

Nate Jones simply outstanding.

Dunn excellent work on Judd. Fantastic

Viney good (terrible miss)

Frawley best half since 2011. Keep it up.

If they can play like that in the 3rd we will be a genuine chance. However our 3rd quarters......................

Posted

It's the type of inside 50s though not just the amount.

another reason most stats are useless. They are non contextual

Posted

Wasn't it salt into the wound that Brock Mclean caused Grimes's shoulder injury. And flogs McIrvaney(?) & Watson were defending him. We need a line in the sand game like Hawthorn vs Essendon. Bugger the consequences. Take out Mclean then Robinson. Throw in Waite for good measure. Led by Tapscott & Sylvia.

Posted

AC to his shoulder I think. Serious injury.

The way he went down looks like a collarbone to me.

Posted

TAB has odds at $1.01 that Neeld will tell the press after we lose that we had a lot of scoring shots and Carlton double our number of average games.

When Mark Neeld starts using excuses that aren't true, then you can sack him. Until then, he's just pointing out things we need to improve on. Isn't that his job?

Posted

For anyone watching this on TV- any news on Grimsey?

Off to hospital, AC or broken collar bone says the doc.

A long stint on the sideline you would think.

Posted

If we had Clarke, Watts , and Dawes we would win this match on our 2nd quarter efforts. Howe needs to get involved

Which of these blokes, all giving 100% and throwing their body in would you drop for Watts????

Posted

For anyone watching this on TV- any news on Grimsey?

Off to hospital, Larkins thinks probable AC (although he was just watching on TV)

Posted

To be honest, just having the footy doesn't mean you are playing awesomely. Carlton are tending to kick backwards so let's not condemn yet. I remember when we played Collingwood in 2010 on Queens Birthday, the Pies had miles more possies than us but that wasn't an accurate reflection of the game.

Spot on Colin. It's quality possessions and smart use of the football, creating space, body work, pressure acts, desperation (a la Howe's effort on the wing half way through that 2nd quarter) etc that count towards staying in games or winning them in most cases. Sometime it's just all out attack and class too as we are seeing from the Blues today but they also pressure and close down on their opponent pretty quickly once we gain possession. Unlike the Tiges, The Blues do have some defensive qualities, both have a pretty poor defensive 6 though.

Posted

I'm hoping that Jones is made captain next year. There is absolutely no doubt he is the leader of this team. Keep the kids in the leadership group but it's quite clear who the leader is.

Posted

Neeldy needs to work on the boys skills. 9 inside 50's to 1. They need to convert. Running and fitness levels are good but they don't help you kick.

Spot on mate

Skills argh - our lives wouldn't be so sad if they could use the ball

Tappy & jones inspirational - keep it up boys

Posted

When Mark Neeld starts using excuses...

Would rather a coach that doesn't use them or doesn't need to.

Posted

AC to his shoulder I think. Serious injury.

Off to hospital sadly, but in that quarter the boys were at least hard at it for him.

Posted

I'm hoping that Jones is made captain next year. There is absolutely no doubt he is the leader of this team. Keep the kids in the leadership group but it's quite clear who the leader is.

Jack Grimes is having just as good a year as Jones is. It's clear now that Jack Trengove shouldn't have been made captain, but swapping Grimes for Jones would be pointless.

Posted

Frawley did some good things so far, look like he's bought in, the kick in still drives me to tears and carlton got some easy goals from that after huge defensive efforts by the guys.

Posted

Would rather a coach that doesn't use them or doesn't need to.

Coaches who lose need to explain why. First he said we don't know why. You skewered him for that. Then he said why. You skewered him for that too. Get a grip.

Posted

Is it fair to say that if we had a fit Clark we'd be doing a lot better? With that many wasted inside 50s, you'd have to wonder.

That's a no-brainer really... up until today's game, we were, I think, number three for inside 50 conversions.

If we can play full games with the intensity they displayed in that second quarter, we quite possibly could become that "toughest side to play" that Neeld claimed we would become.

Posted

Jack Grimes is having just as good a year as Jones is. It's clear now that Jack Trengove shouldn't have been made captain, but swapping Grimes for Jones would be pointless.

Trueish but we now most likely have Grimesy out for a long period of time! Hopefully he will be back next year but I would suggest he would want to get back into the swing of things before taking on a leadership role.

Posted

Coaches who lose need to explain why. First he said we don't know why. You skewered him for that. Then he said why. You skewered him for that too. Get a grip.

I've got a grip. Just sick of the excuses.

Posted

When Mark Neeld starts using excuses that aren't true, then you can sack him. Until then, he's just pointing out things we need to improve on. Isn't that his job?

Didn't say anything about wanting him sacked. I'm just pointing out the obvious things he says after every loss.

Posted

Frawley best half since 2011. Keep it up.

This was one of the best things so far. It looks like the old Chippa out there. Reading the ball and using it well.

Posted

Hey, Watts has a dead eye kick. Thats exactly what we needed that quarter

Agree, but he's soft and this is the first Ds team for a long while with no marshmellows playing