URGENT ATTENTION: Major Site Update Will Require Email Address for Login and NOT Username. Please Ensure Your Email Address is Current.

Nine Days in the Top End

Barney Rubble

Posted

Jimmy Toumpas has tweeted he injured his knee on the obstacle course.

Theres a picture with an ice pack on it.

Hope its just a Jar, or a bruise.

• Replies 310
Posted

Jimmy Toumpas has tweeted he injured his knee on the obstacle course.

He tweeted a pic of an icepack on his knee. Said nothing about an injured knee Caro.

Posted

That was a very poor looking excuse for an icepack, probably just gave it a belt, if you look at the photo that Rory Taggert posted of Jimmy T trying to get over a wall, I am not surprised he belted it

Posted

He tweeted a pic of an icepack on his knee. Said nothing about an injured knee Caro.

Yep, just said "Hopefully I don't have to get used to this #bloodyobstaclecourse #deesindarwin"

Posted

I tweeted him and made a joke about Caro and got this back,

"haha, just a knock mate, I'll be training tomorrow!"

Even more impressed with him now

Haha... just had a look; great tweet on your part :-)

Posted

Whatever the real state of the list I love the reports we are getting.

"backman kicks a goal"

"jimmy toumpas good or bad decision?"

Neeld is going to own this year.

Good to see Joel getting some curry for his kicking, if its cured then he will be in the starting 22 no doubt , I think the coaches love his attitude.

If you are reading this Bergo how about a Gawn in Sixty seconds from the NT?

Posted

I'm pretty certain we did have a diary for the China trip, although I don't think it went into much detail about extra-curricular activities. And I take it that our HG originally hails from Tassie?

Edit: and courtesy of google, worth a view just to see how things have changed: https://www.google.com/search?q=china+diaries+melbourne+fc&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&safe=images

Thanks for the Google links.

As you were there (China) I'm sure you notice the difference just from reading the club reports from Matt Bergin.

The Darwin trip, ain't no "package tour" or "goodwill mission"!

Posted

thanks all for the reports, some really pleasing things coming up - does anyone know when the next open training session will be when they get back? I'm going to get down there

Posted

Yes, you're probably right.

I'm a bit too over protective of Robbie.

Well he did nurse us through 13 years of horrible football

Posted

Aaron Daveys chase and run down on McDonald, after the big man initially broke clear from Flash, was an indication of the fleet-footed veterans desire not to give up. Still, McDonald can seriously run for a player of his size.

Thats the stuff u want to hear.

Neelds address is clear, concise and straight to the point. Thats whats great about him. No stuffing around and tells it like it is. Interesting that the leadership group wont be announced until late Jan even if they are voting in this camp.

Actually the day 4 video is interesting. Its Neeldy miked up so u get an insight on what is meant to be happening.

Posted

Nothing to add here other than my new avatar - JV in camo's...... Not that the boy could in fact get any tougher....

Posted

Thanks for the Google links.

As you were there (China) I'm sure you notice the difference just from reading the club reports from Matt Bergin.

The Darwin trip, ain't no "package tour" or "goodwill mission"!

Yes, the China trip was more about making inroads into a different market place and more emphasis was on diplomacy rather than fitness/training.

The only constant seems to be Jones' work ethic... in China, despite having broken a bone in his neck/back(?), he was still running lap after lap after lap; the guy is a machine!

Posted

I'm loving the Darwin reports and seeing the boys run around. I'm getting a bit excited about the year to come. Have always thought these trips are about the bonding not the benefit of high altitude - especially not at this time of year with so much time before the season starts. Good work Matt - keep it up - tuning in every day...

Posted

G'day all.

I apologise for my posts being a bit all over the place but I was in a rush yesterday and nearly missed my flight due to posting on here!

No apology needed, HG. I'm loving your work.

How is Nev Jetta going? I've not noticed any reference to him in your reports thus far.

The reason I ask is that I inadvertently bumped into his uncle in Kalgoorlie this morning whilst fuelling my ute before heading back to Perth. He was paying in front of me and was wearing an MFC cap to which I obviously had to commend him on and that's when he said his nephew plays for the Dee's and told me that it was Nev. He said that Nev had flown out of there last night? I'm sure that's what I heard.

Also got to chatting with his passenger - Lewis Jetta's father. Both very proud of their boys evidenced by the fact I could hardly get a word in.

Uncle very confident on a good season from Nev.

Posted

HG love your reports thanks but any news on Dawes - how he is training, with the main group, how he seems to be fitting in and with whom does he seem to be bonding with. I have watched Matt Burgans daily reports and I cant seem to find him although it is difficult to see who is who when they are all wearing caps.

I am trying to keep a lid on it but am getting very very excited about the coming season. The difference in training even from last year is huge, body shapes are significantaly different just all in all a different feel around the Club.

I think we should all also collectively let the Club know how we have enjoyd the Video reports both from a coaching and player perspective. They would love to have this feedback from members.

Posted
No apology needed, HG. I'm loving your work. How is Nev Jetta going? I've not noticed any reference to him in your reports thus far. The reason I ask is that I inadvertently bumped into his uncle in Kalgoorlie this morning whilst fuelling my ute before heading back to Perth. He was paying in front of me and was wearing an MFC cap to which I obviously had to commend him on and that's when he said his nephew plays for the Dee's and told me that it was Nev. He said that Nev had flown out of there last night? I'm sure that's what I heard. Also got to chatting with his passenger - Lewis Jetta's father. Both very proud of their boys evidenced by the fact I could hardly get a word in. Uncle very confident on a good season from Nev.
G'day mate. Nev hasn't stood out to me but to honest I haven't even seen him. Like all players though you can definitely notice a difference in the whole group. A bit delayed but the answer to your question months back is yes, Savannah :)
HG love your reports thanks but any news on Dawes - how he is training, with the main group, how he seems to be fitting in and with whom does he seem to be bonding with. I have watched Matt Burgans daily reports and I cant seem to find him although it is difficult to see who is who when they are all wearing caps. I am trying to keep a lid on it but am getting very very excited about the coming season. The difference in training even from last year is huge, body shapes are significantaly different just all in all a different feel around the Club. I think we should all also collectively let the Club know how we have enjoyd the Video reports both from a coaching and player perspective. They would love to have this feedback from members.
Hi longsuffering. I only spotted Dawesy a few days ago when I was watching the Tiwi v St Mary's game, I did post on here from memory that he looked a bit stuffed due to the heat, but that's not unusual. I'm heading to training today and tomorrow so will report back to you about Dawes. Also, on behalf of everyone here and Melbourne supporters I thanked Matt Burgan for everything he's doing. I had a very long chat to him, basically he does the writing but there's 4-5 guys that do camera work for him and they're fantastic. Matt said he's employed by the club now after being seeked out by the club when he was working for the AFL. Matt was born a Demon and is a proud member also. So don't worry I've thanked him heaps on behalf of you all. He was quite appreciative of what I said.
Posted

I was thinking - why Darwin? Maybe an oblique reference to the survival of the fittest?

Posted

Sylvia is smiling. Obviously not being pushed hard enough. ^_^

916659-melbourne-army-drill.jpg

They were clearly discussing one of our heavy losses last year. Brought a smirk to his face.....

Posted

Sylvia is smiling. Obviously not being pushed hard enough. ^_^

916659-melbourne-army-drill.jpg

Reminds me of one of my favourite reaction gifs :D

That-awesome-moment_o_130361.gif

Is anyone else waiting eagerly for another HG update? Thems good readin'.

Posted

Darwin was shaken by an earthquake overnight - hopefully no sleep was lost.

"The magnitude 7.2 quake struck in the Banda Sea off Indonesia, but was felt more than 600km away in Darwin, at about 2.30am local time."