Posted

The New FD has had 12 months with Cook.

I would argue that that's not strictly true, given that he missed most of (all?) the last pre-season - which would have been his first full one - with his hip operation/recovery.

The fact that he's been moved on says more about his off-field preparation and attitudes than it does about what Misson and co. can or could do with him. In any case, it's going to be interesting seeing what happens with him in the longer term. I wouldn't write him off 5 years down the track with a bit more maturity, some meat on him, and perhaps some decent experienced players around for him to model himself on. But we obviously aren't prepared to wait and to take that chance, which is fair enough.

Posted

can someone tell me about where the Gysberts rumour started? I cant find it on the internet

You obviously didn't read or search the article in the first post of this thread, I found it in about 0.02 seconds...

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/demons-exodus-continues-with-lucas-cook/story-fnelctok-1226465138150

Posted

context is a wonderful thing Rhino

The originating comment made mention that Morton was a Bailey era pickup not Danihers This is so. Its irrelevent to this that CAC was there. The poster was differentiating between Coaches

For the sake of recruitment, Bailey had been at MFC 5 mins. CAC selected Morton then departed soon after. Context is a relevant thing.

Absolutely incorrect; he just couldn't get a game because White wanted to ruck 100% of the game and Daniher was happy to let him.

Jolly was petulant and useless at that time. White was in AA form, rucking 100% of the game and dominating. Jolly got injured in Round 3. And played poorly on his return in round 17 such that they blooded a raw Mark Jamar in the EF.

Posted

Gysberts was told by Bailey to put on weight. He was told by Neeld to loose it. This is not a rumour.

I think you are being (very liberal) with the facts. No rumour.

however Neeld at no stage requested he "lose" weight, rather, he get his core strength and muscle tone to a satisfactory level whilst increasing his endurance thus giving him the ability to run both ways.

Let's just say the word leaking from the club is that Jordan simpy doesn't want it bad enough and at his post season interview and medical examinations he was given some brutal home truths that have left him shocked and considering his tenure at the club.

That sounds plausible

Posted

sorry Rhino...which coach was it ??

Posted

That sounds plausible

Plausible? It should be norm for every bloody player. What sort of backyard operation were we running down there?

I shakes me head.

Posted

Do you want to petty point score as usual Bub?

mate..you set the bar around here for pettiness so dont go pointing the finger at me

Youd happily illuminate others were such a fact was wrong. You just dont like it when its you.

Posted

Plausible? It should be norm for every bloody player. What sort of backyard operation were we running down there?

I shakes me head.

Relative to Alan Jakovich's piece of truth.

The case for Gysberts might not be the case for other players (eg ruckman etc)

We dont know for sure what was instructed by Bailey. I dont believe he was told just to put on weight as inferred by A. Jakovich. Clearly the requirements for a midfielder have not changed in 12 months. I would like to compare the actual instructions of the two coaches. I would not be surprised if Gysberts did not have the attitude to fulfil either set of requirements

mate..you set the bar around here for pettiness so dont go pointing the finger at me

Youd happily illuminate others were such a fact was wrong. You just dont like it when its you.

Laughable Bub. You cant help yourself when it comes to this. I have disputed the relevance of the linkage of Bailey to Morton. Keep pumping your tyres and glad you fixed your keyboard

Posted

Has the club made a statement about these 2 players yet?

KB & Jon Ralph just paid out on us again.

Is it still a HUN rumour? or fact..

The club sounds like it has spoken to players and managers but is not going to provide a running media commentary.

Some player managers would be happy to get the message out there to try and get their charge a job elsewhere.

At least thats my reading. And happy with that.

Posted

Gysberts was told by Bailey to put on weight. He was told by Neeld to loose it. This is not a rumour.

I still think it is the right decision to offload him, however.

AJ what I said about Gysberts was relayed directly to me by the current list manager, so I doubt it would be true that Neeld wanted him to lose weight and is now concerned that he hasn't put it on.

Posted

Agree. We keep hearing about the outside players and we don't have any. Morton is actually one. He can run all day and rack up the receives. You need a couple of them. He is also tall so maybe in a year or so could fill in somewhere else if needed to pinch hit.

Blease is another, but without the endurance.

I always thought the problem with Morton was that he needed to fill out, not in!

Posted (edited)

i dont care who we get rid of as long as we get rid of Morton first. I dont care if he has years remaining on his contract. He is embarrassing to have on our list

Edited by Freak
Posted

Gysberts was told by Bailey to put on weight. He was told by Neeld to lose it. This is not a rumour.

??

Thats like telling Cale Morton he has to lose weight.

I need narcotics after reading that!!

What was our strategy??

What the F$&@k were they thinking?

Did Bailey want to keep his job??

Ditto

WTF were they thinking..

Dyson heppell has been outstanding for 2 years.

Posted

Can someone explain to me why anyone cares if Gysberts gets the boot. He can't crack into the 2012 model Melbourne Team.

Bad recruiting is bad recruiting. Keeping him just rubs salt into the gaping axe wound that is our list

I guess if Neeld / Missen / Craig feel that Gys can make the grade and meet their physical and commitment KPIs then they will offer him another contract: if not they will let him go. He certainly showed in his early couple of games, before he was first knocked down with injury, that he knows how to play. It would be sad if he fell by the wayside.

PS: is this a Cook thread?

Posted

I guess if Neeld / Missen / Craig feel that Gys can make the grade and meet their physical and commitment KPIs then they will offer him another contract: if not they will let him go. He certainly showed in his early couple of games, before he was first knocked down with injury, that he knows how to play. It would be sad if he fell by the wayside.

PS: is this a Cook thread?

Monoccular

Unless i am seriously mistaken he has one for 2013.

So it will be one of three things.

We want you son and you are staying

Get me out of here.

or son we thing you will be a much better chance of getting a regular game elsewhere and we are trying to arrange a deal .

Posted (edited)

Melbourne's DRAFTING is not the issue.

Its development is.

It's both. Yes we need to develop players better but on the flip side you can't polish a turd.

Posted

Here it is from the man himself..................BP interviewed after the 2010 draft..............and in his own words on Lucas Cook "he was a bit of the forgotten man in this draft".................so alarm bells didn't ring BP?????

Talks a lot about Cooks endurance, work rate, kicking, decision making..............and goes on to say "IF" he marks it inside 50, he scores most times or words to that effect.

No mention of contested marking, strong hands, crashing packs, etc normally associated with quality key forwards.

Perhaps he was still caught up in the GF replay of 2010, and the form of Riewoldt.

Can't be a complete dill though............no complaints with Howe or Tommy McDonald!

Posted

I still think it is the right decision to offload him, however.

Neeld wanted him to LOSE weight? I find that almost impossible to believe. Does he want a team of anorexics?

Posted

Damian Barrett just stated on the Footy Show Cook will complete his finals commitments with Casey, and will be looking for a new home.

Posted

Damian Barrett confirmed Lucas Cook will move on after this season, he even has an interview with Moloney,

Moloney think he can play for another 4 years and want to play finals.

So obviously he doesn't think Melbourne will play finals under Neeld.

But at the same time fans should be grateful he talk with Neeld face to face, unlike some other person inform club he is leaving after went to GWS.

Posted

Moloney think he can play for another 4 years and want to play finals.

So obviously he doesn't think Melbourne will play finals under Neeld.

So obviously he doesn't think Melbourne will play finals he'll get a game under Neeld.