Debt Demolition

Supreme_Demon

G'day fellow Demons supporters,

I'm greatly pleased that the Melbourne Football Club has FINALLY eliminated its debts.

I see that the Western Bulldogs are now even "copying" our idea by setting up a "bulldoze debt" initiative. :)

Nevertheless, I would like to know if we should consider continuing the Demons Debt Demolition under a different name? Personally I think we should! It would be a great event to have ONCE a year and all those (who have enough money to do so) can help with the long-term viability of the Melbourne Football Club.

The most important thing is to make sure the Melbourne Demons are around forever! ;)

GO DEMONS IN 2011!!!

From Supreme_Demon

I'm greatly pleased that the Melbourne Football Club has FINALLY eliminated its debts.

I see that the Western Bulldogs are now even "copying" our idea by setting up a "bulldoze debt" initiative. :)

Nevertheless, I would like to know if we should consider continuing the Demons Debt Demolition under a different name? Personally I think we should! It would be a great event to have ONCE a year and all those (who have enough money to do so) can help with the long-term viability of the Melbourne Football Club.

The most important thing is to make sure the Melbourne Demons are around forever! ;)

GO DEMONS IN 2011!!!

From Supreme_Demon

I get your point- the answer is a strong NO- for the debt demolition.It has been demolished.

However- we may start a new one say- The Development Fund.

GO DEMONS IN 2011!!!

From Supreme_Demon

There is really only so many times we can beat that drum.

You can get all our heavies together and brainstorm about investment opportunities but charity when you are no longer a charity case doen't sit well with me.

Besides, footy clubs shouldn't focus on profits.

Invest in all the areas you think is neccessary and a break even result is just fine - we aren't a corporation.

Our club must post profits as we need to keep increasing our investment dollars into not only the players physical environments, but their coaching staff, their access to the latest training techniques, adequate rehab and so on we go. We are still a minow and thus at a considerable disadvantage to the bigger clubs. 40,000 members is a must as is sustained success. We walk a fine line.

I agree with rpfc about going to the well once too often especially when we are no longer in debt. The eradication of our debt through DD was a very specific and passionate movement by many stakeholders/supporters to get the club back on its feet.

The club currently has many initiatives for increasing revenue (outside of internal investments I have nfi about). DemonHeartland, increased demand for GF guarantee, better merchandise, $200 raffles, bigger functions, more membership additions (ie $25 sms) - it all adds up. Also I believe general donations are a yearly option despite not having a profile such like DD - IIRC you can donate to specific areas such as facilities or the FD.

Not exactly sure where rpfc is coming from wrt profit though, it is still very important. The amount of profit we make in one period can majorly effect the amount of investment in the next. It isn't just investment in the club and the FD either it is our asset base. CS highlighted how MFC is down the bottom wrt our asset base and that now we don't have the debt monkey on our back we need to take the next step - our asset base (along with growing our supporter base) is crucial to our long term stability. Profit is an important part of this so I hope the club does make inroads with increasing revenue.

Whilst profit is good, profiteering is not and I think the club knows the right balance, they won't dig into the supporters purely as an open cheque (which perhaps is what rpfc was getting at when talking about profit).

We must continue to maximize our profits each year, so we can employ the best people as players and coaches (and all the other people who run our club)

Debt Demolition should be seen as a start, not a finish.

We have been behind so many clubs for too long. I am sure the club has many revenue streams set up now, but a properly run supporter fund raiser can always work-If we know where the money is going.

If a great night is planned, i do not mind opening the wallett B)

I'd be up for an annual birthday party, combining a kind of family/kids day and a 'present' for the club like a hyperbaric chamber or something, depending on what is raised.

And a big, big cake.

But let's be clear, the sums would be a whole lot less than Debt Demolition. It would be as much an echo of the spirit and a nod to the 'foundation heroes' and the 'little foundation heroes' who were able to make the difference when it mattered most.

How about "Premiership Premium" or something based around the word premiership. No debt does not mean we have Collingwoods bankroll and we still wont be able to compete with them on that level until we get richer.

We must continue to maximize our profits each year, so we can employ the best people as players and coaches (and all the other people who run our club)

Debt Demolition should be seen as a start, not a finish.

We have been behind so many clubs for too long. I am sure the club has many revenue streams set up now, but a properly run supporter fund raiser can always work-If we know where the money is going.

If a great night is planned, i do not mind opening the wallett B)

Have to agree with that, we can't just sit back and do nothing otherwise we will be in the same situation in a few years down the track. I've given to all the previous years debt demolition functions and if they had a fund raiser, hopefully not in July/August when I go on holidays; I would once again put my hand in my kick.

It doesn't have to be called Debt Demolition it could be purely a function for all the debt Demolition heroes and if $300,000 to $400,000 was raised on the night then that would be a fantastic outcome.

DD is all done.

But investing in growth/income generating assets is now important. Just like we all do for our retirement. Once we can establish a good economic base independent of membership and sponsors the better, that way the club can continue ot grow through good and bad times.

So getting people involved with the club at management level with the expertise for that is where we should be going and I'm sure CS is doing just that.

I just meant that footy clubs aim to pay for players, coaches, equipment, etc but have little need to consistently garner profits from the business.

Yes they are good but three years of breaking even is a pretty good result.

A bloody good result considering where we were.

Dont know about anyone else but my pockets arent limitless. You do what you do and can and then there comes a time that the 'who ' or 'what' youve been helping has to stand on its own two feet. From where I look they're pretty well planted on the ground now and i have every confidence ( now) that this Administration can and will survive.

Debt Demolition served its purpose. You cant keep going to the well. The club needs to ( and am sure it is) put into place strategies and systems for the continued survival of the club, by the club and for the club .

Dont know about anyone else but my pockets arent limitless. You do what you do and can and then there comes a time that the 'who ' or 'what' youve been helping has to stand on its own two feet. From where I look they're pretty well planted on the ground now and i have every confidence ( now) that this Administration can and will survive.

Debt Demolition served its purpose. You cant keep going to the well. The club needs to ( and am sure it is) put into place strategies and systems for the continued survival of the club, by the club and for the club .

Buying memberships, turning upto games, that what gets money

There will be a lot of funds going into the club in the future with pokies money however, we must continue to assist the club anyway we can otherwise, we fall into the same trap thinking that the club is now safe & financial stable & the inevitable always happens.

A simple thing like renewing your membership every year is an excellent start however, upgrade if you can otherwise, purchase add ons i.e. demon heartland, caps or just donate $20 i.e. 35,000 members x $20 = $700,000.

The club should also offer value for money functions such as a mid season dinner where members can meet players, legends & the special speakers etc. This can be something fancy like at the crown casino with auctions etc or something simple like a mid week function at the MCG. The best & fairest will still remain at end of season.

Either way, the member must feel like they are getting something for their money & the club also makes something.