View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Leaderboard

Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation on 17/08/25 in all areas

1. The top 6 for contested possessions with a round to go. Serong 299 Tom Greene 297 Gawn 284 Rowell 277 Cripps 277 Hewett 274
  2. 9 points
    Happened to be in the committee room at Caulfied yesterday when J Kanga, during a pre-lunch speech, said in the future at Caulfied, there will be the MRC, and there will also be the MFC. I nearly fell off my chair. No details were given, he was just addressing his Demons loving mate at the time who I think heads up Mornington race track. My wife had to assure me l wasn't hearing things. Unfortunately didn't speak to him in person but hey, maybe things are well progressed like a couple on here have mentioned???
  3. This is great for Gawn but it's also a colossal indictment on Viney, Petracca and Oliver. A crippled Cripps has more contested possessions than all of them. If these "bulls" are being out-contested by their ruckman, what is actually the point?
  4. I'll start by saying Max is phenomenal but it's also a major reason we're no good Our midst have been useless for a few years and one of the reasons is the Max is generating these kinds of stats. Our miss rely on Max too muchto do grunt work they should be doing And Max should be kicking less. When he gets it it should've be hand balled to a distributor that can kick like Bowey We have an unhealthy reliance on Max
  5. That looked like a team just making an appearance as an obligation for being paid.
  6. That's a phenomenal stat
  7. Dunno... we seem rather adept at selecting people who start months down the track ...
  8. We kicked 3 goals in the last 4 minutes. Take that out and your stats don't look so good.
  9. The issue I’m worried about is that our midfield’s poor fit for the modern game became clearer again yesterday, and they’re all on big, long contracts that provide us little trade value. Not a whole heap for a new coach to work with up forward too, sadly. A new coach might/should be looking at that thinking that he hasn’t got many cards to play if he is to get us back into contention immediately, which appears the expectation.
  10. For all those nursing a hangover from yesterday. Hair of the dog at Casey Fields.
  11. I was an energetics sceptic, but perhaps I'll need to revaluate.
  12. The idea that we are "so close" is either an outright lie or vibrant delusion. When challenged in any significant way, this team has lost any capacity to grit its teeth and fight back. The result was inevitable from the five-minute mark - and that's disgraceful for a group with so many proven senior footballers in it.
  13. "I'll try and stay in footy": Retiring triple premiership Hawk on coaching move - AFL News - Zero Hanger https://share.google/S6n2JN2NtzXtb2ueM A phone call to Luke breust would be in order. Specialist forward craft coach. Probably THE guy with the goal kicking knack and forward craft - if he can teach it he is probably the difference for our forwards half craft
  14. From afar i.e. TV It appeared that Melbourne bomb the ball to the tallest target and get over run in return. Whenever Hawthorn got the ball via mark /free kick there were 2 players running past BEFORE everyone settled down. The result was Melbourne were not in a position to defend. We rely too much on Max being able to mark. I see the previous poster has hit the nail on the head insofar as leading etc
  15. My hope is May elbows Maynard into next week and we win by a point after the siren to ensure the filth don’t make the top 4. That won’t happen of course. Only a sadist would go to this game so full respect to any of you who attend next week. I might live 3000km or so from Melbourne but even if I lived on Punt Road I’d find something else to do….
  16. What amazing effort well done Max, he’s legend status for both the MFC & AFL … considering he missed a lot of footy initially if he wins an 8 x AA it’s truly amazing
  17. I left just before halftime. Did I miss anything? 😅 Thank goodness for our W team. So proud of them and it was awesome to sing the song, we’d almost forgotten the lyrics.
  18. Well kind of. Modern game relies elite kicking and the odd turnover. With the amount of turnovers we give teams our defense has absolutely no chance. the game last against the Doggies was a bit of furphy - they are bog ordinary behind the ball. I’m 100% convinced there are fractures in the group. The lack of team effort is worrying. Whoever is not head first into a rebound next year and extra training and preseason sessions ,F them all off over trade week. I’m sick of the pea hearted tackles week after week. You don’t need skill to apply an effective tackle , it’s all determination.
  19. I agree Max should be handballing off at every opportunity but the problem is who too? Because my other instruction, if I were coach, is that Oliver and Viney should only ever kick the ball in an emergency and I would be considering the same instructions to Petracca and Langdon! That’s the entire original V8 engine room, now operating as a 2 stroke! I am really confused at Oliver and Tracc’s lack of composure in traffic, just grabbing the ball and throwing it on the boot immediately. These guys should be playing their best footy at their ages and experience.
  20. I reckon that's simple not the case, and its a falsity that drives myth that replacing the coach will address sustained poor performance. I mean there is so little evidence changing coaches results in sustained success that its bizarre the myth, not to mention practice (though AFL clubs are not changing coaches as often now) continues. Just look at the blues and roos for recent examples. How many coaches did both clubs cycle thru in the 5 years before landing on their current saviours Voss and Clarkson, neither of whom have been able to achieve anything remotely resembling sustained success. I wold argue the number one factor in not achieving sustained success is a poorly performing executive. Number two is players. Number three is the high performance team and culture (the latter being influenced by the coach). Number four is the coach. If they don't sort the governance of the club the next coach could be a combination of Norm Smith, Clarkson, Hardwick, Phil Jackson and Sir Alex Ferguson and we'd still have sustained lack of success. Which is this quote from the Caro article posted above is spot on: Whether or not you agree with the decision to sack Simon Goodwin, it cannot be disputed that he coached in often challenging and occasionally untenable conditions. Board discord has punctuated the past six seasons, including 2021 when Goodwin coached the club to its first flag in almost six decades. Surely the next coach will be spared that distraction.
  21. ‘Selected before the Grand final’. Start date in April ‘26.
  22. The final score in Saturday's game against Hawthorn was almost identical to that from their last contest three months ago. Melbourne suffered comprehensive defeats in both games, but the similarities ended there. When they met in Round 9, the Demons were resurgent, seeking to redeem themselves after a lacklustre start to the season. They approached the game with vigour and dynamism, and were highly competitive for the first three quarters, during which they were at least on par with the Hawks. In the final term, they lapsed into error and were ultimately overrun, but the final result did not accurately reflect their effort and commitment throughout the match. SCOREBOARD May 10 2025 They were on the comeback trail and it was a precursor to their best performances of the season. In the weeks to come they prevailed over both of last year’s grand finalists and not long after, came ever so close to besting the league leaders Collingwood on the big stage at the MCG on Kings Birthday. Yesterday, they went into the game after a reasonable run of form in close contests on what has been a disappointing and bumpy road to season's end that saw the dethroning of their premiership coach. The players, young and old, should have been keen to impress the potential contenders (if indeed, there is more than one) for the coaching vacancy, and, absent that, to avenge the earlier defeat or at least play for the pride of the jumper. They failed on all scores, were sad and lacklustre from the opening bounce, were smashed at the stoppages and played without any urgency or energy until the very end of the game, when the Hawks had already packed up their tent with their thoughts on things to come. The result flattered the Demons. SCOREBOARD August 16 2025 The game opened badly for the Demons, who once again fell victim to AFL score review after only 45 seconds when Dylan Moore’s snap over his shoulder was paid a goal. The replay appeared to show that Trent Rivers’ finger was bent back in touching the ball, and Moore even signalled to teammates to set up for a kick-in. The verdict went against Melbourne again, and things only went from bad to worse after that. We anticipate another apology from the AFL early next week. The game marked a reversion to Melbourne's established habits and issues with forward connection, with only eight goals from 56 entries inside-50, in contrast to Hawthorn's 13 goals from 49 at nearly double the conversion rate. Over the weeks since the midseason bye, the club had averaged 92 points per game. That figure crashed to 56 and remember, the Demons' tally was boosted by three straight junk-time goals in the final three or four minutes of play. Hawk veteran Jack Gunston toyed with their veteran 250-game player Steven May before Blake Howes was put on him with barely any effect. The usual Kudos must again go to skipper Max Gawn for valiantly holding things together. His more experienced lieutenants, namely Clayton Oliver, Christian Petracca, Christian Salem and Jack Viney stood up well but they were some way from their very best and that is where the alarm bells should start ringing. I mentioned earlier that the team was monstered at the stoppages, yet the inclusion of those names in the best players sends a clear message to the incoming coach. It’s understandable that younger players tend to lose focus and energy towards the end of a long campaign but when your more experienced players are among your best and yet are struggling in their areas of expertise, then significant changes should be expected at this level when the team comes under new management. There are no comebacks from this. MELBOURNE 1.0.6 2.3.15 4.3.27 8.8.56 HAWTHORN 5.3.33 7.7.49 10.10.70 13.14.92 GOALS MELBOURNE Petty van Rooyen 2 Chandler Langford Oliver Pickett HAWTHORN Gunston 7 Moore 2 Breust Dear Macdonald Watson BEST MELBOURNE Gawn Oliver Petracca Viney Salem Petty HAWTHORN Gunston Moore Macdonald Impey Newcombe Amon Sicily INJURIES MELBOURNE Nil HAWTHORN Nil REPORTS MELBOURNE Nil HAWTHORN Nil SUBSTITUTIONS MELBOURNE Jake Melksham (replaced Tom McDonald at half-time) HAWTHORN Luke Breust (replaced Nick Watson in the third quarter) UMPIRES Nathan Toner Brent Wallace Martin Rodger Nicholas McGinness CROWD 53,871 at The MCG
  23. In response to this post from @Little Goffy on the gameday thread: Here is Max Gawn's quarter-by-quarter breakdown for a few key stats this season: Metric Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Total Time On Ground 85.5 84.1 87.4 85.0 85.6 Rating Points 3.7 3.8 4.6 3.2 15.3 Disposals 4.7 5.1 5.8 5.0 20.6 Contested Possessions 3.1 3.1 3.5 3.8 13.5 Marks 1.2 1.2 1.5 1.7 5.6 Intercept Marks 0.6 0.6 0.4 1.1 2.7 Hitouts 9.5 9.4 8.5 9.0 36.4 Hitouts To Advantage 2.6 2.6 2.5 2.3 10.0 His hitouts only drop off marginally but his intercept marks are clearly highest in the fourth quarter and his contested possessions are higher in the second half. In terms of comparing "hitout-mode" to "around-the-ground" mode, I have looked at his disposal and hitout numbers in each quarter of games this season. From this rudimentary analysis, his best quarters are when he wins a lot of the ball. Disposals Hitouts Quarters Rating 1-4 1-8 28 2.04 1-4 9+ 14 3.21 5+ 1-8 15 4.71 5+ 9+ 31 5.27
  24. Spot on. Gunston's lead towards open space 30-40 metres out as the ball carrier heads towards goal, then with a shift in direction towards the corridor for two steps caused Turner to change stride, then to resume his original course towards that open space gifted him an uncontested mark. No fault of Turner's who was on the job but just one play in a master class. The second point is equally right. Gunston took several marks in the 15-40 metre space that was wide open. Hawks delivered it there and he knew to run into it. We tried it as well with a number of spearing passes into the hot spot at the PUNT ROAD end but no forward of ours knew to run to the spot and interceptions resulted. We seem not to know how to create space or how to use it, hence we won the inside 50s but never looked like winning the game.
  25. MARVIN GAYE! "Sexual healing" was his signature song! VOTE 1 MARVIN GAYE... new Melbourne Coach!
  26. Just the juicy bit: Green and fellow director Angela Williams remained in the Goodwin kitchen for only a matter of minutes before being asked to leave by the sacked coach, who had sent his children to their bedrooms to avoid any awkward scenes. Football director Alan Richardson and acting chief executive David Chippindall stayed around a little longer before Goodwin asked to be left alone with his family. And ... Whether or not you agree with the decision to sack Simon Goodwin, it cannot be disputed that he coached in often challenging and occasionally untenable conditions. Board discord has punctuated the past six seasons, including 2021 when Goodwin coached the club to its first flag in almost six decades. Surely the next coach will be spared that distraction.
  27. Fantastic game..have watched this team & been a member since inception. The growth is amazing & exciting. Should have opened the season with the Dees..they showcase the improvement of women’s football. It isn’t the men’s game ..it’s a different game but so exciting because we are now seeing the girls who have played since they’re 6 yrs old transitioning into experienced players. Shocking the timing of our game ..just impossible for me to go to MCG & then out to Mission Oval but the AFL is useless on most things unless you’re the big 4 in Victoria..but get behind our girls..you’re in for a great ride
  28. We're not about to pick Laurie, Woewodin, Brown or Billings after ignoring them all year. What would we gain by giving them this one game anyway?
  29. Soooo good to sing our song! Super proud of our team, they did us proud. The atmosphere was crazy good, and as cold as it is we didn’t feel it… too much to be excited about! PS fourth Red Bull wearing off… about to hit the wall… hard. 😅
  30. Didn’t expect a win but was looking for effort, some sign of systemic improvement and maybe some enthusiasm. But we got nothing.
  31. Woefully inept performance for all but the last 5 minutes when Hawthorn had moved on to next week. There are comfortably 10 players from today who I'd be happy to never see play for the club again. If we go into next year with Sparrow, Langdon, Chandler and Salem as walk up selections, we're certain that to be bottom 6 again. Select them when there is a defined role and they are in form, but they play VFL otherwise. May is done and should retire. We need to start from scratch in defence, probably building around Petty. And Sharp, as expected, was completely useless. He offers less than nothing.
  32. We won the I50’s, the hit outs, the clearances and contested ball count! All were Goody’s non negotiable KPIs. They once meant something, but in the modern game they mean very little on their own.
  33. Been a while since he’s been suspended. Should go out with a bang and take Maynard out.
  34. Stop bringing Sharp back please.
  35. Appreciate the detailed response, I’m old fashioned but simply the theme of selfless in 21 & moving on from mistakes and player body language has vanished, what concerns me is the leaders are not living this and have become selfish, my point is just that if any players are not happy and if it’s the same ones on large contracts then they should request a trade and if need be take a pay cut to facilitate this!
  36. I don't know why Sparrow gets a game? Been poor for 2 years now and only been dropped once. Why Turner didn't get Gunstan straight away is baffling. Howes refused to put body on Gunstan. van Rooyen doesn't lead enough. Until we can find a key forward that can kick goals and our midfield hackers can be replaced by players that can kick I'm talking about Petracca, Oliver and Viney we will go nowhere once again.
  37. You don’t think either will go around next year? I think melksham has been our best forward and one of only a few that can kick. Plugga has been decent too
  38. If this team wants to win back it’s supporter base. It has one option and one option only. Come out next week and get F’ing physical, they can’t afford to get suspended. Get in their face and make them bleeed!!!!!!
  39. This should be on the main board. What a team this has been to watch. So hard at it for so long. Purcell is a machine and she in unfairly compared to Tyla who is a cleaner, more efficient machine… Love Heath and McNamara for their dare and run. Ebert looked good I thought down back with Lampard and Chaplin. And hope Tayla is ok - I have a soft spot for selfless CHF who demand the ball in the right spots and put a knee through that spot. Just love having her there. You’d walk taller with her there.
  40. so still reckon liv purcell isn't in the top 50 in the competition?
  41. Yes, it seems hard to believe we won so much of the footy; however, consider this. Chaplin said that not much will change except for a few minor tweaks that have all been mentioned. We are still essentially playing to Goody's game plan. Just look at the number of times we kicked long to the left pocket. May still kicks out long to the same side where Max is (with 3 hanging off him), and when he does try to pass it short, he turns it over. Unlike last week, we rarely ran and played on preferring to revert to the safe mark, ponder, short kick, then turn it over. I lost count of the number of times a player led and was ignored. The teams that have caused us the most heartache are the ones that always have someone running past. Kick the ball to position and rarely turn it over. Some of the vision and bullet-like passes inside 50 show just how much we need to improve and change our style. Some Wag said Well, Goodwin is gone, we cannot blame him now, well, he lives on with the type of game we play, which is obsolete . THis is why the board is correct in that we need a new voice and a radical change of game style and assistant coaches.
  42. Since the entire effort was cooked I’ll call out three of the small things about today’s performance that drove me (further) insane How is Bowza, the smallest bloke on the field, one of the few who sticks his tackles? Players such as Chandler going for the Hollywood 1% play instead of executing the simple. We play like we’re millionaires when we ain’t THE FUMBLING IS INCESSANT. We are never clean
  43. They didn't even stop to do a proper review. What a shambles of a competition.
  44. That's the way the modern game is played. Suck the other team into their 40 metre zone and then rebound through the corridor to an open forward line. We have been predictable for so long and Goodwin's failure to change has resulted in an ageing team incapable of change
  45. I’m a huge fan of Max, and especially today he was a class above everybody else. The only problem is that I don’t think he should be getting 17 kicks and 10 handballs. Probably should be the other way around if the running players are awake and have a plan to run past for the handball.
  46. Harry sharp is a reincarnation of Tom Gillies who imo is probably one of the worst footballers ive ever seen play for the red and blue. Somes this team when we have gifted him close to 16 games this year whilst guys like Laurie and Billings work their [censored] off each and every week at Casey. Nuke the joint and start all over again.
  47. Which ex player is more credentialed? Watson is not the sole decision maker here, he’s part of a large panel of both external and internal stakeholders. The carry on about him being involved is ridiculous. You’d think we got some VFL player on the panel, and not a club captain, Brownlow medallist and someone with a long family history of being involved in the game
This leaderboard is set to Melbourne/GMT+10:00

Configure browser push notifications

Chrome (Android)
  1. Tap the lock icon next to the address bar.
  2. Tap Permissions → Notifications.
  3. Adjust your preference.
Chrome (Desktop)
  1. Click the padlock icon in the address bar.
  2. Select Site settings.
  3. Find Notifications and adjust your preference.